We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay: new, super clean, lovely and efficient service and in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catalonia Square
Ranked #11 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay: new, super clean, lovely and efficient service and in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We are a NYC based family of 4 (two boys, 11 and 9) and we booked this hotel for 4 nights in Barcelona on the basis of trip adviser. We were not disappointed and intend to stay here again. We had 2 single beds joined together and the boys shared a very comfortable (and quite wide) sofa pull out. The staff were great on check in and throughout our stay and the room was well equipped (particularly loved that we had our own Nespresso machine!). The room was beautifully clean and was made up very efficiently each day. The free afternoon drinks/snacks were great for the boys who had daily smoothies! The hotel is perfectly located and despite its location is surprisingly quiet. An excellent find that we'd highly recommend and intend to rebook in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent writing in Trip Advisor about us. It helps new travellers to know better our hotel. We wait to receive you very soon in the city and, of course, in Catalonia Square Hotel.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    153
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
152
425
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel - the modern decor, the location, walking distance from all the best shops and the tourist buses, the helpful staff, and even though breakfast was not included, there was a buffet every day for guests with coffee and pastries, etc., which was free. Nice to come back to after a day exploring this great city. I would recommend this hotel for a couple. It also had a lap pool and a small gym on the first floor, and a very attractive outdoor terrace for breakfast or a coffee. Gorgeous place!

Room Tip: Our room was a studio-type on the 6th floor -no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent writing in Trip Advisor about us. It helps new travellers to know better our hotel. We wait to receive you very soon in the city and, of course, in Catalonia Square Hotel.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was my first time in Barcelona and this hotel is positioned so well - it's steps from Placa Catalunya. The rooms are lovely - I stayed in a standard room and it was everything I needed. Comfy bed and great shower and the balcony was a great photo moment! I will definitely stay here again. Staff very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danellalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. It's location couldn't be better--it's very close to the subway, a one minute walk to the start of Las Ramblas, and bordering the trendy Eixample region. It's right in the thick of it without being in a noisy area. The hotel room was modern, spacious, and clean. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and a rain showerhead. The frosted glass that separated the bathroom from the bedroom might not appeal to everyone, but we liked it because it let more natural light in. We also had a small balcony with a view of Catalonia Square. We had control over the room temperature and never found ourselves too hot or cold.

We were on the fifth floor facing the street. The noise was minimal, but we were able to feel a slight vibration from the subway, which runs right underneath the building. Our only complaints were small: 1) was the lack of umbrellas for guests--it was the only hotel we stayed in on our European vacation that didn't have umbrellas for loan and 2) the king was actually two smaller mattresses pushed together and made separately, so you weren't actually sharing a bed with your significant other.

We also loved the special bonuses: 1) the free snack/drink buffet that ran between 1 PM and midnight, 2) the rooftop pool, which we used after a long day of sightseeing, and 3) the outdoor patio.

It is a new hotel, so a number of our taxi drivers were confused about the location. You can just direct them to the Cortes Ingles in Catalonia Square--it's right across the street. The front desk staff was really helpful and spoke fluent English. When we checked in, the bellman took us to our room and showed us how everything worked. We did have a slight hitch with the room key--the door swipe was broken, and they had to replace it, but they took care of it quickly. The staff made wonderful dinner recommendations and were happy to book the reservations. We didn't utilize the hotel's breakfast, as there were a number of cafes right around the corner that had quick breakfast bites for a low price.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Barcelona!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the street view--on the higher levels, we didn't notice any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
231 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Taxi driver professed not to know exactly where the hotel was - clearly a ploy given it's two minutes from the main square in Barcelona! Fairly narrow and understated frontage belies the quality and space inside. Our reception was friendly and the check-in handled efficiently. We were shown to the rooms by a friendly guy who demonstrated how everything worked. The reception area itself is small but the main waiting area is on the first floor - accessed by a lift or a short flight of stairs.

Initially the first floor has a little of the 'wow' about it - it's very large, modern and light - comprising a sizeable lounge area and bar, a large TV and the breakfast/snack dining area. There are also a few tables outside on a small, enclosed but landscaped terrace. Service was a bit frosty initially (maybe the Russian connection?) but it thawed a little with more familiarity. The choice for breakfast wasn't too bad though the congealed bacon wasn't too appetising and courgettes for breakfast did nothing for me! Orange juice on the other hand was delicious - clearly fresh and nice and cold too.

Initially you think that the extensive buffet offering is a great idea - and don't get me wrong it works quite well - especially if you're peckish or thirsty after a day out in the city. It's just that after 2 or 3 days the same offering of sandwiches, pastries and yoghurts can get a bit repetitive. I did like having the toaster there to toast the sandwiches and the cold drinks were especially welcome.

I liked the modern room - it had a view over the pool area and a few neighbouring buildings - not spectacular but at least of some interest. Personally my wife and I didn't hung up over frosted glass in the shower - we kind of know each other by now! But I understand that this may not suit all occupants. Initially it felt a bit strange to have the wash basin area in the passage through to the room but we got used to it without any problem. Bed was comfortable, A/c worked well and a complimentary bottle of cava sent the right welcome message. Being a lower floor there was some metro noise from below but not enough to keep us awake. Two TV's in our junior suite seemed a bit excessive but I guess suits some people who don't want to get out!

So, all in all, it was an unbeatable location for a modern, clean and efficiently-run hotel. Staff friendliness was a little patchy and the breakfast/snack service better than OK without being exactly outstanding. I'm unlikely to return to Barcelona any time soon, having felt it to be over-rated given what it has to offer versus other Spanish cities/towns, but I know it caters well to a large number of tourists and the CS would probably serve them well - even if it is pricier than some other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OliverPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect: aerobus 2 min away, subway station and plaza de catalunya just around the corner!
Hotel is very new, staff friendly and welcoming.
Few details to improve before it is a "great" hotel:
The doors of the room make a hell of a noise! In the morning, and lat evening, you can hear the entire floor entering and existing its room....Even if one is careful about it, it's just the way they are designed... A few fixing to do and it would be a lot quieter!! Subway noise can actually even be hear from the 5th floor, but it's more about vibration than noise and it was not at all a problem for is.
- toiletries are from the hotel chain... It would not hurt to have some branded one and to get a conditioner.
- cleaning staff need to be a bit more careful about details
Other things for information: the hotel is modern, clean and "efficient", don't expect a Catalan style experience; the swimming pool is really small and not on the roof (1st floor); staff is very helpful and flexible.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NGDgva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Square.

Bests Regards

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 3 days in this lovely hotel prior to a cruise. Everything about this almost new hotel was excellent. It is located in the midst of great stores for shopping, many fine restaurants, and close to so many of the sites I wanted to visit in the beautiful city of Barcelona. Within a block or two was a beautiful large park with free wifi and plenty of benches for locals and tourists from all over the planet. A short walk in another direction is the main square surrounded by all kinds of wondrous historic buildings Here you can find information, transportation and guided tours to the many extraordinary sites in this mecca -- and teams of young people to help and advise you. The hotel room was spacious, sparkling clean and very comfortable. The restaurant serves a delightful buffet breakfast with literally everything you might want. You have a choice of eating indoors or outdoors on the patio--which I loved. They also serve a wonderful lunch and free late snacks that could easily serve as dinner. The exemplary staff at this hotel get absolute top marks. My very favorites were Fabian and Mbwena but all were kind, helpful, and knowledgeable. If I should ever have the good fortune to visit Barcelona again, I would definitely choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are more quiet and closer to the pool and patio. The front side rooms let you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcagren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda C, Director Hotel at Catalonia Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yolanda Caba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Square

Property: Catalonia Square
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 9, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2014, the hotel is at the heart of the city, right in the middle of Barcelona's historical and commercial district just next to Plaza Catalunya and Paseo de Gracia. Its privileged location enables guests to go sightseeing to the city's major attractions and to go shopping to both popular stores and luxury outlets on Paseo de Gracia. The Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are all just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Catalonia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Square Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing