We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Miro room”
Review of Barcino 147

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcino 147
Ranked #7 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just stayed at Barcino 147 in the Miro room.I enjoyed my stay very much and it was perfect for me. The room was very clean and well kept. I slept like a baby. It was a perfect place for me to launch into my city-exploring. Very centrally located and around the corner from Plaza de Cataluna. This made it easy to jump on the Metro, catch a bus and taxis are continual passing outside the door. I walked to all the sites in the center area.

The rooms on the "front side" of the Barcino were larger and have a view of the street but I was worried about the noise. I don't know actually how they are. The Miro was quiet. And I definitely like to stay in a room with my own shower facilities.

The communal breakfast area was very clean and comfortable for me. It is not a restaurant but more like a communal kitchen area and had a large table. In my 3 days I only had breakfast with the other guests once.

The staff are very prepared to help and sever you. I really enjoyed meeting them and wish that all hotels and B&Bs had such nice, friendly staff.

If I make it back to Barcelona, you can find me at Barcino 147 again.
Thank you to Ferran, Ruxy and all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

My partner and I have recently returned from one of the best weekend holidays in a long time. Our choice of accommodation was based on the many positive reviews here on Tripadvisor and booking plus a very interesting phone conversation with Ferran. When travelling we always try to get as much as cultural input as possible due to the fact that we are both working with media and communication, but also because we well like this enriches us on a personal level.

As for the room and facilities, we got exactly what we had asked for when making the reservation through Ferran. At no point did he make the room sound and bigger or more luxurious than it was. We had the Dalí room, which was without a bathroom and facing the interior. We had made a special request for the last thing, as we are both light sleepers. Everything lived up to the expectations in terms of size, sleeping quality and cleanliness.

The breakfast was simple as advertised, and the selection of cereal, yogurts, beverages etc. was more than enough. We enjoyed it in the kitchen where we got to know a lovely couple from Sweden which we ended up going out to dinner with at one of the excellent tapas bars nearby which Ferran had recommended.

And speaking of Ferran, the owner of the place, this man, abundant in information on his city's history, the culture Catalonia and his people, really made our trip. We were highly enlightened on the current political situation and the thorny issue on the regions independency, which we believe is far from covered enough in the international media.

Moltes gracies, Ferran, for making this trip a truly cultural and enriching experience, exactly what a B&B is all about!

Room Tip: As other reviewer have stated: make sure you get what you are looking for in terms of room size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and i just returned from a marvelous vacation in Spain but I'm sorry to say that the Barcino B&B was far from one of the highlights. After looking at the reviews and photos on Trip Advisor and talking with Ferran, the owner, we really were excited about staying at this property. Unfortunately, the room we selected, the Miro Mini Suite, was a tremendous disappointment. It wasn't a suite at all; rather a room the size of a postage stamp that could barely accommodate a double bed. It did, however, have a private bath, which is what we wanted. The room was dark, with a single window overlooking an ugly black tar roof. Absolutely no view whatsoever. Staying in this room, you never got the feeling you were in Barcelona. The entire experience was dreary and depressing.

Trip Advisor's listing the Barcino147 in their B&B category is a misnomer. This is not a B&B.
A more appropriate designation would be "a room within an apartment with shared breakfast facilities"! Aside from the day we checked in and met Antonio, Ferran's assistant who was quite charming, we never had any interaction with Barcino personal. A small breakfast buffet was left on a tray in the community kitchen at 8:00am and removed at 11:00. And, the breakfast itself was nothing to write home about. A few slices of cheese, some cold meat, boiled eggs, toast, pastries and jam. You could have gone out to a neighborhood cafe and done much better. A big disappointment, to say the least!

The one positive thing I can say is Barcino147 is centrally located. The apartment is directly across the street from Barcelona's Palace Hotel (formerly the Ritz). Taxi's are easy to get, but taking a taxi everywhere, which Antonio advised us to do, can add up. Taxis are an efficient but an expensive way to see the city.

Barcelona's subways are much faster. However, after listening to Antonio's words of caution regarding Barcelona's nefarious pickpockets, we decided to heed his advice and avoid crowded subways.

Barcelona's a charming city and well worth a visit, but for a little more money, I'd rather stay at a hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure you ask about the size of the room and bath facilities before you book. Both our room and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcinoB&B, Propietario at Barcino 147, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Greetings Jim
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival...but you can not say.. do not believe all the other peoples opinions that clients wrote for the last 10 years ! that is not correct! big No No my friend! ay mama mia!
As the name says the Miro Mini Suite with a view overlooking the sunny roofs of Barcelona and in bottom the childrens great school form 1920, yes! is a little and very quiet room with private bathroom, when you contact us we offer you for an higher price a bigger Suite for just 30€ more per night, which is 3 times bigger than the Miró Mini Suite.. but you declined.
Our breakfast is simple! but complete! we offer cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs, integral bread from the same morning, salami, 2 types of coffee, juices, ..2 types of coffee, expresso and American..a variety of products… sorry! we could´t do fried eggs and pancakes with bacon for you…So sorry!!

We always try to maintain the clients informed about the pickpockets specially in the subway..is way during a nice vacation we think is better to take inexpensive taxis..everything you can do in Barcelona, we like to express our personal opinion in order to make your vacation in Barcelona more enjoyable.
by the way! I used to live in California and Taxis are much much cheaper here!
Well ! We wish you the best ! and next time as you said you are better going to a Hotel..
as you mention ..what about the Ritz in front of us? Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The host, Ferran, welcomes his guests with warmth and a genuine desire to please. Both he and his staff are very accommodating in their recommendations for dining and sightseeing, and are eager to assist with making any kind of arrangements one desires. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and one feels at home here. I strongly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone who is interested in an authentic visit to the gorgeous city of Barcelona with fine, local hospitality. Conveniently located, this B & B is a treat to all who visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were celebrating a special anniversary and spent more than our usual amount on accommodations. It was a great decision. The Nonell Master suite is located in the most beautiful apartment building and is very close to everything. The bathroom is pure luxury and the large bed is so very comfortable. We chose to sleep in one morning until 10am and did not hear any noise. Ferran is a delightful and charming host who provides terrific information. Thank you for helping us have a very special time in your beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornfieldsIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We chose this B&B due to the good reviews here on tripadvisor and after a five nights stay we can can definitely make the conclusion that we were far from disappointed! When arriving we were led to the room, which lived up to the expectations we had from the website Pictures. Beautifully decorated, newly painted, excellent mattress and the best view over the Gran Via avenue.
The staff was so welcoming and helpful. They told us everything we needed to know about things to see, places to eat and drink and gave us advice on how to keep our money and valuable belongings out of sight and reach for pickpockets.
We appreciated that one could get up late and still have breakfast. One night we stayed out until late and did not wake up until one the next, and breakfast was still available.
In general we felt so relaxed and as if at home. It was such a pleasure to stay at Barcino and we would definitely return if we one day have the chance.

Room Tip: The Goya is spacious and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pretty rooms imaginatively decorated. Note that many rooms are with a shared bathroom not with an ensuite bathroom. Good sound-proofing, which is important since the B&B is on a busy corner.

Quite clean.

Breakfasts were OK though not outstanding - we had better breakfasts at the hotels we stayed at elsewhere in Spain. Nice to have coffee and tea available 24-hours of the day, as the kitchen where you eat breakfast is on the same floor as your bedroom. (The B&B is on 2 floors, hence, 2 kitchens.)

Superb location. Easy to walk to lots of interesting places, and the streets felt safe (for Barcelona).

Great tips for restaurants and sightseeing from one of the women who runs the B&B.

Room Tip: Book REALLY early and get an ensuite bathroom. If you pay cash when you arrive, you won't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan-of-foreign-films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
559 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#2 of 308 in Barcelona
518 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
1,366 reviews
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
El Born / La Ribera
We Boutique Hotel
We Boutique Hotel
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcino 147? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcino 147

Address: Gran Via de las Corts Catalanas, Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £74 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcino 147 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcino 147 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcino 147 Hotel Barcelona
Barcino 147 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing