We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host, Great Location, Great Prioce, Great B&B”
Review of Barcino 147

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcino 147
Ranked #3 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Host, Great Location, Great Prioce, Great B&B”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I've stayed at numerous B&B's throughout Europe and never have I experienced the hospitality that I received from Farren at Barcino 147. It was like having a cousin in Barcelona to talk to when you came home> Farren's restuarant recommendations were spot on and never hard on the wallet.

The pictures on the website accurately show what you will see when arrive at Barcino 147. The decor was spectacular. If you are tired and just what to stay in for the night, the rooms all have flat screens and dvd's players so you can just sit back and relax.

At the end of the day, if my and I were to go back to Barcelona, the first person I would e-mail is Farren to make sure he had availability. I would entusiastically recommend Barcino 147 to anyone look to travel to Barcelona. My wife and I are in our early thirties, but there was also a family of four the Netherlands staying down hall. So it appears that Barcino 147 would be good for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nolavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    76
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
125
240
72
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Ferran was the best host we've ever had at a B&B, or elsewhere fore that matter. He exemplified the advantage of a B&B: He made us feel like we were staying with a dear friend, sharing so much about the city, environs, and culture. The bottle of cava upon arrival was such a nice gesture. We toured the wine country, visiting a winery only a local would manage seeing. We are still enjoying the cava from there. I believe that places like Barcino 147 are how lodging of the future will be. No more massive hotels with indifferent staff. The distinctive traveler will seek places that make them feel part of the city and culture, if only while visiting a friend. Ferran is now a friend and we look forward to our next visit. Many thanks, Ferran, for making our honeymoon so nice. Hasta pronto, amigo. Benito & Cliff

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mincho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Barcino 147 is a very nice and cozy Bed and Breakfast located in the city center and in the vicinity of all major places of interests in Barcelona. It is very easy to reach and is the splendid base a newcomer can have to set about exploring this magnificent place. The BB owner, Ferran, is very helpful and forthcoming in orienting his guests in the city and its surroundings, providing with useful tips regarding museums, city events, and best places for tapas and paella. The rooms are comfortable, spacious as well as elegantly and tastefully furnished, with a touch of an artist. The rooms are cleaned every day. That's perfectly enough and besides that, it would be odd to use the word 'service' in relation to Barcino, because why and how would you expect to be 'served' at your own home? That's exactly how we felt during our stay there - at home! We had wonderful time and strongly recommend this place. Muchas gracias, Ferran, e hasta luego! Спасибо!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sevasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Highly recommended. Great help from Ferran concerning food and getting around. Perfect location unless you are overly sensitive to city noise. We will surely return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tony1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

High quality B&B accommodation at a reasonable price. Situated in an unremarkable block of flats, but once you get into the apartment you will be impressed-tastefully furnished and well equipped. For breakfast you just help yourself to plentiful food and drink left in the kitchen. Ferran is very helpful with recommendations for things to see and places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 58tosherpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griff
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We drove up to the place from the Costa Blanca and the satnav took us to the front door. Not being familiar with Barcelona we didn't appreciate that the place is on the main drag through town. Arriving on a Friday night in rush hour traffic is not an experience for the faint hearted. There is parking next door but at 40€ for24hours it ain't cheap! Farran has responded to earlier criticism and fitted locks to the individual bedroom doors, not that we felt that security was an issue. He offered us a choice of the two available rooms and my wife opted for the one with a view on to the main road which had lovely views, but being a vibrant city centre, wasn't particularly quiet. She says on second thoughts we should have opted for the smaller room at the back which had an en-suite facility.
Farran pointed us in the direction of some great Tapas bars and some cheaper car parking and left us to our own devices. Rooms were clean and well furnished.
We walked everywhere during the next evening and the following day. The apartment is fairly central and we didn't use public transport at all.
Breakfast is a serve yourself affair but he has a nice coffee machine and a variety of toast and jams which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griff1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

We stayed at Barcino 147 when it just opened up earlier this year. We were in Barcelona for the marathon in March. Being the two of the first guests when it opened up, it was great. The place is clean and completely new. Ferran's got great taste. I don't know how he was able to pull off buying the apartment and setting up a beautiful B and B in such great neighborhood. Ferran was also a great source of information as we were always asking questions about the places we visit. Without him, we couldn't have done so much in such short stay in Barcelona. Thanks Ferran. Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Location, comfort
  • Disliked — smallish kitchen
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NYtoAllovertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
215 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
894 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcino 147? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcino 147

Property: Barcino 147
Address: Gran Via de las Corts Catalanas, Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcino 147 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcino 147 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcino 147 Hotel Barcelona
Barcino 147 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing