We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my expectations”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #38 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
TURKEY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than my expectations”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The Hotel located centrally, near to attractions, quiet, near to public transport with a high quality of service and good restaurant. Everything you would like to have during a journey are available at the hotel. I would stay again and advise to everbody looking for a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyahat_sever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    638
    112
    22
    16
See reviews for
267
1,414
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I had a very annoying experience here.

I had booked the hotel in August and had email conversation with staff about getting a room with a good view - which was confirmed. When we arrived in October they had since then taken a group booking, overbooked the hotel and moved us to another lesser hotel for one night. It was one of the worst starts to a holiday I have had. If the replacement hotel had been nice I could have got over it, but it wasn't. So I can't recommend this place even though I have to admit is was otherwise very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jjwwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

The hotel is on the small side, but the rooms are large enough. Do not expect any type of view. The veiw I had was awful. But do not miss the breakfast here!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed here for two days in late 2009--one day before and one day after a cruise. The room was fine, except for an extremely eccentric shower that sent water onto the bathroom floor no matter what you did. The staff were all extraordinarily helpful and generous. Free internet in business center and a wonderful free coffee hour every afternoon with pastries. Metro stop nearby makes travel to any part of Barcelona pretty easy. Plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes, and convenience stores in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornTooLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Zen-like room with a large, modern bath. The Zinc Bar in the lobby is welcoming and the rooftop bar is tropical and relaxing. Everyone who worked in Villa Emilia was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

This hotel is a great value for your money! The rooms and common areas are stylishly decorated, and the bar is fantastic. Great spot for a tasty cocktail. My only complaint is that the concierge were not very helpful. When we asked for restaurant or tapas suggestions, they pushed eateries they had flyers for.... The type of places that offer a free glass of sherry with dinner, which was definitely not what we were looking for. We referenced our guide books and fared well! Aside from that, the hotel was superb and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnainnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I know it's all been said before - I'll say it again though, this hotel is perfect for a city break.

Foyer and hotel in general - great atmosphere funky vibe. Rooms - modern clean and comfortable. Staff - very helpful and genuinely warm people. Location - nice and quiet with enough shops and cafes just steps away - not a threatening area with metro station at the end of the street (5 mins to top of La Ramblas and the madness). Breakfast - superb, all you could want for and more.

We stayed with our young daughter and got a triple room by contacting the hotel as suggested on their web booking form - inc breakfast a very reasonable rate for what you get. Free wi-fi kept my Ipod touch connected to the net at all times in the room - also free safe in the room. No kettle if you fancy a cuppa so take your own. Had lunch in the Zinc restaurant, very nice - didn't use the late afternoon coffee break but sounds good, we were just too busy out and about

And you might get to meet nice Australians - we did. (Hope the rest of your trip was less eventful)

All in all a fantastic little hotel that comes highly recommended. While it's not related specifically to the hotel I will add that Barcelona demands that you keep on your guard - have a look at the forum for good advice and have a great break at the Villa Emilia.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,091 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#12 of 512 in Barcelona
697 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Property: Hotel Villa Emilia
Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing