We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is rubbish”
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Ramblas
Ranked #156 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hotel is rubbish”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our room was dirty from the start, they have us a new room. Took 3 calls for a iron to be bought up and never came, apparently they only have 2 irons for the whole hotel. Hot water was not available one night. We paid over 1000k Australian for 4 nights for this dump. I have stays in better hostels.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    561
    157
    59
    58
See reviews for
354
542
56
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel was very nice, the facilities were good and the food very good, however the service was poor. It took ages to get a drink on the terrace or in the bar. The other tables weren't cleared away and when the order of drinks were finally brought to you they were often wrong. It is a shame really as I would like to stop here again when visiting Barcelona next time because of the location and the pool etc.. but the service has put us off and when we return in October we are going to try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Most enjoyable 4 night stay. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Our room was well appointed, comfortable and very clean. Great pool and terrace to relax after sightseeing. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend - although ended up being a double, the room & bed was gigantic!! Definitely never felt under each others feet!
Location was excellent - right by La Rambla & metro station at the end of the block.
Staff were super polite, helpful & knowledgeable!

If I had one negative the breakfast was average & fairly expensive!! But we chose to eat there as it wasn't included in price of room so have not marked them down!
TIP - if you want a strong cup of tea in the morning take your own teabags!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn_L883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel and we were highly impressed and fully intend going back to stay again. The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. The rooms were lovely- clean, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The hotel is handy to all of the sights and bus stops and is only a short walking distance to the depot for day trips etc. In my opinion you could not fault the service and location the Catalonia Ramblas provides. Breakfasts were divine!

Room Tip: Ground floor was great and very handy to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenyth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was well located at head of Ramblas. Staff courteous and speak English well. Included breakfast buffet good, with eggs to order. Rooms large and clean. Decent bar. Priced in package so no idea how it compares to buy off website. Recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slugg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My booking was dine and confirmed throw booking.com the hotel messed up our reservation and offered us a Downgraded rooms to stay the night until they resolve the issue. The second day still no rooms the issue has not been fixed no apology has been made no one from management bothered to come and talk with us and when we asked for one she finally showed up all charged up calming that she is aware and does not know who's mistake it was and that they cannot fix it now and we have to wait for another day. No apology rude attitude and she had the audacity to argue in high tone. We have natural decided to check out after such treatment.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalalalaujan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#145 of 512 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
894 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#118 of 512 in Barcelona
1,700 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#151 of 512 in Barcelona
1,471 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Property: Catalonia Ramblas
Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing