We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price you pay”
Review of Hostal Baires

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Baires
Ranked #605 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“Ok for the price you pay”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Hostel is located 2-3 minutes from La Rambla and Port Vell and it is its biggest advantage. However if you are looking for outstanding quality, you can be disappointed. It is clean inside the room and in the bathroom and you could expect cleaning service everyday. From that point of view everything is ok. However you should take into consideration the fact the hostel is in the neighbourhood of few bars which are open late in the evening and because of it you could hear some noise from outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kubala1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    39
    26
    35
See reviews for
13
61
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The only one good thing about this hostal is its location. The entrance is not very welcoming at all.Cimbing the stone stairs to reception with 4 suitcases was not an easy task.Then we were shown our doubleroom with own bathroom (i booked this as i had looked at the professional photos) what a disapointment! The windowpane was broken and it didn't close or lock. a very rickaty wardrobe, small bathroom. Was only there for 2 nights so didn't unpack. Breakfast was cold tea / coffee, packet toast / cake. Could not wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily60Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Wales
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Wanted cheap accommodation in a convenient location for our weekend city break and Hostal Baires was ideal. Booked a double (two single beds pushed together) ensuite and got a room with a balcony, which was great to sit out on with a beer watching the world go by. The room was basic, but spacious, very clean and the shower was fab. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with info about directions and the best was to get around the city, and there was a basic breakfast - coffee, cereals, cake and crisp toasts with jams and cheese thrown in for free! The beach, harbour, Las Ramblas and touristy bits all within easy walking distance. Great - would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony was great for sitting out on to watch the world go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hostal Baires is great value for money as long as you know what you are letting yourself in for. Communal toilet, no tv, basic breakfast, noisy environment etc. Being in the gothic quarter of barcelona for £50 a night between two of you kind of cancels out any minor problems in my opinion, the staff are friendly and helpful and cover the front desk from early in the morning to midnight, there is internet access for a Euro for half an hour in the dining area, there is a machine that sells soft drinks and water and BEER for a Euro, which was an added bonus. Calle Avinyo is lively, full of bars, cafes, and shops so bring ear plugs if you want an early night, and be careful if you are walking to La Rambla nearby in the dark, as there are one or two suspicious characters around, as long as you keep your wits about you, you will be fine however. My girlfriend and I took one look at the breakfast and decided against it, but it may be to others taste and there was tea, coffee and juice if nothing else takes your fancy. Would return but for no more than 2 nights, that is not to say that others may not want to, just our personal taste.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian837716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The location of this hostel couldn't have been better. Right on a main vein inside the Barrio Gotic, easy to navigate to, close walking distance to the beach and just a few twists and turns to La Rambla or in the other direction, the 'Born neighbourhood' and about 10 mins up to Plaza Catalunya. It was basic, however the price was really a steal to have a private double room in that location, and the place was clean during our stay. Breakfast was included, basic and of course a bit lame, but what hostel breakfast isn't? Wash down a cup of joe with a few muffins and head to the La Boqueria Mercado de San Jose to get the good stuff! Around the corner on the next street is Green Bikes, they have the cheapest rental, 10€ for the whole day! And if you're tired of all that jamon and need a good vegetarian meal, Vegetalia cafe is the next street up on the left.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are fun but bring your earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4eeBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I went to Barcelona with a friend in May 2011 to attend Primavera Live Festival. We found this hostel and we thought the location was great and the price too. The location is indeed great, but everything else sucks: the rooms are renewed but still kind of old. Our was stinky. Breakfast was actuallt ok for the price we paid. The man at the reception during the night hours was pretty unfriendly, but Miguel, the one during the day, was really nice. Bathroom are new and decent. Bedsheets were clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martibiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and expected it to be basic going on the reviews. We decided to go ahead with the booking as we were visiting Barca with friends and figured we only needed a bed. These were our main observations good and bad:
*We had a room without a bathroom but did have a sink, the tap did not work and although we asked for it to be looked at and fixed we never had running water which was frustrating as the bathrooms were also not great.
*The shelves in wardrobe were broken.
*The blinds were broken so getting light in the room was minimal as they would only go up halfway.
*Of two bedside lights one was broken and would not work.
*In all the shared bathrooms the shower holder was broken so you had to hold the shower head.
*Generally the rooms were really shabby and some of the blankets had burn holes in. *Towels were supposedly changed every 2nd day although ours were the same for 4 days.
*Be warned walls are very, very thin! Take earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
On the positive it was cheap - although our friends were staying 30 secs down the road and their accommodation was fantastic and not much more per person.
The location is second to none, in the heart of Gotic and close to the beach. There are however plenty of hostels also in the same area. The staff were friendly enough - but never fixed our tap!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellzzer3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#476 of 513 in Barcelona
140 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#385 of 513 in Barcelona
261 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Nou Raval
Hostal Nou Raval
#530 of 728 in Barcelona
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Drassanes
Hostal Drassanes
#498 of 728 in Barcelona
70 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Blue Hostel Barcelona
Blue Hostel Barcelona
#635 of 728 in Barcelona
93 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Europa
Hostal Europa
#303 of 728 in Barcelona
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Baires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Baires

Property: Hostal Baires
Address: Calle Avinyo, 37 Principal | Principal Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Baires 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Baires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Baires Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Baires Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing