We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extortionate doesn't even cover it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Ranked #131 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked this trip for myself and my partner's anniversary, having been to Barcelona previously, I knew it was a particularly expensive city to visit, so I was prepared :)

Upon arrival, we were instantly disappointed with the location of the Hesperia, as it seemed to be surrounded by huge tower blocks of flats, with no restaurants, bars, or visible shops. Having read previous trip advisor reviews, I was aware that there wasn't much around, but I was surprised at just how desolate the area seemed - especially as the University was just next door.

Regardless, inside the building was very modern and pretty, with a spacious seating area and helpful bi-lingual members of staff on reception. Check in was effortless, and we were in our room within 5 minutes. First thing to note, was how dimly lighted the bathroom was (although it added to the modern decor, it did make it particularly difficult to initially find things).

I'm not sure about anyone else, but i'm not particularly keen on going to the toilet with the door open if my partner is around... or at all actually; well guess what, you get no choice! Nothing in the bathroom has a lock, the doors just have to be pulled into place, and because everything is covered in mirrors, you get a fabulous view of yourself every time you pull your pants down. Although we found this mildly amusing, it was still a bit disconcerting that you got to see/hear everything your partner was up to in the bathroom.

The bed was no where near as comfortable as other 5* hotel beds i've stayed in, with the mattress being quite hard, and the headboard/wall being an odd velour material (felt a bit like a cheap adult movie room).

The mini bar and chocolate etc. 7 euros for a kitkat, really? Extortion beyond belief. Obviously we'd assumed it would be expensive and we didn't touch anything for that reason :)

On Shrove Tuesday, we decided to get room service. The menu said 7.50 for pancakes 7.50 for waffles and 5euro service charge. We thought that was ideal, so we went for it. We didn't ask for the bill when the food was delivered, we were told to pay on check out.

Here's the extortion part.
Upon check out, we were told our outstanding bill was 49 euros. If your maths is as fantastical-superly-amazingz as mine, you'll have only added up 20 for breakfast. Soooo... the other 29? City tax was added, per person, per night, which equated to around 10 euros overall.

We asked where the rest of the charges had come from, and the girl at reception told us that we'd had a 'promotional breakfast for 16 euros each, instead of the usual 24 euros each'... No where in the room did it say there was a minimum charge for breakfast, why would each other item be priced individually if this were the case??

No way on this earth would I willingly pay 14 euros for 3 crusty pancakes, and a waffle that smelt like fish.

The final part of the fee was a 7 euro charge for having the room cleaned. Funny, they didn't change the sheets, they didn't replace the towels... they literally made the bed.

I stayed in the Bellagio in Vegas in November, and they didn't charge me a penny every time they came in and completely re-did the room.

I think the main issue with this hotel, is that they find very sneaky ways to up your bill. Obviously there were no signs anywhere saying they'll charge you 7 euros for a standard room tidy, nor that there's a minimum spend for breakfast. I suppose the best thing to do would be to just not order anything at all, and to put the 'do not disturb' sign up, so they can't charge you for cleaning the room.

Positive point:
Metro is so cheap, and it takes you everywhere with minimal effort. It takes about 3 minutes to walk to the metro stop just outside the University (through the carpark opposite the hotel). From there it's only two metros (red line to Placa de sants, then blue line to Sagrada) and you're right in the middle of everything.

On our last day we did find a shop hidden in the block of flats about 7/8 minute walk away, where you could buy kitkats for less than a euro... so if you do need to stock up on chocolate, i'd do it that way ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steph-travels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHTOWER, Director General at NH Collection Barcelona Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Cliente,



Agradezco que se haya tomado unos minutos de su valioso tiempo para hacernos saber su opinión sobre el hotel y los servicios prestados. En el Hotel Hesperia Tower nuestro objetivo es superar las expectativas de nuestros clientes, y sugerencias como las suyas nos permiten mejorar y así poder lograr este objetivo que es para nosotros tan importante.



Agradezco los comentarios positivos referente al personal de Recepción y a su eficiencia durante el proceso del checkin. Tengo también en cuenta su observación sobre los precios de minibar, aunque me gustaría informarle, que estos se encuentran entre los establecidos habitualmente para la mayoría de hoteles de esta categoría (En todas las habitaciones esta claramente publicado el precio de los diferentes productos ofrecidos en el minibar).



Bajo ningún concepto cobramos por la limpieza de la habitación y estaré encantado de verificar que en su factura no se ha cargado este servicio (puede facilitarme su factura y datos de contacto). En cuanto el cargo de desayuno, este está incluido cuando la reserva se ha realizado en régimen de Alojamiento y Desayuno, como en todos los Hoteles, no está incluido si sólo se reserva la habitación.



Según la legislación vigente en Catalunya, los clientes que se alojen en Hoteles de 5 estrellas deben pagar una tasa de la ciudad por valor de 2.5 euros por persona y día (equivalente al occupancy tax de New York City).



Quedo a su disposición para lo que usted pueda necesitar.



Atentamente

Josep Maria Serra

Director de Operaciones

Hotel Hesperia Tower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Conveniently located close to BCN, 15' cab to the center of Barcelona. Third time in few months at Hesperia Tower. I always book a Suite: spacious, one bedroom and a proper living room, well decorated, big bath with both shower and Jacuzzi. Large walk-in closet.
Big plus: access to the Tower lounge

Room Tip: I recommend the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This room was very nice but expensive and the mini bar and snack food was very expensive and room service was expensive also .you would be charged to have ice cube to deliver to your room.very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Close to the airport and shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHTOWER, Director General at NH Collection Barcelona Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our Hotel and the services rendered. We highly value your opinion for process of continuous improvement and as a base for making our guests stay more enjoyable every time.

At the Hotel Hesperia Tower it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this.

We are very sorry to know that some aspects regarding the facilities and services of the Hotel were not to your total satisfaction. Regarding your comments about the prices of the services, I can assure you that they are in accordance with other Hotels in Barcelona. However, we will review our price lists and make any necessary adjustments.

Thanking you again for your time, I remain at your entire disposal and send you my best regards and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to Barcelona at the Hesperia Tower Hotel.

Best Regards,

Josep Maria Serra
Operational Manager - Hesperia Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The room was Beautiful and clean. We really we're impressed by the bathroom. Everything very modern and up to date. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the service was good. There was good access to public transportation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had 2 rooms booked on February 17-21st in this hotel, and we must say this is the worst hotel we ever stayed in:
1. Theft - their housekeeping staff stole my wife's golden earrings from the bathroom
2. Hidden Charges - on the website they brag about their facilities, etc. But what you will find is that they will charge you for every single step you want to make in the hotel. Surprisingly they don't charge for air!
3. Poor customer service - we emailed our requirements to the hotel prior to arrival, but no one bothered to respond to our email. Hotel staff don't speak English, and even if they do - they are very unqualified and unfriendly

To conclude, stay away from this hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel but rather a real shame to the NH hotel group.

Linas Pareigis

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tenoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHTOWER, Director General at NH Collection Barcelona Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

With great concern I have received your comment, and it is obvious that you are very upset about many different items. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our Hotel and the services rendered. At the Hotel Hesperia Tower our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this.

I can assure you that I have done personally an investigation about it with our Security Manager and Housekeeping Manager, and after interviewing the staff involved (Housekeeper maid, and Minibar Staff),I find no evidence to indicate that there has been a steal.

I keep under your disposal in you need any clarification.

Best Regards



Josep Maria Serra

Operational Manager

Hotel Hesperia Tower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a city break for three nights in November 2013.
The hotel itself is easy to get to from the airport. The rooms and inside of the hotel are modern, clean and stylish.
We did not eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but there are some nice little cafes around the area to get coffee and breakfast snacks if you don't mind a little walk.

The area is a little weird. Right next to main roads from the airport and next to a large hospital. There is a metro station next door which we used to get into town easily enough but next time we would stay in town as it would be a lot easier.

The price was good and hotel overall was lovely but is too far from town for my liking.

Also we hired a car in the end and were able to park In the street overnight which was free, the hotel parking is expensive!!

Room Tip: Don't park I the hotel car park. The hospital across the road has cheaper day parking and street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for Valentines weekend. It was a beautiful hotel, that lived up to all our expectations. It was very modern and glamorous.

Our room was presented in excellent condition. The bathroom had to be our favourite as it was very stylish, however the lighting was a little dim. The shower was amazing!

We were looking forward to using the pool/gym area, unfortunately it was 14 euros per person which was quite disappointing. Remember to bring flip flops and a swimming cap(females) otherwise you will not be allowed in.

Although we did not eat at the restaurant, we had room service one evening which was fantastic.

The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and made our stay even more comfortable.

Just across the road there is a Metro station which allowed us to travel to La Ramblas in about 20 minutes. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from the airport.

This was an amazing hotel and I would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP0272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHTOWER, Director General at NH Collection Barcelona Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At the Hotel Hesperia Tower it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests. It is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Josep Maria Serra
Operational Manager
Hotel Hesperia Tower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,887 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#70 of 515 in Barcelona
2,058 reviews
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
#254 of 515 in Barcelona
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#61 of 515 in Barcelona
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Tower

Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#97 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £80 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Barcelona Tower hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Tower, is in Barcelona’s new business and financial district, between the airport and the city center. It’s just minutes from the fairgrounds too. As for the building itself, it’s a real city landmark, complete with a fabulous glass-roof cupola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Tower Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing