We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Ramblas
Ranked #154 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a junior suite with a patio and a little swimming pool. Room was nice, big spacious comfortable beds, bottle of cava, fruit bowl compliments of hotel shortly after arrival.

There was a wet room style shower , but no bath.

Location was central.

Breakfast was 19 Euros extra per person so we just went to Starbucks opposite instead. We enjoyed our stay.

There is an Espresso machine in the room, but no kettle so if you want tea or a longer coffee in the room you are out of luck.

The "room service" menu is to be avoided at all costs. They dont tell you this but its outsourced to some kind of fast food company. We orderd two burgers expecting something on proper plates from the restaurant and got cold soggy burgers in takeaway cartons and we got charged for the outside call we did not know we were making to order it too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    557
    156
    57
    57
See reviews for
343
539
55
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spacious room with hardwoods and balcony. One enters, and the bath is right there. Then, there is a fairly long hall with a door to the bedroom that one can close for peace and quiet. Near Las Ramblas. Sleek and contemporary. We got the accommodation that included breakfast, which we were disappointed in. The large room is in the basement, I think. It's like a large cafeteria, and even the cereal selection was odd. Scrambled eggs were cold one morning, and not a variety of fresh fruit like other European hotels. Bedroom and bath great; I'd skip the breakfast rate and eat elsewhere. Other reviewers have some advice on where to eat breakfast near the hotel. No washcloths, and I could not make what a washcloth is (in U.S.) understood. (same issue in another city; Europeans consider washcloth personal item.) No Kleenex either. However, knowing the situation, I would stay here again. I'd avoid the breakfast though.

Room Tip: We were in 437, and it had a balcony and was in a quiet location. Close the bedroom door; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Catalonia Ramblas is an older hotel that has been updated with a contemporary flair. It is in a great location, just steps from the bustling Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas (and public transportation). We comfortably walked to Port Vell, the Palau de la Musica Catalana, Passeig de Gracia and Casa Battlo. The interior layout of the hotel winds around a bit, and the hallways are a little dark. But our room was spacious and comfortable, and the large bathroom was modern, pristine and had a rainfall shower. Breakfast, which was included with our package, was enormous--made-to-order eggs, pastries, meats, fruit, champagne and even Coke Light. The staff was gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel, clean nice outdoor area and fantastic location far away from las ramblas so you don't get all the noise. Las ramblas is a tourist centre a Mecca for hawkers and restraunteers who sell to you on the street. Take the back streespts to the market to get your fresh fruit breakfast.
Wifi hit and miss in the rooms where it was very slow. Very good in the lobby.
I would definitely rebook at Catalonia ramblas.

We did have a problem and check in where due to staff not knowing how to deal with agoda bookings, we were asked to pay again despite prepaying. The staff were understanding but we spent 20 mins at the check in, until they recognised we had already paid and had the relevant credit card to confirm. The manager offered us a free breakfast as away of apology and was very nice to deal with.
I had emailed the hotel a week before arriving to request early check in and requested some other services, but they did not respond until just before we departed so this was useless to us. If not for these 2 issues I would have scored 5

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is far better that it looks at a first glance, not saying that the building is in attractive. The hotel has a very modern and contemporary style and feel and is very clean.
The rooms are fitted with very comfortable beds, modern TV's and brilliant showers and other cleaning facilities. The rooms are very contemporary and cosy, you will struggle to have a bad nights sleep here! Also the housekeepers do I fine job!
The food is of excellent quality, although a tad over priced. I would definitely recommend the breakfast, in particular the freshly made omelettes that are mad in front of you with your own choice of topping.
The location of the hotel is fantastic as it is only 100m away from "la ramblas" one of the main streets in the city. But not so close that you can hear the noise from your room! It is also only half an hours walk from the spectacular beach and the harbour, where there are some lovely restaurants. Also outside the hotel is a bus stop for the tour bus, a trip which I would certainly recommend.
Overall this is an excellent hotel. Great food, helpful staff, excellent hygiene and very contemporary, worth ever penny and helped make the trip a memorable one!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrigley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here recently with a group. Hotel was in a perfect location for sightseeing and great shopping. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were sumptuous and exceeded the group's expectations. Only problem was the wireless had to be reconnected often. Otherwise, it was superb.

Room Tip: check well in advance as the rooms go quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTmomDanbury_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This gem of a hotel is in a great position with loads of shopping near by. The hotel service is very attentive & friendly. We had a triple room which was very comfortable. The downstairs bar and lounge is excellent and the pool is a bonus on a hot day. Close to Las Ramblas. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterandTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#138 of 513 in Barcelona
1,363 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#117 of 513 in Barcelona
1,689 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
1,452 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Property: Catalonia Ramblas
Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing