We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with fabulous views but there's a BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #115 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel, the bedroom and facilities are amazing. Really beautiful and top class.
However, there are a few downsides to the hotel.
First of all the price of food there is ridiculous! There was no way we were going to eat in the hotel when there are so many wonderful restaurants to eat in, at far better value.
Secondly, while the views are wonderful, it is a bit out of town and up a very steep hill. If you're touring all day it's the last thing you want to see!
That brings me in to my final point, if you are going on holiday to Barcelona, which I highly recommend, you won't be spending very much time in the hotel, there is so much to see and do that a more central and reasonably priced hotel may be more suitable. No point paying for amazing facilities if you're not going to use them. Barcelona isn't the place you go to sit by a hotel pool for a week.
But the hotel is stunning, the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and the breakfast was very nice!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DPOSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank "DPOSull"you for choosing Hotel Miramar for your stay in Barcelona! We really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and the service provided.
We wish you all the best and we hope to welcome you again here at Hotel Miramar Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Amazing 5 Star luxury in a perfect location with 5 star service. We stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary. We honestly could not fault anything about the hotel and service. The staff couldn't be more helpful especially Mark on Reception who organised most of our trips and sightseeing expeditions!! The hotel setting is breath-taking as it is on the top of a hill overlooking the whole of Barcelona, The location is great, perfect for us and not too far away from most of the sights. you can get a taxi, cable car, bus or metro from the hotel very easily and it only takes 10-15 minutes to walk down. The city of Barcelona is an absolute Gem, so much to see and do and culture at every turn and obviously the Gaudi influence is all around. Must see sights are the Sagrada Familia, Park Guell , Art museum near the Olympic stadium and try and see a match if you can at FCB. Oh and the Beach and harbour area are stunning.

Room Tip: Our room was 415 It was a suite with a balcony on the 4th floor overlooking the front entrance to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you very much "Sheri 1864" for your amazing review! We really appreciate your opinion and we are truly grateful that you shared your experience with us!
We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Barcelona. The Hotel Miramar staff will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice hotel and very clean, staff lack interest in customers, look down there nose at us, might have been because we were British!
Lovely big room and bed nice, a good 15 min walk down hill to Las Ramblas and a long walk back up the hill, not a place to go if your on a budget, my mistake, even coffee in the foyer was expensive, but walk down the hill and lots nice cafes and bars to choose from and take a taxi back, lol.
Ended up using as a base and walk and ate out, if I win the lottery will be back.
The view was great to the harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you "ADWGlasgow" for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the service provided was not as expected. Guests from all nationalities vist us and our goal is to ensure that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay no matter what country are they coming from.

We hope to see you soon in your next visit to Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel has got to be one of the best. Booked through Expedia, just check if breakfast included because you don't want to miss it. The location is the best a short distance from the centre by taxi which are v cheap at night in the daytime walk. Panoramic view of the city. Do not be put off by the entrance, you think you are arriving in an industrial zone. Persevere, food excellent, staff helpful, positive, dedicated to achieving results to please. Rooms we were in a premium room. Lovely, spacious well decorated fine fitments v comfy bed. Highly recommend. Quiet but welcoming and homely you feel really comfortable here, donor hesitate. A short walk to the Miro museum and national museum, which has spectacular views, tourist open top bus literally two minutes from the hotel. Do it you will not regret it. Wonderful would come back again. Thanks to the staff at the Spa, really very good, helped my back ache!

Room Tip: We had a premium room with a sea view. Corner suites slightly bigger but view may be compromised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truds5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you "Truds5456" very much for your amazing review! We really appreciate your opinion and we are truly grateful that you shared your experience with us!
We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Barcelona. The Hotel Miramar staff will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good modern hotel. Overwhelming perfumy smell in the lobby. Staff very willing to chat & friendly but absolutely no good for advice re trips out or anything like that. Recommended a restaurant for our last night but didn't tell us it was truly 5 mins walk away and let us take a taxi. No pamphlets around on anything you might like to see. Had to take taxis all the time and prices vary. Some added a supplement some didn't. No tea or coffee in the rooms. Breakfast very expensive tho' you can have an 'express' continental breakfast which is good value. Also there is a good (+ value)bar menu if you don wish to eat in the very expensive restaurant.Shooting gallery next door. Air conditioning iffy. Rooms not done till late in the day.

Room Tip: Do not have a room overlooking the entrance as the shooting gallery is right opposite and non stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777toot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you "777tot" for selecting our hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona and for writing a review about your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. Our apologies if the location of the restaurant was not provided at the time to do the table reservation.
Regarding the price of the taxis, varies depending where is the taxi coming from. If it comes from the city centre it is a surcharge but if the taxi it is in the taxi station, in front of the hotel, there is no extra charge.

Again our apologies, and we would be very grateful if you would choose us again for a change to improve your experience compared with your previous stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Must agree to those who claims that the main asset of this hotel is View. I got my room on the first floor - room was big and specious and the balcony even bigger, maybe even I got some premium room? View from my room was on seaside - the best ! Room was well equipped, everything that you could expect from pure 5* hotel.
Breakfast was good, i missed fish. There are plenty of fresh juices and even wine, and champagne :).

One thing that i did not like, was the quality of water - chlorine amount in water, my eyes were red from it :(, but i think that there is nothing to do with hotel, most likely local purification company is using this method.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITexperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Greetings from Barcelona! Thank you "ITExperts"for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the time with us!
Regarding the information provided about the wáter chlorine, we will inform the Maintenance Manager to look into it. Again thank you very much for such a good review and we will be looking forward to host you again during your next visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel almost a year ago, when X-games was in Barcelona. (Sorry...a little late on the review)

Absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed on the 4th floor in a corner room, that had impressive view of the sea, and the city, with an extra large balcony to take advantage of it.

The hotel is in a great location if you need to be near the olympic stadium, or just don't want to be right downtown in the hustle and bustle of things. It is located on the 'hop-on, hop-off" bus tours which makes it very convenient.

The staff was very nice and the grounds are beautiful. There are amazing gardens off to the side of the hotel that wind all the way down to the sea that you can walk in or go running.

Breakfast was great, with options for everyone including American style breakfast, as well as European.

When we return to Barcelona, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner room so you can get a sea and city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandtraveler082810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you "islanstra", is never late for such a great comment. It is really nice to read that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Barcelona. The Hotel Miramar staff will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#184 of 516 in Barcelona
2,304 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#120 of 516 in Barcelona
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel La Florida
#203 of 516 in Barcelona
1,226 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#117 of 516 in Barcelona
989 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#158 of 516 in Barcelona
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £135 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing