We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location comfortable and well run”
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Ramblas
Ranked #152 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

200m from the top of the Ramblas and the Plaza Catalunya this well run 4 Star hotel fits the bill for a central location offering good facilities. Rooms are well equipped, service is good and breakfast offers a wide selection of good quality products. It's central location is a real plus and for sure is a hotel you would return to.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Ramblas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good location off of Ramblas. When you walked in it had an incense type smell. We upgraded to our Superior room which had a balcony off of a side street which was very quaint. Not a balcony you could sit on though. The bathroom was huge. The bed was comfortable and room very clean. It was somewhat difficult to get around the hotel as some elevators only went to some floors. The pool was small and the view not that great from it. One eliptical, one treadmill and one stationery bike. The food for breakfast buffet was very good. Cuppacino machines (so you had to help yourself), large array of fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, meats, and cooked to order eggs. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jrpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is situated very close to the main pedestrian area, Ramblas. We found the staff not to be very helpful nor friendly when we were there. Room was clean and decent size, we faced the pool, so it was very quiet. Breakfast buffet was very good, lots and lots of choices. Starbuck's is close by as is lots of shopping and the metro station Universitat. Bus to airport is a short walk, 2-3 blocks away and saves you lots of money vs. taxi.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had a huge room on the 2nd floor - I don't know if all the rooms are that large or I was just lucky. It was set back off the hallway as well so quiet in that regard. There were french doors and balconies off the room but the doors didn't open. There was plenty of street noise in the morning, although it was a side street, so no traffice to speak of. The bath was large but for some reason they squeezed the toilet in between the sink and a wall - good thing I am slim because a wide person would not have been able to fit. Wifi was excellent.
The location is good - just at the end of the Ramblas and near the square where all the airport buses and shuttles are.
The front desk however was extremely slow to check people in or out, so bring your patience.

Room Tip: Off the main street in front, and probably higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Its a nice, clean hotel. The breakfast was good. We had a nice room with a lovely terrace. Very good location, you can walk to La Rambla. A bus stop nearby, a lot of shops, restaurants and Starbucks in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Can't think of any negatives on this hotel. Very close to La Rambla. If you are American, or just like Ronald, there is a McDonald's on the corner 50 yards away. Full bar in the lobby. The staff were very helpful in printing the boarding passes for our return leg. We happened to get a room with both tub and amazing 5 X 8 foot shower. Air conditioning was very good. And we overlooked a back side street off our balcony.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have returned to this hotel several times after sampling others close to La Rambla and this one is the best. We had a pool suite and it is well worth the money. There is so much space, nothing beats a quiet breakfast on the secluded terrace to start the day and then a dip in the little pool at the end of a hot day sightseeing and shopping. Bed was super comfortable, nice choice of blankets rather than the usual nasty poly plastic duvets. Loved the bubbly and fruit on arrival.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we booked direct with them and wanted a specific room which we got. They answered our e mails and telephone calls promptly and efficiently. I always look at different rooms when we stay in a hotel so we know what to book next time. The housekeeping staff were excellent, they seem to be on call all day. Check in and check out was fast and efficient.
There is a metro station very close to the hotel and we bought a TTEN ticket which allows 10 journeys, good value and very easy to get around. Location is great and easy for the taxi drivers to get to.
Top tip, book direct, you get better rooms, negotiate, read the reviews and decide what you want, as with everything, you get what you pay for................and, a little bit of good manners goes a long way!

Room Tip: Pool suites are fab, lots of space on the deck and a cute little pool with sun lounger and towels pr...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoleOxfordshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#136 of 513 in Barcelona
1,468 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
921 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
4,554 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
1,510 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £114 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing