We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Ranked #122 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expected more ”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Went here for a weekend got to reception they wanted a credit card I for have one so had to leave a large cash deposit which I was not happy about !! The rooms looked lovely apart from a big crack in one of the mirrors !!! It's also very expensive but the rest was nice untill we came to eat in the restaurant how awful the food was !!! Would not recommend at all !!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    848
    241
    101
    49
See reviews for
255
1,223
87
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I visited this hotel with my Partner as part of a 10-day stay in Barcelona. We decided to take a taxi from the airport, which was a nice short trip from the hotel, but the driver insisted we pay him a minimum fare of 25 euros. The hotel was very impressively decorated, even from the outside. The staff spoke very good English and pleasantly offered my Partner a Hugo Boss sample set (though nothing was offered to me!).

The interior is seriously impressive, a must for people who like modern design. We were given a room facing the city and quite high up. The room was spacious and we had a full length window spanning one side which gave spectacular views, especially at night. The bathroom (which you met as you entered the hotel room) was stylish and had an amazing walk-in shower.

This hotel offers a mini bus service, but if you are like me, i.e. like a lie in and dislike having to follow a timetable on holiday you will find this service not very useful. The nearest metro stop is less than 5 minutes walk away, so I would recommend taking the metro into the city centre instead- eventhough it is roughly a 20/25 minute ride (no changes to Catalunya).

My main issue with this hotel is that if you do not fancy making the journey into the city centre, you are basically stuck with very few shops (e.g. supermarkets) and even fewer local restaurants. The staff were not very helpful in suggesting local places and it can be intimidating exploring yourself, especially after dark, as the area is largely residential and not very well lit.

Finally, if the 'spa' attribute of this hotel is what is making you want to stay then I would say STOP don't be fooled. This Hotel has an attached (but external) gym which is roughly 15 euros to enter. The gym has a swimming pool but this is functional not for relaxing (e.g. you are required to wear a swimming cap) and a health sauna which is heavily used by the locals who come for the gym. It is not a relaxing spa and for the extra money once was enough- definitely a let down as I love my spa getaways!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view as the other side is a let down. Ask for higher floors (unless you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_A_Fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had a look at some reviews on here before I booked this hotel and really worried about the location. It did not affect our day whatsoever and was worthy getting such a beautiful hotel slightly out of town. Only takes 15 minutes on the tube which is very cheap. The hotel is absolutely stunning and the rooms meet these standards too. The bar in the hotel is overpriced but that would be my only negative!! Such brilliant value for money and very close to the airport. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A superb hotel with great amenities.
We were given a room on 21st floor and the hotel had great views. Rooms were big and spacious and my 2 yr old kiddo was also very excited.
The breakfast at the hotel was just amazing with great option for vegetarians and non-vegetarians.
We also bumped into some great football players at the hotel.
The only drawback was that the hotel was too far from the city center and although the hotel provided free shuttle services they usually went full some people had to take a cab or metro services.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JaykumarW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My fiance and I splurged a bit by getting a suite here for the weekend before our Mediterranean cruise. But the cruise ended up being quite a downgrade after staying here. I'm going to be dreaming about this place. There is no way you could ever get a comparable place in Toronto without spending hundreds more per night. The suite was the size of our apartment. It had this enormous jacuzzi, a gigantic walk-in closet, and wall-to-wall windows with a perfect view of the city. The shower had these extra heads that spray directly at your body- I'd never seen anything like them. And then there was the executive lounge, where you could pour yourself a beer or fix yourself a cocktail for free! AND there was the spa, which was this crazy oasis of steam rooms, saunas, hot tubs, etc. And yeah, the hotel is a bit far away from the downtown core, but it's a short walk to a subway station, which connects you to anywhere in Barcelona that you might want to go. Not that we did much of that - we basically spent the whole weekend spa-ing and partying in the hotel! Unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
441 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Above all check where you want to me. If you want to be in the heart of Barcelona this hotel is not for you as it’s located between airport and city so taxis/buses are needed to go anywhere. Few shops around, and almost no dining options but the hotel. Its basically a business park with a massive hospital and uni.

Assuming you are happy with the location (which we were as we’ve been to BCN many times) we found the rooms very comfy, and good value. The hotel is clean, modern and a great place for the business traveller or those on conferences (which make up most of the clientele).

As other reviewers have stated they use the health club next door and charge 14 euros per person for gym/spa/pool access and you need flip flops and a swimming cap. We didn’t mind paying it as it was an amazing facility for a hotel but I could understand people getting annoyed as you kind of expect a free fitness facility in a 5 star hotel – but it didn’t bother us as the facility was excellent.

Again, as others have stated dining options are just hotel based other than a small café around the corner that opens for lunch. We have no problem paying hotel food prices and we found the hotel food excellent BUT the variety was lacking and few ‘basic’ options were available. All the food had ‘flair’ but sometimes you just want the basics and these weren’t available. It was fine dining or nothing. That said, all the food was excellent.

We enjoyed our stay very much, and we would return but I can see many reasons why others may want to double check what you want out of a hotel before they book here as it wouldn’t suit everyone.

Finally, there were quite a few service elements which could be improved. Housekeeping missing certain things each day, leaving a dirty wet cloth on the bed, phones going unanswered etc. Nothing major, but left us wanting more in the service area.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade at reception for a Junior Suite - excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Perfect hotel close to the airport. Possibility to go to the center with the hotelbus. Close to the metro station.
Wonderfull rooms. Top roof restaurant with a sight over Barcelona. Perfect breakfast.
Helpfull frontoffice people.
Hotel to keep in mind for a stay in Barcelona as well on holiday as for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
#223 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#130 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#157 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Tower

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Barcelona Tower hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Tower, is in Barcelona’s new business and financial district, between the airport and the city center. It’s just minutes from the fairgrounds too. As for the building itself, it’s a real city landmark, complete with a fabulous glass-roof cupola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Tower Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing