We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but logistics can be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #170 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ettlingen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel but logistics can be improved”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It was a breath taking experience when i arrived at the hotel, very good location on one of the hills of Barcelona, the view is ok, but on the right side you see the habour whish is not so nice with all the containers. My biggest surprise was the logistics and how they handle there room reservatuion, three of my colleagues had trouibles with the room, 2 lost the room without even mentioning or asking if the people would show up( we had big function going on with more than 30 rooms) 2 of my colleagues were evn asked to share as of the second night the room for giving this to other people, what a bad way of taking care of clients. The 5 stars are surely not deserved!

Room Tip: Breakfast only opens at 7.30am, too late for business people and meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mr. Fabian L,

First of all we apologize for the inconveniences that this caused to the costumers affected. It is true that we had to ask two guests to share one room (only for the first night) and also to move other guest to another 5 star hotel, but previously , we ask the organizer of the event if we could do it and the meeting planner, that was extremely helpful, accepted to do it. One again we do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    261
    71
    48
    56
See reviews for
128
541
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Fantastic position. As the other reviewers have said - you have to get a taxi back or walk up the hill - I did the latter and felt virtuous. Breakfast good but not excellent. Beware slippery floor on exiting shower - and a vicious modernistic extension to the end of the bed (one injured shin). Recommended as long as you know about the location (quiet, but accessibility not great for pure walkers). Rather expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3HappyTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much "3HappyTraveller3" for your review! We really appreciate your opinion and we are truly grateful that you shared your experience with us!
We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We chose this hotel because we (correctly) anticipated a hectic cruise, and we immensely enjoyed the peaceful location, and the boutique feel to this hotel. When we go to NYC, for example, we like the Ritz in Battery Park - well away from the hectic pace of the Theatre District. If that's you too, then you might enjoy this hotel. The hop-on-hop-off bus is just out front of the hotel so if you buy a one or two day pass, it can save you from walking up and down the hill (the hotel can sell you these at a slight discount); otherwise, a E10-15 taxi is needed to/fro Las Ramblas. There were some issues: we had a flood in our bathroom area (which is open to the bedroom, so if you need to go in the middle of the night, your other half will hear you). The flood got fixed, but it was a hassle to deal with. Also, the steam room and sauna were both broken. Not so good for a 5-star. The pools also look old, but they were pleasant to swim in. The room service was awesome - nice presentations, and generous quantities. Pianist in the evenings was amazing. Beds extremely comfortable and very large (at least king size like those in USA/Canada). [Management somewhat made up for the issues but....... I left a flip flop sandal in my room by mistake and when I got home and emailed the hotel, they said it would cost E31 to mail to Canada......]

Room Tip: Absolutely don't get a room facing the back of the hotel - no view and noisy. If you intend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraTsingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review about our property and your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoy your experience with us and Sebastian, the pianist, made you have a great time at out lobby bar.
On the other side, we would like to apologize for the maintenance problems that you had during your stay .. Thank you again for bringing this under our attention. We would be honored if you chose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great location although always a taxi ride away from anything but more on that later. The rooms were fabulous, light and airy, sea view, good size bed and all the extras you might expect from a five star hotel. Food was pretty good although we found it repetitive having stayed there for nine nights plus it was a little on the expensive side. Service was mostly ok but the shining lights were the hotel receptionists and management who were very attentive and always eager to please. Regarding the taxis, beware they always try to rip you off but at least I got fifteen Euros back thanks to the hotel staffs efforts in getting the taxi driver back to give me the money he stole from me in excess fare. Overall would go back again so that in itself should give it the fifth star treatment.

Room Tip: Always pay the extra and get a sea view, its definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona and for writing such a nice review about your stay. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Miramar, even we the unfortunate situation with the taxi driver. Our goal is to ensure that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay so we are glad to read that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you back on your next visit to Barcelona, and hopefully you can stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have spent some days in this hotel with my colleagues for our yearly offsite event. This hotel is great! beautiful rooms with a great view. very friendly staff, flexible service, great and fast wifi connection (very uncomplicated in comparison to other hotels). The breakfast buffet doesn't only look awesome but it tastes very good. Everything done very well and with an eye for detail. Check-in area looks like a comfortable living-room. You can sit down instead and relax while the check-in is done very quickly - better than checking-in standing at a counter. Great spa as well! I can really recommend this hotel for vacation as well as for a business event with small groups. Would love to stay here again..

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
First of all I would like to thank you "Adriana V" for your great comments about the hotel. It is inspiring to read that you liked our hotel and that you mentioned the great service delivered by our staff. Comments like yours are inspiring for all the members of our team and stimulate us to improve the service every day!

We hope to see you soon in your next visit to Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent four nights here at the beginning of August 2013 and it was fabulous. Initial confusion about our room booking was sorted very quickly by the staff and we never looked back. The room was on the 5th floor with an amazing view over Barcelona city and port and a lovely balcony to watch the world go by. The pool was small but perfect at the end of a hot day of sightseeing. Being on the hill, although a short cab ride back at the end of the day, was perfect to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor, corner room, for the best views of both city and port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddyat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much "Buddyat24" for your great review! We really appreciate your opinion and we are truly grateful that you shared your experience with us!
We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Barcelona. The Hotel Miramar staff will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spent a long weekend with my girlfriend here in June. Upon arrival it was clear that the hotel was going to be something else and it didn't disappoint. At check in there was a slight confusion on which room I was to be allocated as I had requested a certain type which wasn't originally given. The staff handled this and in no time we was changed to another room (101) which was everything I could have asked for. Many people had complained about the location of the hotel I had noticed but found myself that the location could not have been better. The views are breathtaking overlooking the harbour and it takes a 5 minute walk to get into the heart of the city. We choose to get taxis which where relatively reasonable and perfect for going there and back. The pools, both indoor and outdoor, where fantastic. As well as the spa and gym facilities.

Overall this hotel is fantastic and definitely one I would recommend. What really made our stay special was the member of staff at the front desk Paula! Every problem or question I had, she was always willing to help and always went out of her way. She helped in sorting out our room and making sure everything was perfect for our stay. At dinner time, I went to her for advice on places to eat and she always made it her business to help and make reservations for us on the places she suggested. It was no surprise that the places we went where exceptional!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I hope to get back in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1938582010938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for your amazing review! We really appreciate your opinion and we are truly grateful that you shared your experience with us!
We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Barcelona. The Hotel Miramar staff will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
2,196 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Gran Hotel La Florida
#204 of 513 in Barcelona
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,435 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,768 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Property: Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing