We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Clean & Modern, hope to return!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #41 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, Clean & Modern, hope to return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Good location v close to a Rockafort metro tube station, (as soon I bought tube tickets the wife said she’s afraid of tubes!) so used as a base we walked everywhere (magic fountains/beach/ramblas/sagrada/casa mila) except for Guell park (catch a bus from Placa Espanya)
Free coffee/tea/pastries every evening on 1st floor above reception every afternoon!
Reception staff superb, rooms clean & modern, no noise from the street outside.
We thought Breakfast was expensive, so we went around the corner to a little rustic place called El Moli Vell, if you go out of the hotel & turn left, following the road, then first right its on the corner, fresh pastries/bread/juice etc v nice & cheap! There is also a shop next door to the Hotel (turn right outside the Hotel) which looked really good but we never went in..next time! A supermarket is only a block away for anything you might need
Restaurants try Attic on Les Rambles, I don’t normally try places that have people outside showing menu’s, but I can understand why as when you enter the building you have to go up to the 1st floor, anyway its a modern –style place with excellent food/service. Hotel highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moorlander1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    617
    107
    22
    16
See reviews for
244
1,368
57
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Lovely room, attentive service, rooftop bar for smokers, free afternoon tea/coffee with patisseries, cool bar/resto in lobby, minutes walk to closest metro, highly recomend

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Modern, well-appointed hotel: perfectly clean; spacious, comfortable beds; beautiful 7th floor terrace bar; delicious breakfast included in room rate. Perfect location approximately 1 block from metro station and within enjoyable walking distance to Barcelona's intriquing neighborhoods and sites. Only drawbacks to our one week stay were the level of hallway noise heard in our room (elevator, doors slamming, housekeeps) and low level of bathroom privacy (glass walls, sliding door, no fan).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Highly recommended. A superb boutique hotel - really good value. The staff were extremely helpful, rooms v modern and high quality. The roof terrace is a great place to relax in the evenings before going out. Location good - just a few metro stops from the centre. We had a great time and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikaj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here for a few nights and had a lovely time at this hotel. It is a little out from the main part of Barcelona but the metro is easy to catch and cabs are reasonable. The breakfast at the hotel is the most delicious hotel breakfast I have ever had. There are also a number of little cafes nearby you could have your breakfast at.
The inside of this hotel was decorated tastefully with a good finish and the rooftop terrace was a great bonus.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spring_Chick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at Villa Emilia for about two weeks and really enjoyed our stay there for many reasons as follows: The main reason for our visit to Barcelona was that our son lives in Barc. and we were visitng him on a surprise for his birthday and he was not aware that we were there till the day of his birthday. The chef Varim at ilia made a special dinner for us on the night with a complimentry bottle of champagne for our little celebratory group. They also catered for our little grandaughter who is 3 years old and has a very limited taste in food, The menu for dinner at other times ( we did eat out many times) was good although there was not a great selection to choose from ( this was to be expected as the kitchen is a little small) As for the breakfast menu it was also rather good in that it had a good selection of food available for the morning meal.
The rooms were adequate not too big and not too small I liked having the safe in my room and the free internet service as well. IN other words the room was cosy, maybe could have been just a little bigger as we had a bit of difficulty in finding places to put our luggage and 'junk' as one acquires on a holiday. But overall it was quite satisfactory indeed, The bathroom was okay the only complaint i would have had is the water from the shower went over the edge of the shower recess and I had difficulty in drying some or our clothes I had to use the handle of our suitcases to hang washing on, but his was nt a great issue at all as the room was clean indeed and comfortable the bed was also good and cosy. The air conditioning seemed not to work after a certain time in the night and so we had to open the door to the outside to ger a little cooler, which was not a great problem as the fresh air sometimes is better but it would have been good to have the air conditioning on all night if possible.
The staff were extremely helpful and courteous at all times especially the cleaners and bar and kitchen and dining staff and I would give them a 9 out of 10 for smiles and politeness and helpfulness. The front desk staff were okay as well but could have been a little more smiles on their faces.
The terrace was just magic and indeed we spent many happy evening up there with either drinks or just relaxing and the people there were extremely wonderful and so inviting and they remembered what we liked to drink we did not have to ask for service at any time as they were so great, Thank you to them for their service they were extremely helpful in telling us where to go for reataurants when we did not want to at in the dining room every evening. They were of great assistance as was Varim downstairs. My only complaint was that there was not a small pool on the terrace as this would have been just magical as we sat in the hot sun on most days and this would have been so wonderful. We really liked this small hotel and when we come back to Barcelona we will most certainly stay there if our son has not moved into a bigger apartment.

Room Tip: WE stayed on the 5th floor and faced the front of hotel this was good and not too noisy, just a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed. The visual design and style of the hotel is very pleasing, the room was great and also quiet, the restaurant served modern Spanish dishes, the staff were very helpful and the rooftop bar is a terrific. The location is not great as it is away from the main tourist areas but a tube station is 2 minutes away and Barcelona's Metro is exceptionally good. Some of the tourist areas (e.g. Joan Miro's Park) are about 10 minutes walk away. There also was free wifi and breakfast was good with a choice of bread types for a change. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#14 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing