We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place to stay in Barcelona” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #40 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have now stayed at Villa Emilia 3 times. All were positive experiences. The most recent time, we visited Barcelona in summer time, and was able to utilize, probably the coolest part of the hotel, the roof top lounge and patio. We had a romantic drink late in the evening under the warm Barcelona summer air. It was wonderful.

The decor of the Emilia is definitely modern. I do find that they balance it out with some soft pastel colors to make it more welcoming than traditional modern design. Staff was friendly and helpful. While it is not in the most posh neighborhood, it is close to the Roquefort subway station which touch the major lines.

All in all, taking into consideration the lower rates, it is the best value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    617
    107
    22
    16
See reviews for
244
1,368
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Like other reviewers have said, this hotel really delivers in every aspect. There isn't a single thing you could fault and I think anyone who does is being unbelievably picky and I would love to know where they usually stay.

The staff are brilliant and really stand out. Lovely bar with grand piano. Rooftop terrace is amazing - there was a DJ playing chilled out music on the Wednesday night with a chef cooking on the grill. It was one of our best ever hotel experiences.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We loved our stay in Barcelona. We were there for only one night and wish we would have stayed longer. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful. They held our luggage until our room was ready so we were able to explore the city. They gave us a map of the city and directions to plaza espana which is the closest attraction as well as instructions on how to get to the metro. The room was very modern and had a very spacious bathroom. My only complaint was the bed was hard. Since I was so exhausted from the entire day of roaming the city, I didn't have any trouble sleeping. In the morning we had breakfast in a nearby cafe on the same street. The food was yummy and a prertty good deal. All in all Barcelona was awesome and I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouzon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I had three excellent nights. Like previous reviewers have mentioned the staff are amazing; all very friendly and willing to help make your stay even more enjoyable. This is a modern boutique style hotel that has a fantastic roof terrace bar, serving great cocktails and food. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. Our room overlooked the road but we were't disturbed once. We were really pleased with the location as it is outside of all the busy areas but close enough to walk to La Ramblas and the metro was only 2 mins walk away.

I can't praise the hotel and it's staff enough. When we return to Barcelona this is be the hotel that we stay at. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

this hotel is very modern in design but has missed out big time with the beds.they are extremely hard.we had 4 very uncomfortable nights and sore backs each day.if you have any sort of back problem, do not stay at this hotel.the terrace bar is a good option for a late drink but is expensive in comparison to other bars.it was also a bit out of town for us.we did not have breakfast as it was offered to us at 14 euros each.
we went to the pan pala which is a few doors along.good coffee and fresh orange juice with rolls,pastries and fried breakfast available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seesee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Responsable commercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dr Sr,

We are really sorry if your stay has not been as pleasant as we would have liked to. As a professional of hotels services I am always disappointed when a customer is not fully satisfied with our services because the aim, the essence of our job is to make our customers feel like at home.
Regarding to the bed, the vast majority of our customers had passed a great time in their rooms. I can understand that for some people the bed could be too hard or too soft but it is not a generality.
Also I would like to point out that our prices on the terrace bar are not so expensive as you pretend for Barcelona. Let me give you just two examples : a coffee cost 1,50 € and a beer 3,50€ on the terrace. It's a general terrace price in Barcelona.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Would like to thank the staff here for making this a lovely stay. The hotel completely delivers. It's nice to not be slap bang in the middle of the maddening crowds and noisy streets of the more popular tourist locations. However this is a super base, with great transport, stones throw from Rocafort Metro, and an easy walk to many popular sights. With a charming roof terrace, great food and wine and an interesting neighbourhood to explore, L'Eixample, Garcia and the stunning gardens of Montjuic, you can't go wrong. Next door is a fab deli called Casanova which is perfect for grabbing some tasty bits for a picnic somewhere. Rooms are very comfortable and even though ours was on the road there was no traffic disturbance at all. Not the cheapest digs, but plenty to reckomend itself and worth every penny!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyTwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Modern hotel with a reception that looks like a restaurant when you walk in. Took a few moments to realise that the check in desk looks like burean de change booth. Friendly receptionist explaining breakfast, tours and gave us a useful guidebook. The lifts can be slow. The hallways had that bleachy cleaning smell but was okay when we got into our room, 31. Not a great view of the back of the hotel, but no risk of traffic noise. Clean spacious room and bathroom. There was free afternoon tea with cakes and biscuits between 5 and 7, and the roof terrace is worth a visit, though without pool. It is seconds from Rocafort Metro station on Linea 1, so convenient to get around. It is in a quieter and modern neighbourhood away from the hustle and bustle of Le Ramblas. all in all, a good hotel.

Room Tip: go for the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wkspang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#14 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing