We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Barcelona Introduction”
Review of Catalonia Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Catalonia Square
Ranked #12 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Barcelona Introduction”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had been to Barcelona before, and, on previous trips had done the "big program" Hotel de Arts etc., This trip involved a whirlwind vacation to Monaco, Italy, France and Spain and I was taking my girlfriend who had never been to Spain before. As an unbelievable oversight, we did not have a room booked prior to arriving in Barcelona and I had to scramble and saw the reviews for this hotel on my smartphone and decided to go for it. I was torn about where to stay relative to location because the marina area is the trendy spot now for nightclubbing and things of that ilk. However, to get that classic, unique Barcelona experience like hanging on La Rambla and the Gothic section and checking out the big deal museums, you really want to stay exactly where this hotel is located. It is right at the "Square" and walking distance to at least 5 of the 10 "must see" spots in Barcelona. We were able to enjoy everything we had wanted to experience in a short three days.
Relative to the hotel itself, it is new, very clean and beautifully appointed. The room we had, which was a suite, was large (by American standards) and had a splash pool on the deck. The staff was beyond wonderful and incredibly accommodating. The man at the center of the operations throughout most of our stay was named Guillermo and was on top of everything. He recommended excellent local restaurants and always had a gameplan to accomplish our somewhat unreal expectations.

Room Tip: Obviously, I would recommend our suite with the splash pool-it was crazy fun after a long day of tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LosAngelesMattG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    162
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
166
462
45
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this based on it's high rating on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Easy transportation via blue Aero bus from the airport for $5.60e. Buy your ticket on the bus. It's the last stop, and drops you just around the corner from the hotel, a very convenient location. We were able to walk to most places we wanted to go and hop on/off bus was at the square too. Hotel was nice, modern and clean. Room was narrow, but very ample. TV had a feature that allowed you to set most programming in English! Great bathroom with European shower, but also had a rain shower and heated towel rod. Hotel had a 24 hr bar and nice snacks from 1-midnight. Snacks included fruit, salad, salmon, yogurt, sweets etc. The hotel had a small pool. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onthegotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Hotel.
Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a girls weekend away. The hotel was great and location fantastic. Couple of things which could be improved. Dirty glasses were not cleared from the room, we didn't have turndown service one night, we didn't have cold water in the sink and we had to chase for it to be fixed. That said, I would absolutely stay there again. Staff were very helpful and polite too.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sako71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really enjoyed our 4 days there. The free snacks served from 1pm and soft drinks were a real bonus. We stayed in junior suite which was great room but don't know why we needed 2 giant TV screens which were next to each other -1 from the bed and 1 from the seated area. The room was quite narrow but shower * 2 was amazing! Reception staff were great at recommending restaurants which were local and excellent - try ciudad comdal and merindero del mar. Both grat recommendations. Really handy for getting the aerobics from plaza Catalonia - literally 5 min walk! Would def rely stay again should we visit barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patts6164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Hotel.
Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. New and clean throughout. Rooms at the back are likely best to be away from noise (hmmm, except for the couple above or below us who were doing their best to replicate the soundtrack of a "blue" movie but fortunately that was brief!). Generous breakfast and free afternoon snacks which we very much appreciated. Easy access from the airport... 2 minute walk to the airport bus stop.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Funfetoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved Barcelona and this hotel was in such a perfect location - close to Placa Catalunya but even though our 5th floor room faced the road, we had not problems sleeping! Loved the substantial free snacks during the day - great for an afternoon snack before a siesta. The staff was also very helpful. The Internet connection was a little iffy at times and this seems like a really minor thing but wish there were hooks to hang up towels/clothes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LMG_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and although I agree with most of the other reviews written here ie lovely hotel in an excellent position with very nice staff there were a few things I was not too pleased about. One thing was the tea coffee milk etc was not replenished each day so we ran out of milk and coffee, but my main complaint was yesterday evening we had a power cut causing my husband to have to climb 8 flight of stairs the power soon came back on only for it to go off again and stay off for over one hour. As yesterday was my husbands 60th birthday we had plans made but as there was no power we could not get showered or even flush the toilet. The staff were very apologetic but as we paid 200 euros a night I still feel disappointed at the inconvenience this situation caused.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydockm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you with this matter.
Let me explain to you that the power shutdown was caused by an overload in the systems of the power company and unfortunately it was out of our control, so we were focused to minimize the impact of this situation on our costumers.

I feel sorry if we were unable to avoid this incoveniences to you, be sure that we will improve our responsiveness to this situations, as we always do.


Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,055 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Square

Property: Catalonia Square
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 9, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2014, the hotel is at the heart of the city, right in the middle of Barcelona's historical and commercial district just next to Plaza Catalunya and Paseo de Gracia. Its privileged location enables guests to go sightseeing to the city's major attractions and to go shopping to both popular stores and luxury outlets on Paseo de Gracia. The Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are all just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Square Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing