We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Canton
Ranked #236 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

PROS:
Location. 7-8 mins walk/stroll from La Rambla.(That says it all!) Metro, bus, TRAM very near. Hop on/off bus stop very near too.Very close to the beach as well. Hotel has lift to carry your heavy luggage. Friendly and thoughtful staff.

CONS:
Maybe a bit difficult to locate first time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    255
    91
    16
    9
See reviews for
73
167
74
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Recommended by friends and it was perfect for our purposes and budget. The room is clean and well equipped, with a fridge and safe and a decent bathroom. Overall the room was small but had everything we needed. The wifi was strong where we were on the first floor. Very close to everything. Comfy bed with an extra pillow and blanket tucked into the room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creetown...scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

hotel canton is a wee cracker of a hotel.very clean and tidy.rooms were great,had a group of 15 there and rooms catered for all.
less than 5 mins to las ramblas and plenty of pubs and eating places within mins of front door.
would not hesitate to use canton again and have already recommended it to others.

Room Tip: great wee hotel and has a lift for those who don't want to use stairs or have lots of cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddiemcgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel 10 days in November 2013, and all what I can say is that we are very satisfied by our choice.
In fact, the best thing about this hotel is its location, It's 2 to 5 minutes walk to Las Ramblas and there are 2 close metro stations (Drassanes and Liceu). When arriving by Aerobus from the airport to Placa Catalunya, you just need to take a small walk along the Ramblas until the Christophe Columbus status, no need to take a cab or a metro (beware of the pickpockets on the Ramlas thought!)
We had 212 room, it was clean, with a small fridge (not very cold, we had to put our milk and youghourts on the balcony to have them fresh), we had a safe in the room big enough to leave our computer in it. The bathroom was as well clean with a nice and large shower! the bed is small tought for 2 people, we wished we could have a bigger bed. There is free wifi in the hotel although we rarely had the connection in our room (very low). The front desk is very nice and really helpfull. We will for sure consider this hotel for another stay in Barcelona ... Inshallah!

Room Tip: Room 212 has very low internet, and gives on the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaneTem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Choose this hotel due to location & price. We were in Barcelona for 1 night before a cruise & wanted to be near the port & Las Ramblas. Tucked away on a tiny side street, this place was great. Rooms are small & a little "dreary" but clean. Bathroom fine & breakfast was just right. Max at the front desk was great.

Room Tip: Top floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hotel Canton is in a great location, especially for cruisers since it is within walking distance of the port in the Gothic quarter. Friendly front desk, clean rooms and reasonably equipped for the price (even a shoe shine sponge), free wifi. Elevator. Recommended if you don't need a doorman and all the other bells and whistles.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor (European third). Elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#348 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#196 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#342 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#278 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#127 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#483 of 522 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Property: Hotel Canton
Address: Nou de Sant Francesc 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canton 1*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canton is a familiar and modern hotel, with comfortable and well equipied rooms. Located in the city center, next to the famous Ramblas and the Harbour of Barcelona. You can get walking in a few minutes to the most significative tourist atractions of the city, such as Picasso Museum, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the church of Santa Maria del Mar, the Barceloneta quarter and the beach. Well conected to public transport, with direct metro line to the train station that goes to the airport. Also within walking distance to the Cruise Port Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Canton Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing