We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great roof top bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #40 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Wraxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great roof top bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a fantastic stay in Barcleona- made the better by staying in a great hotel with a roof top bar on the seventh floor- great views, beers and cava. Brilliant after a warm day out touring or late evening.

Not to be missed

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allendale1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    617
    107
    22
    16
See reviews for
244
1,368
57
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights beak in May 2014, hotel was easy to get to from the airport by taxi (25€) and well situated in a quiet district away from the crowds. Centre of town (Placa de Catalunya) was 30 mins stroll or a 10 min taxi ride (approx. 8€) away, so all the sights were nearby. The hotel is an absolute delight to stay in, good sized room with a comfy bed, excellent bathroom and shower and everything kept spotlessly clean. The roof top terrace is a lovely place for enjoying a drink but it was a little rainy when we stayed so we only got to use it for one night. The buffet breakfasts are excellent value, just don't expect bacon & egg, this is continental Europe not UK. You won't need it anyway as there is so much else to choose from. What really sets this hotel apart though is the amazing service from every member of staff, everyone is so friendly and helpful, from remembering how you like your breakfast tea/coffee to supplying advice on which sights to visit. We will be visiting Barcelona again and definitely staying here.

Room Tip: inside rooms don't have a street view, but are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griff450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We wanted to take this moment to sincerely thank you for taking some time to write about your great experience here at Hotel Villa Emilia. The best gift for all of us is making your stay in Barcelona an unforgettable memory. We also thank you for your recommendations to other travellers. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is lovely boutique hotel. Very clean and lovely modern furnishings. Staff very helpful. It is ideal if you are having a long weekend in Barcelona. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try not to be above the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for highlighting staff’s kindness, as well as other aspects which you have decided to share with other travellers. We are glad to see that we have been a good choice for your stay in Barcelona. Best regards from the entire team. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fantanele, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

good hospitality good stay good people ...spacious roooms ..cozy feeling.was really good staying at this place...the rooftop terrace was really good..the most impressing was the staff they really pampered us

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for highlighting our hospitality and staff’s kindness. We appreciate your comments and We hope to receive you at our hotel again in near future.
Warmest regards, Hotel Villa Emilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night, but we know from the moment we walked in we loved it. It's located in a quiet neighborhood away from the crowds.
The room was beautiful, and the linens and beds were GREAT. The have a rooftop terrace which gives you wonderful views of the area. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OneSwtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are glad that your stay in Barcelona turned out to be a memorable experience.
Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you will visit us again in near future. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,208 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The Villa Emilia is a cozy hotel tugged away on a side street away from Grand Via. At first we were not impressed with the location of the hotel since it appeared complicated for us when we arrived by taxi from the airport. However after the first day when we had our orientation with its location and learn how to use the Metro station nearby, we were totally comfortable with the area.

We give high grade for the comfort of the room. The public areas eg the lobby, the dining room, the lounge on the mezzanine floor are quite small but ran efficiently. The best part of the Villa Emilia must be the helpful staff that always extended their best effort to assist you. When we left after 4 nights, the whole staff were outside to say farewell to us. Great and expected high level of services.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you kindly for sharing your opinion about your stay here at Hotel Villa Emilia and for describing your impressions concerning the staff. We truly appreciate your comments and we are sure that it will undoubtedly be very useful for other travelers. Best regards from all the team at Hotel Villa Emilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wife and I went to Barcelona for the first time to celebrate our 20th anniversary.

I am quite anal when it comes to choosing places to stay so the rating on TripAdvisor was critical - and I am more than happy with my choice!! Booked through LSR Travel in the UK who were great at sorting good rates for us.

Room was fab (room 27) - one of the best power showers I've ever used! Lovely large windows/doors that opened fully to let you feel like you were outside!

Hotel was lovely and clean and decor was great. All looked very new. Could do with some English sports channels on the tv maybe!!! ;)

Staff were very friendly and tentative, all of them much better at 'foreign' languages than me so their English meant we got on fine!!

Breakfast was more than adequate and the chocolate brownie was stunning!!! So naughty but so nice!

Monica on reception told us about the 'magic fountains' just around the corner which was a lovely start to our trip. You could walk to most places if you don't mind a bit of exercise plus there is a Metro station just a few minutes away. We walked to Las Ramblas in about 20 minutes, the Arena/Fountains in less than 15 and even back from the Camp Nou in about 50 minutes!!!

Cannot compare to other hotels in Barcelona as never been to any others but I would not hesitate in going back to Villa Emilia if I had the chance and would recommend it to anybody looking for a good hotel for a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor which was easy access from lobby. Potential to hear the traffic if you had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#48 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#14 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing