We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out this hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #38 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check out this hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel due to all the good reviews. It certainly lived up to its reputation and would want to stay here again on our next visit to the city. Everything was perfect. Superb ambience, comfortable rooms, good food, delightful sincere staff & the complimentary tea/coffee and pastries between 5 & 7pm was a very nice touch and much appreciated.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    638
    112
    22
    16
See reviews for
267
1,414
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here four nights. Staff were mostly pleasant and helpful but quality of information provided varied depending on who was manning the front desk. Rooms are definitely on the smaller side, even for Europe, but generally comfortable. Good A/C for a few warmer days. Generally quiet except our first night when a room full of unattended children were allowed by their parents staying in a different room to run the halls and slam doors until after 11:30. The situation was handled efficiently by front desk staff after just one call. Beds were a bit on the harder side but provided a good night's sleep. Strange square pillows mentioned in other reviews really were difficult to get used to and shower was architecturally interesting but challenging to use. Hotel conveniently located to underground but a hike to most sites otherwise. Breakfast was purchased and food and staff were good. Overall would feel safe recommending this hotel but would check out other properties in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for having chosen Villa Emilia hotel as your accommodation in Barcelona. We have seen that the perception of the size of the rooms varies from one client to another depending on where they come from; despite that, the comfort is always there. Our hotel’s staff are always available to solve any doubt and make you enjoy your stay. It is important that you always inform us of any kind of problem in order to find the best solution. This extends to the hardness of matrasses and the shape of the pillows. Please comment these aspects at the hotel’s reception; we can offer alternatives, which will help you to have a good rest. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned following a 5 night stay at the Villa Emilia Hotel with my wife - we had a fabulous time in Barcelona which was enhanced by this excellent hotel. Great location 100 metres from Rocafort metro station plenty of local cafes etc and a pleasant 20 minute walk to the centre. This has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in great room very comfotable bed, fantastic en suite. The roof top bar is great place to relax at the end of the day. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful - special mention for the bar staff especially RUI great fun excellent cocktails - try the Bellota ham in the restaurant you wont be dissapointed we also recommend a restaurant called "Bardot" fantastic Catalan cuisine - we will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Villa Emilia and honestly can't find fault with anything about the hotel or the service. Right from the moment you walk through the doors to be greeted by the most wonderful smell, akin to Jasmine, the experience was pretty much perfect.
Location wise, the Rocafort metro station is 20 yards away, and 20 minutes gentle walk will see you at either the Plaza Espanya or the top of Las Ramblas. Great starting point for a day exploring the city in any direction.
Thanks to all the staff for helping make a fantastic weekend in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are glad that your stay in Barcelona turned out to be a memorable experience. We would like to thank you for having chosen Villa Emilia hotel during your visit to our wonderful city. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at Villa Emilia in April. Location is quite convenient and staff is helpful and pleasant. - bar staff are good fun, great Mojitos ! Rooms are a little on the small side and the beds too firm for my liking. Ask for an extra mattress pad. Recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for highlighting our hotel’s location and its staff’s kindness, as well as other aspects which you decided to share with other travellers. Concerning the rooms of the Villa Emilia hotel, they have a standard size, between 23 and 27 m2. It is true that we don’t have Junior Suites or Suites. However, in Barcelona standard rooms are typically larger compared with what is considered normal in most European destinations. We also appreciate you recommending an extra mattress pad, given that, above all, we care for our clients’ comfort, and try to satisfy those aspects which can vary from one client to another. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent a couple of days at Villa Emilia and the service by the entire team was awesome. Being a bit picky it's hard to please us but they were all very personal and attentionate while being very professional and following things through. The rooms were well appointed with all that was needed . It's a great trendy option in the middle of the Eixample district while being close to attractions and activities. Best cafe is right across the road, Copasetic which offers amazing gluten free and organic food and drinks. Cool district to be in for a real experience of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Visit the Terraza upstairs for an afternoon drink while watching the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We appreciate the personal description of your stay in our hotel and the recommendations to other travellers. We are glad to see that we have been a good choice for your stay in Barcelona. Best regards from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights over Easter. The hotel was generally very good. Our room was on the small side, but this is not unusual for city centre hotels. Staff were helpful and we used the roof terrace on one sunny afternoon/evening which was very pleasant. In retrospect we would have preferred a hotel closer to the city centre as, although the metro is very efficient and the station is very close to the hotel, we found it a bit of a drag using it 4 times a day to go in and out of the centre. We walked in on our first morning and it took us 20 minutes. Had dinner in the hotel one evening before going to see the magic fountains and this was very good value, although quite a limited choice of dishes. I would recommend the hotel if you don't mind the walk or using the metro.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Villa Emilia hotel during your visit to Barcelona. It’s true that the hotel is far from the main tourist areas, but Plaça Catalunya is just three metro stops away. From there you can walk down Passeig de Gràcia, el Portal de l’Àngel, la Plaça del Pi, the area of the Cathedral, and walk down la Via Laietana till you reach Argenteria Street and el Born, just to mention one of the possible itineraries. If it gets late, you can always catch a taxi back to the hotel. We appreciate your honesty and we hope you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,091 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,177 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#12 of 512 in Barcelona
698 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Property: Hotel Villa Emilia
Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing