We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Hostal Mont-Thabor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Mont-Thabor
Ranked #573 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Hello !

Firstly I would like to say that i'm not some lunatic that expects perfection for little money . I have travelled extensively throughout the world with little to complain about anywhere . The problem I have here is in relation to the staff more so than the actual hostel itself . The rooms are small but clean . The room didn't have hot water for a few days and we had to ask for towels and toilet roll each time we required more which wasn't any big deal . The first real problem we encountered was when we required a second key . We were asked for 15 euro for the key and told we would have to give it back when we leave in a week . On leaving for our flight the guy behind the desk demanded the key back !! Basically turned into a big argument that resulted in me keeping the key and him being quite irate . The second problem was the same guy trying to screw us over for the taxi trip back to the airport . The staff member tells us that only special taxis go to the airport and he will have to book one for us otherwise we will not make our flight ! Any taxi in Barcelona will bring you to the airport this is common knowledge . He bangs our door down at 8 the next morning telling us to get up and have a shower that the taxi he has booked without our consent is outside . We think sure we'll just get it and if he trys to rip us off we just won't pay !! I asked before the taxi trip how much to be told 40 euro ( we paid 20 to get there on arrival ) ....... To be honest in hindsight i'm surprised these guys weren't robbing our rooms.. Pick any other cheap place but not this one ! absolute dump....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gunsnroses180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2008

I was amused by the first review by scred1006. But we tried it.
All I can say, he was right and he did not tell anything wrong.
The first night we woke up at 1.30 a.m. when we were sleeping very deep. Water dropped from the ceiling into our bed and it increased. We went down to wake up the receptionist who was sleeping on the couch. He looked at the problem and stated that a waterpipe in the ceiling was broken. In the meanwhile we took our things out of the room and water was some centimeters high and took its way to the corridor. After 20 minutes the pipe was looked and the water stopped. It took another 30 minutes to clean all the water up. We asked for another room, but he said, he was booked fully out and it was only possible for the next 2 nights. The matrasse was soken wet and he flipped it and gave us new sheets. So we had to sleep in a wet bed for the rest of the night. While waiting the 50 minutes in the corridor, we saw several ladies with or without customers coming and leaving. At 11 a.m. we could switch to another room which was dry.
This is really true and a kind of adventure.
Still it is a cheap and central place in Barcelona ... all you need is luck.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strangealien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Laure L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marcy_souza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marinachka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Llum1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 517 in Barcelona
1,692 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 739 in Barcelona
1,617 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 739 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mont-Thabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mont-Thabor

Address: Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £21 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Mont-Thabor 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Mont-Thabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mont-Thabor Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Mont-Thabor Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing