We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Barcelona!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Ranked #121 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in Barcelona!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in August 2012. This hotel is situated quite far out of the centre of Barcelona, however has excellent transport links to the city. The Hospital de Bellvitge metro station is 2 minutes walk away and has regular trains (when they work, or don’t randomly change direction in the middle of travelling!) to the centre of Barcelona. It cost us about 30 Euros for a 5 day travel card.

The hotel has an impressive lobby and check in was quick and easy. Our room was a good size and came with twin beds, flat screen TV on which we could get BBC1, automatic curtains, lots of plug sockets, minibar, hair dryer and a few free toiletries. The bathroom was also an excellent size and the shower was superb, though did leak quite a bit onto the floor. As the weather was very hot and sunny the air conditioning was also great, though it did break down mid-week but was sorted by the hotel by the time we returned to our room in the evening.

The view from our hotel room was great, we were looking across to the airport, but the other side of the hotel looks towards the city. There was very little traffic noise through the windows which was good for sleeping well.

Breakfast at the hotel is very expensive, so we brought some essentials from the local superstore which is about 5 minutes walk away. There isn’t much else in the area to explore though.

While we were staying there, the elevators did break down. They were fixed within a day, and the hotel was allowing people to use the staff / service lifts. At first we didn’t realise this as the maid on our corridor directed us to walk down 16 flights of fire escape stairs!

Overall this is an excellent hotel for tourists visiting Barcelona as long as you are prepared to use the metro at the start and end of each day. It cost us 20 Euros to get a taxi from the airport to the hotel as this was the minimum charge. Returning to the airport cost us 17.50 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GyroscopeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    862
    244
    102
    50
See reviews for
259
1,243
87
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregón, EEUU
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

when we checked in, they assigned us a room and told us we had a great city view. we went to the room as instructed. the keys did not work. since this happens with electronic keys from time to time, we figured it was no big deal, and went back down to get new keys. the person behind the reception desk instead told me i must be doing it wrong and gave me a lecture about how to do it correctly in front of everyone. i insisted that i knew how to do it correctly, and that she re-do the keys. she did that. i took the keys up to the room again, and it still didn't work. i went down again, and she re-did them again. i went back up, and this time it worked--i managed to open the door, ONLY TO FIND THAT THE ROOM WAS ALREADY OCCUPIED!!!! I apologized to the room occupant, and went back down again to the same person. this time she gave me keys to a different room, and, oddly enough, started giving me another lecture and reading the room number very loudly, AS IF SOMEHOW THIS HAD BEEN MY FAULT AND I HAD READ THE ROOM NUMBER INCORRECTLY THE FIRST TIME!!. finally we got into an unoccupied room, which of course was not the city view room we had been promised. we received no consideration for this ridiculous service except for a second helping of three tiny chocolates. any competent hotel would have not had this happen in the first place, or at least comped dinner or something. finally, i asked the bartender where the place to print out boarding passes was. he told me to go around the front desk and continue past it. i did that, only to find that i had entered a private office, where a panicky hotel employee asked me what i was doing there. when i explained what i was looking for he sent me to the right place, which was in the exact opposite direction of where i had previously been sent.

the folks in this place don't have the slightest idea what they're doing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
5 Thank thelastwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed at the Hisperia for a week in August with a friend after getting a last minute deal. My first impression was a vary chic hotel but definitely not a 5* in the traditional sense. We stayed in a standard room which was extremely comfortable, it was pretty much silent, good air conditioning with extremely comfortable beds - I slept a lot better here than at home!
It was the small things that brought the rating down like the TV being temporamental, the shower being a little loose, etc. Overall though the standard of accommodation was very good. Elsewhere the food seemed overpriced - breakfast was 15 Euros if pre-booked the night before or 20 Euros on the day. Room service was extortionate, but I understand that value for money means different things to different people. The complimentary shuttle bus was also pretty much useless - we needed to depart at midday on our last day, the shuttle left at 0900 or 1800 - pointless. On a different note though the transport links were very good - the metro is 5 mins away with a 30 minute ride into town and the bus stop is simililarily close by. Night buses run through the night so you can always get back. The biggest problem I found was that with going into town in the day and then coming back to get showered and changed to go out again we were the doing the return journey twice a day, totaling up about 2 hours on travelling. I think this would be okay for a couple of days but for a week was too much.
OVERALL I can't fault the hotel too much, you get what you pay for but it's a 4* not a 5. When I return to Barcelona, which I most definitely will, I will be looking for somewhere closer to town that can cut down my commuting time!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the town otherwise you will have a view of the port!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hesperia Tower is situated just outside the centre of Barcelona but close to the metro, so it's easy to get around Barcelona. I was travelling with two children, and had a junior suite. It was adequate in size with nice bathrooms. We had access to the executive lounge where we could relax and have breakfast.
There's a choice of 3 restaurants to eat and if you want to treat yourself go to Evo, the spherical Michelin starred restaurant at the top of the building. Great view, great environment, great service and wow what food. . . the best in Barcelona!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Following cruise, spent two nights here. Found hotel excellent in all departments. Standard room very acceptable with queen bed and outstanding bathroom facilities etc. Great value for money. On outskirts of city. Metro 20 mins to city centre. At first glance the housing estate behind the hotel looks bleak, but we found all locals very friendly and helpful although no-one spoke any English. If you don't want a big hotel breakfast (20 euros ) you can get a good selection of croissants, pastries, coffee etc at a little bakery in the precinct (365. Com) for 3 or 4 euros. We arrived late and couldn't be bothered to go into city so found a local tapas bar ( a little further into estate) and some great tapas at really low prices. I think it was called the New world cafe. Loved Barcelona and will return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great hotel for short trips. I stayed with his wife one day. It is convenient to travel by bus from the airport and the city center - on the subway, next to the station. Attentive staff and a varied and rich breakfast. Our DBL room was on the 17th floor and the impressive panorama of the city viewed. Great dignity - free Wi-Fi in the hotel, as well as in the room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, the first 2 nights we were in a standard room which was considerably bigger and more comfortable than any I have seen before. For the final night we upgraded to a suite for 50EUR. It was well worth it. The experience of drinking a bottle of cava in the jaccuzi looking down from the 26th floor at the sunset over Barcelona was unforgettable. The hotel is a bit out of town but easy to get to on the Metro. They also have a very small, very non-regular shuttle bus to the beach, aiport and town centre. Staff are really friendly and helpful, bar area very relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade if you're offered it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
#239 of 513 in Barcelona
447 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,702 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#81 of 513 in Barcelona
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#131 of 513 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Tower

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Barcelona Tower hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Tower, is in Barcelona’s new business and financial district, between the airport and the city center. It’s just minutes from the fairgrounds too. As for the building itself, it’s a real city landmark, complete with a fabulous glass-roof cupola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Tower Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing