We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - but avoid the restaurant”
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #41 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - but avoid the restaurant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and we were both really impressed with almost everything about the place. The staff in reception are really helpful and courteous, the receoption area itself is quirky and contemporary (and smells lovely all the time), the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, The bathroom was really lovely and spacious. The free wi-fi was a real bonus. The position... well although it's not in a great area, neither is it in a bad one, and as it is within just 2 minutes walk of Rocafort metro, it means that it is really central and handy for getting all around the city. The roof top bar is great - open, comfortable and a real suntrap - although the service can be a bit slow so once you get a waiter up there, its sensible to get him or her to get as much stuff for you as possible as it may be a while before they next re-emerge from the ground floor bar/restaurant.

So what about the 4 rather than 5 stars? Well - quite simply - the restaurant is not great, in fact I'd say it is vastly over-rated. I have posted a seprate review about it (its called Zincbar by the way) - so I'll not add all my comments about it in here, but it was a real let-down given how great the rest of the hotel is.

Room Tip: I asked for a room facing the street on an upper floor (iahte beig at eth back of hotels where you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We thank you for your recommendations to other travellers and your comments on Tripadvisor. It is very important for us to know what we can do to make further improvements here at the hotel. Our restaurant has a simple cuisine made with fresh seasonal products. We attach particular importance to the wines which accompany the dishes; these come from different parts of Catalonia, especially from Penedès and Empordà. Once again, thank you for your comments: we will take them strongly into consideration. Warmest regards from all the team at Villa Emilia hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,422
    632
    109
    22
    16
See reviews for
252
1,388
58
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a very nice boutique style hotel. Front desk staff are very polite and helpful.
Rooms are decent and clean, not much of a view but in a quieter area.

We booked thinking we were in the La Ramblas area but it is actually about a 30-45min walk to that busy district. In hindsight, we were glad that we were not right in the middle of the busy, busy tourist area, although we went there almost day. It takes a day or so to figure out where all the main sites are but after a couple of days (and also renting a vesp for 24 hrs), we got to learn the metro system quite well. The metro station (Rocefort) is only a 2 min.walk from the hotel on Gran Via. It is very handy. It took about 20 min (with one transfer) to get to Sagrada Familia.

Again, we did like the fact that this hotel is not in the loud areas. It foreced us to do a fair bit of walking but we enjoyed that part. It is about 45 min walk from Gothic quarter and Born area. Check out Metro options or cab if you do not enjoy walking.

Top deck is nice to unwind after a long day of sightseeing too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We opted for the Villa Emilia because it was close to the city centre, and was not outrageously priced. The rooms were beautiful - great decor, very clean, and very comfortable. The hotel is super close to the subway lines, so it was very convenient to get around the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights arriving on the first morning at 11am. I asked if we could check in early and, as a room had just been serviced, reception were happy to accommodate my request. Although we did not make use of the hotel facilities as much as I would have liked we found our room clean, comfortable and well appointed. Yes, maybe a little small but we did not go to Barcelona to sit in our room all day / evening. All the staff were exceptionally helpful. Just ask!

We found the location perfect for us. I have been to Barcelona before and stayed in a hotel on Las Ramblas, which was extremely noisy at night, Villa Emilia was refreshingly quiet in comparison. It is a bit of a trek to the more touristy areas but the hotel does not hide this. For those that cannot manage the 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas there is metro station close by.

We hired a moped for the duration of our stay which was great fun but definitely not for the faint hearted (hired from Sants train station)! Go for it like a local and you should be OK. Road layout is a little tricky until you get used to the ‘gird system’.

My partner had mild food poisoning on our last evening (not from food in the hotel) and was too ill to leave the room at check out the next morning. Even though they were full I was able to negotiate staying in the room until 4pm. We stayed around the hotel areas until departure to the airport at 7pm. Throughout this time the staff were helpful and concerned for my partner without being intrusive, looking after us as much as they were able to until we left for the airport. Gracias Villa Emilia por su amabilidad y comprensión cuando mi compañero estaba enfermo.

I highly recommend this wonderful hotel and will stay here again when I next visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We choose to stay at this hotel on our last night before flying out because it is close the the Aerobus stop (only 5.9 EUR ) and the price was reasonable compared to similar hotels. It has nice amenities and a great roof-top deck. There is a wonderful cafe around the corner (Copasetic), grocery store on the next block and quick access to the metro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dericsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Villa Emilia hotel for your last night before flying out. Probably next time you come back to Barcelona you will have more days to enjoy and stay at our hotel. We hope to see you soon again. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
348 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Not a great welcome on arrival . Room was nice and comfortable , bathroom was stylish with plenty of mirrors , toiletries and a hair drier. The shower was good but it had no door at the end and the water kept splashing on the floor tiles that became very slippery and dangerous .(I would advice that a curtain be put there). It would have been good to have a tea/coffee making facility on the room. Very nice to be able to go to the bar on the terrace to relax and chill out with a glass of wine. Position of the hotel is good as not very far from the center.

Room Tip: Bring with you a traveling kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyonelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for describing all those aspects that you found interesting during your stay here at Villa Emilia hotel. Concerning the shower we would like to note that it has a modern and open design. Position of the hotel is good to explore Barcelona, either on foot or by public transport. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and to welcome again in our hotel in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at Emilia for three nights while attending a conference in Barcelona. The hotel was very nice and I enjoyed my stay there. The staff was helpful and nice. Location was ok, being in close proximity of a subway station and an Aerobus stop. Free wifi is always appreciated.

I didn't pre-book the breakfast online because I thought it was a bit pricey (19 euros/night), which was good because when I arrived at the hotel the price was 14 euros per day, or even 10 euros per day (!) if I had breakfast there every day of my stay, which I decided to do. Breakfast was very tasty and fresh, and I can really recommend it (just don't pre-book it!). Dinner at the Zinc bar wasn't great, especially the a la carte which was quite a disappointment (very bland). The staff at the bar was nice though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your recommendations to others travellers and for describing some details about your stay at Villa Emilia hotel. We truly appreciate your comments about our staff, location and breakfast. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had in relation to the Zinc Bar’s offer. It is very important for us to know your impressions to improve in the future. We send you our warmest regards from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing