We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location”
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #210 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for one night during our time in Barcelona and it's was great for a short stay. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic only a 2 min walk to the port area which is beautiful to walk along and 5 mins from La Rambla. The closet metro stop is Drassanes or Liceu which are on the green line. Was close to great restaurants and tapas bars. The rooms were clean and nice as well as the bathroom. The beds weren't the most comfortable beds but for a short stay they were fine. Overall a great place to stay when visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    271
    94
    16
    9
See reviews for
78
178
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Full marks for the reception staff as they are very welcoming. Breakfast was good as well. Like the previous reviews, the hotel is within walking distance from the Las Ramblas, cruise liner terminal and metro etc. It is also very clean and basic. So do not expect a 4 star accomodation.

Regarding taxi service that is another story. If you arrive after midnight there is no metro or train service so we had to make use of a taxi. As the taxi driver was clearly not from the area she could not locate the hotel so she decided to dump us in a place which made us wonder whether we were in Barcellona or some war torn place in Iran.

In the end after meandering through these narrow and dirty alleys together with the kids we finally found a helpful Pakistani waiter who with the help of the dustbin collectors finally managed to locate the hotel at 1am.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baninMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel was, as the title suggests, perfect for my recent trip to Barcelona. It's location was amazing, just a minutes walk from Las Ramblas, and it was a perfect base from with which to explore this amazing city.

Although the room was small it was ideal for somewhere to keep my stuff and sleep. And to be honest that's all that I expect from a hotel along with being clean and feeling safe. The room had air conditioning and a fridge (first time I've encountered that in a budget hotel). There was also a safe in the room which didn't need to be paid for.

The only two things that were negative about it was the shower cubicle was a bit on the small side which either left me wrestling with the shower curtain or hitting the temperature controller with my back which suddenly turned the water very hot or very cold!! There was no view and the dwelling across the small street owned a bird of some kind that chirped a lot. As you can see I'm struggling for negatives.

There were some concerns about the safety of the location of the hotel at night but I didn't encounter anything at all. And one night I didn't get back until nearer 3am.

All in all if you are looking for a value for money hotel and there is availability at this hotel book it in complete confidence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magamar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had to spend just a single night in fantastic Barcelona and I found this cool and pretty cheap place with no problem, even in high season time. A very narrow street by a charming square looking at Barcelona's old port: there stands this charming little hotel. Surprising subterranean parking very close, the mighty Ramblas are reached in two minutes walking. Cool staff, nice and clean room (choose one in the back, as the little street might be noisy: those Catalans!). Great value for a very reasonable price. Undoubtfully my headquarters on my next stay to awesome Barcelona!

Room Tip: As I said, try to purchase a backyard room: no noise at all...unless the Barça is playing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Located just off the Las Ramblas and a couple of minutes walk to the sea this small family run hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was small but very clean and fitted with new and modern amenities. The small television provided in the room was great; didn't watch any of it! but the usb port on the telly was great to charge my iphone and sony walkman!.

Air-con worked very well, and also had no problems with the shower and running hot water.

The reception can be slow however when the owners(?) were working, but there was a rotation of staff throughout our stay at the hotel with the other reception staff being very friendly and helpful.

Free wi-fi in the hotel rooms and free beach towels were also available for rental.

Also the hotel is walking distance (15minutes) to the Franca Train Station which will take you to the airport. (1 interchange on the same platform)

Breakfast is worth skipping at the hotel however, and go to the Boquieria market instead.
(5-10 Mins walk)

Would stay again. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckiluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are looking for a friendly stay this is your stop. The desk clerks were all helpful in a handful of languages and even warning for bad deals on display in their own lobby.

The location is perfect if you, like we did, love strolling through the cosy alleys of old town. A walk to the beach is no more the five to ten minutes and if Las Ramblas is your goal they are within crawling distance.

Several nice cafés and restaurants in the neighbourhood warrants a pleasant experience for the gourmet and gourmand both. We had breakfast at the nearby plaza every morning and discovered new dinner places every night.

Rooms were clean and comfortable although the cheaper variant lacked air condition. This weren't a problem for us but if you are heat sensitive it might be worth investing the extra €5 for the superior rooms. The spacious fridge allows for groceries for the economical traveler. There are bathing towels to borrow for the beach as an extra kindness to the guests. Do bring soap though as that seems to be something spanish hotels are reluctant to provide.

All in all a great stay and the one star feels like three.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here on a budget for two nights. The rooms are small but adequate and modern with TV, en-suite and good bathroom facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great. I had a room on the street and am a light sleeper so had a couple of disruptions sleeping but would definitely recommend this hotel!! For 40 euro a night it was ideal!

Room Tip: If travelling alone. Single rooms are great. Maybe ask for a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEA1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#356 of 513 in Barcelona
484 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#342 of 513 in Barcelona
789 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#386 of 513 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
1,880 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
541 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#318 of 513 in Barcelona
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Property: Hotel Canton
Address: Nou de Sant Francesc 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canton 1*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canton is a familiar and modern hotel, with comfortable and well equipied rooms. Located in the city center, next to the famous Ramblas and the Harbour of Barcelona. You can get walking in a few minutes to the most significative tourist atractions of the city, such as Picasso Museum, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the church of Santa Maria del Mar, the Barceloneta quarter and the beach. Well conected to public transport, with direct metro line to the train station that goes to the airport. Also within walking distance to the Cruise Port Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Canton Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing