We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately stay here again.”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #39 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Booked the hotel for our June stay and glad we did.
Positives
-clean modern room that is not only clean but smells clean.
-ac works well! For anyone that has traveled around europe..this is not easy to find
-room is spacious enough for 3 beds. The bed is a little hard but the pillows and comforter are comfortable
-roof top terrace/ bar is cool and open till 1 am with a std set of tapas
-wifi is free and reliable. Not speedy but does not disconnect frequently. They were also accommodating when we requested more than 1 wifi id.
-staff speaks English and is not stuffy-always someone at the front desk.
-area is pretty safe to walk around at night
- breakfast is pretty good-included items such as smoked salmon, different types cold meats, boiled eggs,yogurt, cereal, bread/jams, various pastries, and fruit.
-and for girls, includes a hair dryer :)

Negatives
-not central to la rambles but close to metro/subway and it's inexpensive to get there.
-bathroom door doesn't close -sliding door and no vent in bathroom
-we had a view of a building wall

Would stay here again if back in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BayAreaChino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Emilia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have now stayed at Villa Emilia 3 times. All were positive experiences. The most recent time, we visited Barcelona in summer time, and was able to utilize, probably the coolest part of the hotel, the roof top lounge and patio. We had a romantic drink late in the evening under the warm Barcelona summer air. It was wonderful.

The decor of the Emilia is definitely modern. I do find that they balance it out with some soft pastel colors to make it more welcoming than traditional modern design. Staff was friendly and helpful. While it is not in the most posh neighborhood, it is close to the Roquefort subway station which touch the major lines.

All in all, taking into consideration the lower rates, it is the best value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Like other reviewers have said, this hotel really delivers in every aspect. There isn't a single thing you could fault and I think anyone who does is being unbelievably picky and I would love to know where they usually stay.

The staff are brilliant and really stand out. Lovely bar with grand piano. Rooftop terrace is amazing - there was a DJ playing chilled out music on the Wednesday night with a chef cooking on the grill. It was one of our best ever hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We loved our stay in Barcelona. We were there for only one night and wish we would have stayed longer. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful. They held our luggage until our room was ready so we were able to explore the city. They gave us a map of the city and directions to plaza espana which is the closest attraction as well as instructions on how to get to the metro. The room was very modern and had a very spacious bathroom. My only complaint was the bed was hard. Since I was so exhausted from the entire day of roaming the city, I didn't have any trouble sleeping. In the morning we had breakfast in a nearby cafe on the same street. The food was yummy and a prertty good deal. All in all Barcelona was awesome and I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouzon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I had three excellent nights. Like previous reviewers have mentioned the staff are amazing; all very friendly and willing to help make your stay even more enjoyable. This is a modern boutique style hotel that has a fantastic roof terrace bar, serving great cocktails and food. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. Our room overlooked the road but we were't disturbed once. We were really pleased with the location as it is outside of all the busy areas but close enough to walk to La Ramblas and the metro was only 2 mins walk away.

I can't praise the hotel and it's staff enough. When we return to Barcelona this is be the hotel that we stay at. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

this hotel is very modern in design but has missed out big time with the beds.they are extremely hard.we had 4 very uncomfortable nights and sore backs each day.if you have any sort of back problem, do not stay at this hotel.the terrace bar is a good option for a late drink but is expensive in comparison to other bars.it was also a bit out of town for us.we did not have breakfast as it was offered to us at 14 euros each.
we went to the pan pala which is a few doors along.good coffee and fresh orange juice with rolls,pastries and fried breakfast available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seesee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dr Sr,

We are really sorry if your stay has not been as pleasant as we would have liked to. As a professional of hotels services I am always disappointed when a customer is not fully satisfied with our services because the aim, the essence of our job is to make our customers feel like at home.
Regarding to the bed, the vast majority of our customers had passed a great time in their rooms. I can understand that for some people the bed could be too hard or too soft but it is not a generality.
Also I would like to point out that our prices on the terrace bar are not so expensive as you pretend for Barcelona. Let me give you just two examples : a coffee cost 1,50 € and a beer 3,50€ on the terrace. It's a general terrace price in Barcelona.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Would like to thank the staff here for making this a lovely stay. The hotel completely delivers. It's nice to not be slap bang in the middle of the maddening crowds and noisy streets of the more popular tourist locations. However this is a super base, with great transport, stones throw from Rocafort Metro, and an easy walk to many popular sights. With a charming roof terrace, great food and wine and an interesting neighbourhood to explore, L'Eixample, Garcia and the stunning gardens of Montjuic, you can't go wrong. Next door is a fab deli called Casanova which is perfect for grabbing some tasty bits for a picnic somewhere. Rooms are very comfortable and even though ours was on the road there was no traffic disturbance at all. Not the cheapest digs, but plenty to reckomend itself and worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyTwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,969 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
362 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,261 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £82 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing