We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Catalonia Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Catalonia Square
Ranked #14 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a good start to an introduction to Spain! The hotel is located in an excellent location away from the crowd of Rambla yet close enough to walk to join the action. Attentive and knowledgable staff, snacks during the day for guests and a good rooftop pool for those who wants a dip to cool down. Our room is comfortable and relatively generous in size, room service menu is diverse. It's so good we had cancelled our reservation with another hotel in Rambla to stay with them on our return trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 4 months old so all the rooms are in good condition
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Hotel Catalonia Square on a combined business and pleasure trip recently. This is a longer stay than we usually have, and it allowed us to evaluate the hotel in a variety of situations.

Overall, the hotel was comfortable and convenient. There is no question that this hotel has an ideal location, mere steps from the Metro and the Aerobus, in the heart of the shopping district, and an easy walk to the old city. Barcelona is wonderful to explore on foot and by public transit, and the Catalonia Square provides a great home base for doing just that.

This boutique hotel hit most of its marks perfectly: The staff are friendly and speak several languages. Our standard room was clean, quiet, reasonably spacious for Europe, and well-appointed, with a spacious and comfortable bed, awesome shower, and excellent climate control. Internet service was speedy and easy on our Apple and Android devices. The tiny pool was refreshing after a hot day at the Parc Guell. And perhaps most appreciated on days when we could not face another meal out were the free "snacks" provided daily from mid-afternoon until midnight. These included drinks, yogurt, smoked salmon, sandwiches, fruit, brownies, nuts, and chips. The menu did not change during our stay, but there was a reasonable variety to choose from.

Why four stars? A couple of small reasons that add up at this price point. First, we were in the room for turn-down service one night, so we got to observe the attendant clean the toilet, wipe the bathroom, and then hand us chocolates - all without a hand cleaning. Eew! Second, a toiletry upgrade - to include separate shampoo and body wash, as well as a box of tissues - would be nice. Finally, while the staff were very friendly, they did not always follow up on issues.

My final comment concerns breakfast. The hotel offers a breakfast for 19 euros, which is quite pricey for very basic offerings. However, there are many lovely bakeries and cafes nearby, so finding a great breakfast is not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptainH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Many travelers pointed out to the great location of this hotel. No argument, the location is very convenient, within walking distance to all attractions. Hotel is definitely new, so it looks clean and the staff was very nice. However, here are a few points that could be improved:

1. Internet. What a mess! At our arrival we couldn't connect at all. They had some issues with router/provider, so they told us that our Apple devices will not work. It was such a shock, and considering that we had to work during out trip, we started looking at other hotels around. After several hours, they managed to fix the issue and we were able to connect. However, the connection was not stable, it was disconnecting after just a few minutes of inactivity, which was very annoying and made working almost impossible.

2. Toiletries. It was a very unpleasant surprise that in such a nice hotel they didn't have the basic toiletries. Shampoo and tiny soap were horrible, no conditioner at all. On our first day we had to go to the grocery store (few doors down) and buy everything we needed for the bathroom. Should be an easy fix for the management.

In summary, if you need a place to stay in Barcelona, go there while it is still new. Not sure what would happen to this hotel in about a year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, as you will hear the rumbling from the metro underground.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great modern boutique hotel right in the heart of Barcelona. Close to Las Ramblas, shopping and entertainment. My sister and I stayed the night here at the end of our Mediterrean cruise to France and Italy.

Service was great, rooms were extremely modern and clean. There was a complimentary buffet with small snacks and drinks for guests.
Customer service and security guards were very polite and personable.
When we went to check in , my reservation had been cancelled by the hotel the previous week due to an error with my credit card but when we arrived, we were given a room and charged the same rate.
I definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jowharah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Central location for a city break to Barcelona. The hotel is modern and very clean. Our hotel suite gave us a stunning view across the rooftops of Barcelona and Catalunya Square. The addition of a guest toilet and shower made the room ideal for families. The plunge pool on the balcony was a lovely addition. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shan012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We loved this modern boutique hotel. The staff are very friendly and when we called from the airport, explained the best way to get there on the aeroport bus, it was late at night and we were hungry so also gave excellent recommendations for places to eat.

We loved the location - walked everywhere except to Park Guell.I am coeliac and at breakfast they gave me the best gluten free baguette I have ever tasted and a gluten free muffin. There was lots of choice to go in baguette and fruit/ salad etc. The nespresso machine made nice coffee and the snacks ( even though I couldn't have most of them) are excellent touches.

There are a couple of things which could be improved easily - when we got out of huge shower ( direct into room) there was no mat, so floor got wet and also some hair conditioner would be of benefit. Loved having a cool down in the pool after sightseeing and bed was very comfy and seating area good. Plug point for charging iPads etc in the safe brilliant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in 3 hotels during our trip to Barcelona in July (this was our first hotel). Catalonia Square is in an ideal location to take the shuttle bus from the airport, catch the subway, as well as within walking distance to many tourist attractions. This is what makes it a great place to stay. It is located near Placa de Catalunya, Las Ramblas, and several of Gaudi's buildings. There is also plenty of shopping near by. We found the concierge to be very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean with a nice shower, and the complimentary snacks were very nice when coming and going from the hotel. There were a few small negatives such as a minor rumbling of the subway (this did not prevent us from sleeping though), the beds were a bit hard, and the hallways were noisy when other guests were conversing, but we were lucky that this only occurred at the end of our visit. Our only suggestion is to put kleenex, hair conditioner, and face cloths in the rooms. They did charge us for room service which we did not use, but this was corrected upon our return home. Catalonia Square is good value for what you receive, and as mentioned the location is ideal. We would book again if travelling with our family. Our second hotel stay was the perfect compliment to our stay at Catalonia Square due to its location in the Gothic quarter and a more indulgent/romantic atmosphere (albeit more expensive). Our third hotel was an overnighter before departing Barcelona. Note to travellers: at 2 restaurants, we were charged for things we did not order. Not knowing spanish, it was sometimes hard to read the bill. We only started checking after reading on the internet that this can be an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KJFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,266 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
4,554 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
265 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Square

Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 9, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £136 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2014, the hotel is at the heart of the city, right in the middle of Barcelona's historical and commercial district just next to Plaza Catalunya and Paseo de Gracia. Its privileged location enables guests to go sightseeing to the city's major attractions and to go shopping to both popular stores and luxury outlets on Paseo de Gracia. The Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are all just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Square Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing