We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, huge room”
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Ramblas
Ranked #154 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Evrehailles, Belgium
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location, huge room”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had a huge room on the 2nd floor - I don't know if all the rooms are that large or I was just lucky. It was set back off the hallway as well so quiet in that regard. There were french doors and balconies off the room but the doors didn't open. There was plenty of street noise in the morning, although it was a side street, so no traffice to speak of. The bath was large but for some reason they squeezed the toilet in between the sink and a wall - good thing I am slim because a wide person would not have been able to fit. Wifi was excellent.
The location is good - just at the end of the Ramblas and near the square where all the airport buses and shuttles are.
The front desk however was extremely slow to check people in or out, so bring your patience.

Room Tip: Off the main street in front, and probably higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    557
    156
    57
    57
See reviews for
343
539
55
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Its a nice, clean hotel. The breakfast was good. We had a nice room with a lovely terrace. Very good location, you can walk to La Rambla. A bus stop nearby, a lot of shops, restaurants and Starbucks in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Can't think of any negatives on this hotel. Very close to La Rambla. If you are American, or just like Ronald, there is a McDonald's on the corner 50 yards away. Full bar in the lobby. The staff were very helpful in printing the boarding passes for our return leg. We happened to get a room with both tub and amazing 5 X 8 foot shower. Air conditioning was very good. And we overlooked a back side street off our balcony.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have returned to this hotel several times after sampling others close to La Rambla and this one is the best. We had a pool suite and it is well worth the money. There is so much space, nothing beats a quiet breakfast on the secluded terrace to start the day and then a dip in the little pool at the end of a hot day sightseeing and shopping. Bed was super comfortable, nice choice of blankets rather than the usual nasty poly plastic duvets. Loved the bubbly and fruit on arrival.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we booked direct with them and wanted a specific room which we got. They answered our e mails and telephone calls promptly and efficiently. I always look at different rooms when we stay in a hotel so we know what to book next time. The housekeeping staff were excellent, they seem to be on call all day. Check in and check out was fast and efficient.
There is a metro station very close to the hotel and we bought a TTEN ticket which allows 10 journeys, good value and very easy to get around. Location is great and easy for the taxi drivers to get to.
Top tip, book direct, you get better rooms, negotiate, read the reviews and decide what you want, as with everything, you get what you pay for................and, a little bit of good manners goes a long way!

Room Tip: Pool suites are fab, lots of space on the deck and a cute little pool with sun lounger and towels pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoleOxfordshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We went on a family trip for a cousin's wedding in Barcelona. The hotel was beautiful, clean And the staff in the front desk were very kind and gentle and always helped us in everything we needed. The included breakfast was good with good omelets and good pastry. We could ask for a better location of the hotel. Next to the famous Ramblas and near to the beach. I totally recomend this hotel we had a great experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Francia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location - 3 minutes from Las Ramblas. Comfortable, clean and well equipped hotel. One negative was that they were unable to extend our check out time which we needed due to our late flight home, despite the hotel appearing to be half empty.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Catalonia Ramblas and it was a perfect break in every way.
The staff at check in were excellent so friendly and helpful, the room 521 a Junior Suite with small pool was superb very quiet and well equipped. The little touches like fresh fruit and water in the room and the turn down service with chocolates made you feel special.

We could not fault the room in any way breakfast was great hot and cold buffet very good choice and not overly busy. I would certainly recommend the hotel I am returning in August and looking forward to it. The Management teams should be congratulated on such an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Room 520 and 521 quiet and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#138 of 513 in Barcelona
1,363 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#117 of 513 in Barcelona
1,689 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
1,452 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Property: Catalonia Ramblas
Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing