We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Barcelona”
Review of Catalonia Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Catalonia Square
Ranked #12 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This new hotel is ideally located for walking in and around Barcelona and Barcelona is a a wonderful place for walks. The location is near Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. The hotel is new and well run. The staff are friendly and helpful. They serve a very nice breakfast and lunch whuch was included in our rate.
The onky caveat was that even though we were on the 3rd floor, we could faintly hear the rumble of the occasional subway. It did not effect us but we did notice it I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smdubowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    157
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
164
446
43
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the rooftop suite with private pool for 5 nights and loved everything about our stay. The hotel is conveniently located to explore the city by foot or by metro. We parked our car in the available car park located underneath the hotel and never worried about it for a minute. The staff takes time to answer all your questions in detail. The room was cleaned every day and was spotless. Breakfast offered a variety of choices to everyone's taste - they even offer gluten free food. Also, the variety of snacks available in the afternoon and evening was excellent and always fresh. The rooftop suite is spacious and has 2 bathrooms with toilet. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The balcony is also huge and offers three different kinds of seating: lounge sofa, table and chairs, and reclining chairs. The private pool is simply wonderful. We both like some privacy after a busy day of exploring and the rooftop suite was like an oasis to us. Of course, there is noise from the city but that is inherent when you book a hotel room in the middle of the city center. When the balcony doors are closed you can hear almost no noise. Yes, you can hear and feel the metro underneath the building but this never bothered us. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend the rooftop suite with private pool! Extra tip: when on stand by, if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a good start to an introduction to Spain! The hotel is located in an excellent location away from the crowd of Rambla yet close enough to walk to join the action. Attentive and knowledgable staff, snacks during the day for guests and a good rooftop pool for those who wants a dip to cool down. Our room is comfortable and relatively generous in size, room service menu is diverse. It's so good we had cancelled our reservation with another hotel in Rambla to stay with them on our return trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 4 months old so all the rooms are in good condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Hotel Catalonia Square on a combined business and pleasure trip recently. This is a longer stay than we usually have, and it allowed us to evaluate the hotel in a variety of situations.

Overall, the hotel was comfortable and convenient. There is no question that this hotel has an ideal location, mere steps from the Metro and the Aerobus, in the heart of the shopping district, and an easy walk to the old city. Barcelona is wonderful to explore on foot and by public transit, and the Catalonia Square provides a great home base for doing just that.

This boutique hotel hit most of its marks perfectly: The staff are friendly and speak several languages. Our standard room was clean, quiet, reasonably spacious for Europe, and well-appointed, with a spacious and comfortable bed, awesome shower, and excellent climate control. Internet service was speedy and easy on our Apple and Android devices. The tiny pool was refreshing after a hot day at the Parc Guell. And perhaps most appreciated on days when we could not face another meal out were the free "snacks" provided daily from mid-afternoon until midnight. These included drinks, yogurt, smoked salmon, sandwiches, fruit, brownies, nuts, and chips. The menu did not change during our stay, but there was a reasonable variety to choose from.

Why four stars? A couple of small reasons that add up at this price point. First, we were in the room for turn-down service one night, so we got to observe the attendant clean the toilet, wipe the bathroom, and then hand us chocolates - all without a hand cleaning. Eew! Second, a toiletry upgrade - to include separate shampoo and body wash, as well as a box of tissues - would be nice. Finally, while the staff were very friendly, they did not always follow up on issues.

My final comment concerns breakfast. The hotel offers a breakfast for 19 euros, which is quite pricey for very basic offerings. However, there are many lovely bakeries and cafes nearby, so finding a great breakfast is not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Many travelers pointed out to the great location of this hotel. No argument, the location is very convenient, within walking distance to all attractions. Hotel is definitely new, so it looks clean and the staff was very nice. However, here are a few points that could be improved:

1. Internet. What a mess! At our arrival we couldn't connect at all. They had some issues with router/provider, so they told us that our Apple devices will not work. It was such a shock, and considering that we had to work during out trip, we started looking at other hotels around. After several hours, they managed to fix the issue and we were able to connect. However, the connection was not stable, it was disconnecting after just a few minutes of inactivity, which was very annoying and made working almost impossible.

2. Toiletries. It was a very unpleasant surprise that in such a nice hotel they didn't have the basic toiletries. Shampoo and tiny soap were horrible, no conditioner at all. On our first day we had to go to the grocery store (few doors down) and buy everything we needed for the bathroom. Should be an easy fix for the management.

In summary, if you need a place to stay in Barcelona, go there while it is still new. Not sure what would happen to this hotel in about a year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, as you will hear the rumbling from the metro underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great modern boutique hotel right in the heart of Barcelona. Close to Las Ramblas, shopping and entertainment. My sister and I stayed the night here at the end of our Mediterrean cruise to France and Italy.

Service was great, rooms were extremely modern and clean. There was a complimentary buffet with small snacks and drinks for guests.
Customer service and security guards were very polite and personable.
When we went to check in , my reservation had been cancelled by the hotel the previous week due to an error with my credit card but when we arrived, we were given a room and charged the same rate.
I definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowharah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Central location for a city break to Barcelona. The hotel is modern and very clean. Our hotel suite gave us a stunning view across the rooftops of Barcelona and Catalunya Square. The addition of a guest toilet and shower made the room ideal for families. The plunge pool on the balcony was a lovely addition. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Square

Property: Catalonia Square
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 9, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2014, the hotel is at the heart of the city, right in the middle of Barcelona's historical and commercial district just next to Plaza Catalunya and Paseo de Gracia. Its privileged location enables guests to go sightseeing to the city's major attractions and to go shopping to both popular stores and luxury outlets on Paseo de Gracia. The Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are all just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Square Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing