We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super small hotel with great design, relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and a pretty excellent location just off the touristy beat”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #37 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super small hotel with great design, relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and a pretty excellent location just off the touristy beat”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Would like to thank the staff here for making this a lovely stay. The hotel completely delivers. It's nice to not be slap bang in the middle of the maddening crowds and noisy streets of the more popular tourist locations. However this is a super base, with great transport, stones throw from Rocafort Metro, and an easy walk to many popular sights. With a charming roof terrace, great food and wine and an interesting neighbourhood to explore, L'Eixample, Garcia and the stunning gardens of Montjuic, you can't go wrong. Next door is a fab deli called Casanova which is perfect for grabbing some tasty bits for a picnic somewhere. Rooms are very comfortable and even though ours was on the road there was no traffic disturbance at all. Not the cheapest digs, but plenty to reckomend itself and worth every penny!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyTwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    638
    112
    22
    16
See reviews for
267
1,412
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Modern hotel with a reception that looks like a restaurant when you walk in. Took a few moments to realise that the check in desk looks like burean de change booth. Friendly receptionist explaining breakfast, tours and gave us a useful guidebook. The lifts can be slow. The hallways had that bleachy cleaning smell but was okay when we got into our room, 31. Not a great view of the back of the hotel, but no risk of traffic noise. Clean spacious room and bathroom. There was free afternoon tea with cakes and biscuits between 5 and 7, and the roof terrace is worth a visit, though without pool. It is seconds from Rocafort Metro station on Linea 1, so convenient to get around. It is in a quieter and modern neighbourhood away from the hustle and bustle of Le Ramblas. all in all, a good hotel.

Room Tip: go for the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkspang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Boutique hotel styling combined with the most delightful, hard-working and helpful staff make this hotel very special.

Particularly well placed for the metro (Rocafort on line 1), in a comparatively quiet area that is nonetheless close to the city centre and the Montjuic, the Villa Emilia is a perfect base and, for us, soon became a sophisticated home from home.

The restaurant menu is limited but well presented, though best by far was the dinner we had for St Jordi's Day (Saint George's day) when, at breakfast, the ladies had all been presented with a traditional red rose. The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of high quality products and is worth booking in advance as there really are no quality alternatives in the immediate vicinity.

The rooms are good and the standard of cleaning and maintenance high; the beds are firm but very comfortable and the air-conditioning blissfully quiet while also being effective. Each room boasts a mini-bar and a safe. The bathrooms are chic though the mirrors are unforgiving......

On several nights there is live music in the bar/restaurant area - nothing intrusive: a piano, a jazz duo, a female jazz singer - adding to the feeling that this really is the place to be. We certainly are keen to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PippaB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Myself and four friends stayed here whilst on a 3 day girly trip away. The five of us booked into a double and triple room which was great to be able to cater for an odd number. Before we even got to the hotel I was amazed by the staff, having emailed them a question about travelling to the hotel from the airport I was stunned to receive a very thorough and truly helpful email from the hotel within 5 minutes!!!!
Although on arrival one of the rooms was not ready (as we arrived early morning) we were able to store luggage and use the facilities. Location of the hotel is good with a Metro within easy walking distance but its not in the prettiest of areas.
Unfortunately the weather during our trip was not great but it still did not spoil the fantastic rooftop terrace. The sofas were amazingly comfortable and great to relax on after a day touring the city. Even though the bar on the roof was not open we were able to order our drinks via an intercom and were served extremely quickly.
The rooms were plenty big enough with sizeable bathrooms and lovely toiletries.
The best things about this hotel though were the amazing staff who could not do enough for you and the magnificent breakfasts, which became a bit of a marathon session for us all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a well appointed boutique hotel with pretty well everything you would need for a nice stay in Barcelona. The room we had was new and clean and everything was good except for the pillows. Small and square. Great part of town. Easy walk to Spanish Gates and 2 subway stop to the top of the Rambla. Would consider staying there again. Full European style breakfast worth it, especially when they make you specialty coffees in the morning. Over all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend at Villa Emilia,and we were very very impressed,the first thing I need to mention is the quality of the hotel staff,every single one of them,I would go as far to say that they were probably the best hotel staff I have ever encountered outside of Asia,from the reception to the bar staff and all the cleaners etc.they were all superb,it really made our stay even better than we had hoped.As for the hotel itself,as previously mentioned,it is indeed a very chic place,modern and spotlessly clean,and it is in a very good position for getting around Barcelona,either by foot,or on the metro.
We arrived early (10.30 am) and we were not kept waiting very long for our room even though we expected a lengthy wait.
The rooms were very modern and comfortable,and the open shower was no problem at all,the air con worked perfectly,all in all a perfect destination,topped by the roof terrace which has a fantastic ambience,we were up there on a friday night for a barbarcue and they laid on a 3 piece band who were just brilliant,they had people jigging and tapping their feet all through their gig,and to finish the evening off I managed to see the second half of the Spanish cup final in a local bar with all the Barca fans,it was a lovely atmosphere.
I would not hesitate to return to Villa Emilia if I am in Barcelona again,the city is a really interesting and atmospheric destination.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alekos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel is beautiful and the staff and service superb. We had a very pleasant stay and found the location very handy for the metro and very easy to find from Placa Espanya (a straightforward ten minute walk from where the airport bus dropped us off).

On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised when handing over my passport that the receptionist had noted it was my birthday the next day and informed me there would be a couple of compliementary drinks to help me celebrate! A very nice touch! Well done & many thanks to Villa Emilia for this - it's the little things that make a difference and quite impressive and I very much enjoyed the best tasting mojitos in the sun up on the gorgeous terrace on my birthday! The terrace was one of the main appeals that attracted us to this hotel and it didn't dissapoint - lush, comfortable, sunny location for drinks - whether for a cocktail or a cafe con leche - may be a bit on the pricey side compared to other off-the-beaten-track tapas bars dotted about the city - but for a nice treat it was just grand!

The beds we found comfortable (although we travelled as a couple and it was actually two singles put together, but we weren't too bothered by this). We're both quite light sleepers anyway so usually sleep with earplugs when on city breaks, but generally at night it's pretty quiet as away from the hectic tourist trail. The bathroom is slick & modern - we've noticed the previous comments about water splash - we just put one of the many towels provided down - problem solved! Very impressed by how spotless we'd come back to our rooms every day - lots of lovely fresh towels and beautiful clean bed linen. We didn't bother with the breakfast (as had a few late nights!) but noted there's supermarkets, fruitshops, cafes etc all in the vicinity so very handy to grab the essentials when heading into town. The free evening coffee & pastries as well were also a nice touch (but would have been fab if there were coffee-making facilities in the room - only thing that slightly dissapointed).

All in all, very happy with the stay. Right by the metro and only a couple of stops away from main locations so if you're happy metro-hopping or chilling in the sun while sipping a nice cool drink or coffee would definitely recommend it. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 512 in Barcelona
3,884 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 512 in Barcelona
3,084 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,164 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 512 in Barcelona
3,740 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#12 of 512 in Barcelona
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Property: Hotel Villa Emilia
Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing