We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Excellent Service”
Review of Catalonia Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Square
Ranked #14 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent Service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is very smart & well located to use as a base in the city. We opted for a terrace room but shouldn't have (thinking we would get a good view). Would definitely stay at the hotel again, but will chose a standard room as opposed to upgrading. We also opted for the breakfast, the.choice was selective but the quality was second to none.

Another plus point was that after several hours of walking around the city, you could get back to the hotel & enjoy complimentary soft drinks or nespresso coffee & snacks at no additional charge.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony look as though they face out onto the street, we're our terrace room did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_Barry_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    169
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
171
479
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wenham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a fantastic little hotel. We have stayed in Barcelona several times before and this choice was a good one! We pulled up to the front entrance, and the doorman, who was a very friendly young man, pointed us to the entrance to their private garage and escorted us, with our car into the interior automobile elevator and put the car away for the night. He then took the bags and us to the front reception desk while pointing out a few of the lovely amenities along the way.....a bright breakfast restaurant, a cozy bar area and 24 hour a day complimentary snack buffet! Also, there is a small pool and exercise room. The decor is extremely clean and modern. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable king sized bed, desk and chair, easy chair, plenty of lighting, mini bar, closet with safe and a very clean lined and modern bathroom with the usual soap, shampoo, and vanity kit amenities. There was a large flat screened tv and fast WIFI, which to us is key. This hotel is very convenient to the happening area of town, so one literally walks out the front door and finds oneself in the heart of Barcelona. There are many great restaurants nearby as well fountains, historic lanes and sites of the city, all right there. The staff at this property spoke terrific English and were all extremely nice and helpful. The bartender was great too! I would recommend this hotel highly and am so happy to have chosen it for my short stay this time around. Don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently visited Barcelona for a few days. While we were booked into another hotel, something happened with the plumbing and they moved us to this lovely hotel. We were extremely pleased. There are probably 30 rooms in this quaint little place.

The location is excellent, right off the Plaza Catalunya which is extremely convenient for site seeing. You can easily walk to the historic section and the beaches. Two blocks to the Ramblas.

The room was clean modern and very nice with a wonderful bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well with no external noise apparent.

The common places are wonderful. There is a nice deck with a pool, an outside deck tfor breakfast and a very nice inside breakfast area. They offer a wide selection of free food during the day including sandwiches. The breakfast itself is very nice with a wide selection of items. They make it hard to get out to see that wonderful Barcelona architecture and amazing history.

They people were wonderful. While the hotel is new and they were working out some issues with the systems, the people could not have been nicer and almost everyone was conversant in English. The late afternoon bartender is a particular treasure. Lots of good reccomendations for adventures in the city.

I would highly recommend this place for a comfortable, convenient and pleasant stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Higher the better - elevators are good and the upper rooms have small decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank th001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is new and the friendly and professional team are working hard to maintain a high standard of service. The location of the hotel is fantastic, being a stones throw from Plaza Catalunya with easy walking access to Los Ramblos, the Gothic Quarter, and the high end shopping area.
The reception team were friendly, helpful and accommodating allowing us early access to our room at 11 am on the day of check in, and despite being fully booked on the day of check out, offered to allow us access to the room until 1pm.
The small pool and outdoor lounge area were clean, comfortable and very welcome in the warm sunshine. The staff provided pool towels on request. There is small, clean cardio gym.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped with a special mention for the shower which was fantastic.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful with many different options and the hotel lay on a lunchtime buffet for all guests as part of their stay which was unexpected and very welcome. We were given a bottle of cava to enjoy as a gift, and the rooms were immaculate, with the hard working cleaning staff tidying the rooms at least twice a day.
We enjoyed good weather for the 3 days we stayed, and preferred to walk down to Port Vell and the beach and from Parc Guell (via the Sagrada Familia) back to the hotel than use the tourist bus or Metro (although we did use the Metro to Vallcarca to get up the hill to Parc Guell from Plaza Catalunya approx a 10 minute journey).
Overall, it was a wonderful stay and the hotel was fantastic. We were not disappointed with the hotel and were glad we chose it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies and views to Plaza Catalunya. Pick a room at level 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fascinating F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

this is my second time in barcelona so i knew pretty much the area i wanted to stay. i found this great new hotel and booked it and im so happy i did.. this is one the best hotels ive ever stayed in - in europe. they upgraded me to junior suite and sent us a bottle of prosecco on check in.
The location cannot be beat.. its in between PDG and La ramblas.. so you have the best of both worlds in central barcelona. also the tourist bus stops 50 meters from the hotel.
the staff were extremely curteous and very welcoming. the rooms were huge. the bathroom excellent.. one of the best showers ever. you will not regret staying here.
if i were to return to barcelona i wouldnt even check another hotel..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My review in this hotel is very excellent, nice location, clean and has spacious room. The staff is professional, helpful. friendly and good service. I will highly recommended this to my friends and family!.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,079 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,180 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Square

Property: Catalonia Square
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 9, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2014, the hotel is at the heart of the city, right in the middle of Barcelona's historical and commercial district just next to Plaza Catalunya and Paseo de Gracia. Its privileged location enables guests to go sightseeing to the city's major attractions and to go shopping to both popular stores and luxury outlets on Paseo de Gracia. The Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are all just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Square Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing