We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #38 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel over the weekend and it was perfect. In a quite spot only a 15minute walk to the main square where all the tourist buses stopped.
The staff were amazing so attentive and I really liked the rooftop terrace for afternoon drinks

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
It is really nice to read a review from someone who stayed with us and spent great time. Thank you for noting the good location and other aspects of the hotel that you found interesting during your stay. We send you the sunniest and warmest of regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    640
    115
    22
    16
See reviews for
273
1,421
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a small boutique hotel in a residential area of Barcelona. It's far enough from the beaten track to be a great place to walk and explore and close enough that you're near any transportation you want to take to see all the sites.

The rooms are quite small but well equipped. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. The rooftop lounge was a beautiful place to go to overlook the neighbourhood, have a refreshment and relax before dinner. They have a two hour refreshment table for the guests to partake which is a nice touch.

Internet isn't very strong so we had difficulty sending emails. The people working the front desk were warm and friendly and so helpful! We will definitely go back again! It's a great find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks a million for your extensive review of the hotel. We are very happy that Villa Emilia remains your choice when you come back to Barcelona. Concerning the rooms, they have a standard size, between 23 and 27 m2. It is true that we don’t have Junior Suites or Suites. However, we can say that in Barcelona standard rooms are typically larger compared with what is considered normal in most European destinations. We inform you that after taking into account the recommendations from our guests we have improved the quality from our WIFI and we have migrated from ADSL to Optical fiber. However, we will review this issue again to provide better service in the future. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was nice and was conveniently located (close to most attractions). The roof terrace and the view was beautiful and peaceful. Only downfall was the bed we got wasn't what we asked for -we got to single beds put together instead of a Queens size bed. Also the bath towels were not changed that frequently. But overall, great stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jashmin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a modern hotel with small but comfortable rooms, great service, and a lovely roof terrace. It is located in a quiet mixed neighborhood one block from the metro. There are nearby shops to buy yogurt, fruit, wine etc. for breakfasts and snacks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasnhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your opinion and impressions about Villa Emilia hotel. The hotel is in a good location for either walking or catching the Metro (Rocafort station is just around the corner), with really nice restaurants and shops nearby. We hope to see you soon in near future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and we were both really impressed with almost everything about the place. The staff in reception are really helpful and courteous, the receoption area itself is quirky and contemporary (and smells lovely all the time), the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, The bathroom was really lovely and spacious. The free wi-fi was a real bonus. The position... well although it's not in a great area, neither is it in a bad one, and as it is within just 2 minutes walk of Rocafort metro, it means that it is really central and handy for getting all around the city. The roof top bar is great - open, comfortable and a real suntrap - although the service can be a bit slow so once you get a waiter up there, its sensible to get him or her to get as much stuff for you as possible as it may be a while before they next re-emerge from the ground floor bar/restaurant.

So what about the 4 rather than 5 stars? Well - quite simply - the restaurant is not great, in fact I'd say it is vastly over-rated. I have posted a seprate review about it (its called Zincbar by the way) - so I'll not add all my comments about it in here, but it was a real let-down given how great the rest of the hotel is.

Room Tip: I asked for a room facing the street on an upper floor (iahte beig at eth back of hotels where you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We thank you for your recommendations to other travellers and your comments on Tripadvisor. It is very important for us to know what we can do to make further improvements here at the hotel. Our restaurant has a simple cuisine made with fresh seasonal products. We attach particular importance to the wines which accompany the dishes; these come from different parts of Catalonia, especially from Penedès and Empordà. Once again, thank you for your comments: we will take them strongly into consideration. Warmest regards from all the team at Villa Emilia hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a very nice boutique style hotel. Front desk staff are very polite and helpful.
Rooms are decent and clean, not much of a view but in a quieter area.

We booked thinking we were in the La Ramblas area but it is actually about a 30-45min walk to that busy district. In hindsight, we were glad that we were not right in the middle of the busy, busy tourist area, although we went there almost day. It takes a day or so to figure out where all the main sites are but after a couple of days (and also renting a vesp for 24 hrs), we got to learn the metro system quite well. The metro station (Rocefort) is only a 2 min.walk from the hotel on Gran Via. It is very handy. It took about 20 min (with one transfer) to get to Sagrada Familia.

Again, we did like the fact that this hotel is not in the loud areas. It foreced us to do a fair bit of walking but we enjoyed that part. It is about 45 min walk from Gothic quarter and Born area. Check out Metro options or cab if you do not enjoy walking.

Top deck is nice to unwind after a long day of sightseeing too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We opted for the Villa Emilia because it was close to the city centre, and was not outrageously priced. The rooms were beautiful - great decor, very clean, and very comfortable. The hotel is super close to the subway lines, so it was very convenient to get around the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,924 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
3,118 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
310 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
702 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Property: Hotel Villa Emilia
Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing