We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Barcelona”
Review of Catalonia Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Catalonia Square
Ranked #13 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel gave us pleasant surprises around every corner. At check-in, Kenia was so helpful. We were a little disappointed to not be able to get an early check-in, however we waited in the lounge with access to free snacks and Nespresso.

After check-in, we were given the keys to our room which was clean, modern, and just the right size. The design of the room was wonderful. The staff was always available and there if we needed anything.

We did not eat the breakfast here, because we are not "large" breakfast people but there are plenty of cafes around the corner where one can get a coffee and a quick breakfast. However, I cannot say enough how much we appreciated the complimentary snacks from 13:00 until midnight every day.

Lastly, the location of this hotel is perfect. It is literally a 45 second walk to Catalonia Square and then across the park to Las Ramblas.

I would recommend it highly. We are a young couple from Los Angeles, and it was perfect for us.

Unrelated to the hotel, we did a bicycle tour of BCN that left from Catalonia Square which was a great way to see the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mt1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very comfortable new hotel within less than 100 metres of Plaza de Catalunya. It is, therefore, close to Las Ramblas, to the Metro and to bus routes to and from the airport and around the city. We had a large superior room with very modern decor and a balcony from which we could see the Plaza. The breakfast buffet was extensive and excellent and the availability of a wide range of snacks offered free-of-charge in the restaurant from 1pm to late was a very convenient bonus. Service throughout our 3 day stay was outstanding

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LedburyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked this hotel for 2 nights before a Cruise so wanted to do as much as possible and to be central location
This turned out to be exactly the right choice it was a 10.00 pm arrival and we got the airbus from the airport and I think it was three stops the bus stopped just across in the square so it was literally a 1 min walk
The reception area was lovely and they were helpful and also a porter who took luggage to the room for us
When we got to our room he explained every little detail from air-con to the Nespresso machine ( nice surprise) how the shower worked also turned on TV and shown all the channels etc
The room was lovely and modern and had everything we wanted and a free big bottle of water
We also had free toiletries and it contained lots of little extras
Didn't get breakfast but after 1 there were free little snacks /pastries around the bar area and coffee so could grab a snack if needed I when going back for a quick change
The pool area was lovely and modern too and our room had a pool view
The reception were great and were on hand for maps and to book excursions etc
Would recommend this hotel for sure if you want a good location too

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband, 12 year old daughter, and I just returned from a four night stay in this lovely hotel. When I was selecting a hotel, I was looking for a hotel that had good reviews, a convenient location, good value, and a pool. We hit the jackpot with this little gem!

Upon check in, the room we reserved wasn't available so we had to settle for a smaller room (room 400) for the first night. Kenia, who was wonderful, then upgraded us to a junior suite (room 406) for the remaining three nights, which was roomy and had many nice amenities, such as a Nepresso machine, grooming kits, a second TV, and a sitting area. It slept three comfortably. Both rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The rooms were attractive and well furbished with a modern European style. The beds were cozy and the room was quiet except for an occasional rumble from the metro. Loved the shower! There was an amazing rain shower and also a hand-held shower. One detail worth noting for those who may be traveling with in-laws or the bashful is that there is no complete privacy offered in the rooms. The toilette and shower areas are not separate from the room. They have frosted glass doors that do allow for one to see the complete silhouette of the person using the toilette or shower.

We were not greeted with a welcome drink as stated on the website but our room did come with a complementary bottle of water and chocolates. Turndown services was offered nightly with chocolates as well. Also, those at the front desk were very helpful and took good care of us.

The wifi was reliable and fast. The hotel offered free "snacks" between 1PM and midnight that came complete with strawberry and chocolate shakes (that my daughter loved) sandwiches, fresh fruit, salads, chips, espresso, soda, and bottles of water. We really loved this little extra!

The pool was great. My daughter loved it and we had fun cooling down and laying poolside in the comfy loungers available. The area was clean and comfortable.

The location was amazing! A short walk to all the major sights, the metro, and the aerobus stop! Tip: Don't pay 35 EU for a taxi to the airport. Take the Aerobus, located block away, for 5.90 EU per person. It was reliable, fast, and clean. Also, there are bakeries everywhere and a Starbucks on the corner. We also dined in the restaurant a few doors down for dinner one night and loved the paella there!

In all, we loved our stay at the Catalonia Square and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank you to Kenia and the rest of the staff for their exceptional service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlueEyedTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
We are very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and we hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just back from our stay here for our honeymoon, and not surprised to see it rated as the best hotel in Barcelona on Trip Advisor.
We were greeted by Raul at reception and despite it being early in the day, our room was ready for us, with complimentary Cava and Strawberries. Raul was clearly passionate about the city and spent time with us detailing his favorite places on a map, as well as general information about the hotel. Our bags were taken to our room by Javier via a brief tour of the bar / restaurant / gym / pool areas.
We stayed in a junior suite which came complete with an in room Nesspresso machine, his and hers TVs, and a very comfy King Size bed, as well as a small seated area. The shower with a normal tap as well as a rainfall shower head was definitely a highlight! Our room was at the back of the hotel, and very quiet.
Breakfast is 19 euro per person, but there is an excellent selection of hot and cold food, as well as pastries, churros and fruit, plus everything you need to make your own Bloody Mary!!
During the day (1pm til midnight) there are free snacks, salads, sandwiches, fruit, hot and cold drinks. All the staff we encountered were fantastic, but a special mention to Fabrizio who made sure we had Nespresso pods for the next morning when we came in at 2am.
Location is great, near the Metro and Airport Bus Stop, a comfortable distance from the Gothic Quarter and Las Ramblas.
I cannot fault this hotel, it is most certainly one of the best I have stayed in, and will definitely be back. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and an early check-in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Helen,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for several nights with another couple. Well designed rooms but beware we booked a double and were given two singles. Also slight rumble of the metro. Excellent breakfast except for the eggs, but that seems to be a Barcelona issue. Free afternoon bar buffet u til midnight which provides welcomd refreshment. Very friendly staff. Eady access to old town and Leixample.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank touringuy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is very smart & well located to use as a base in the city. We opted for a terrace room but shouldn't have (thinking we would get a good view). Would definitely stay at the hotel again, but will chose a standard room as opposed to upgrading. We also opted for the breakfast, the.choice was selective but the quality was second to none.

Another plus point was that after several hours of walking around the city, you could get back to the hotel & enjoy complimentary soft drinks or nespresso coffee & snacks at no additional charge.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony look as though they face out onto the street, we're our terrace room did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda_Barry_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
4,595 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#29 of 515 in Barcelona
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Square

Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 9, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £126 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2014, the hotel is at the heart of the city, right in the middle of Barcelona's historical and commercial district just next to Plaza Catalunya and Paseo de Gracia. Its privileged location enables guests to go sightseeing to the city's major attractions and to go shopping to both popular stores and luxury outlets on Paseo de Gracia. The Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are all just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Square Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing