We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent location and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Colkida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Colkida
Ranked #28 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value, excellent location and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend visited Barcelona for a week with limited travel experience, we were greeted by Roberto at reception, he was friendly and knowledgable about the city. He gave us a map of Barcelona which he highlighted on places of interest and the nearest stations. He was very friendly and I couldn't thank him enough for the help he gave us. The room was comfortable and clean, and cleaned every day. The location is close enough to the centre without being in the middle of the city and where all the noise is and Passieg de Gracia station is within a 5 minute walk of the hotel and from there you can get the metro to most of Barcelona or the RENFE to other parts of Spain. But overall cannot recommend hostel colkida highly enough, and especially Roberto.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewcox90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    125
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
159
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed there from 22 to 26/05, in a double room with street view. The hotel is really nice, clean and in a good location. Just 2 blocks from Passeig de Gracia and Casa Batló, 10 min from Plaza da Catalunya. You can go everywhere walking, or take one of the 3 metro station near by and go further.
There is no breakfast, but you can find a lot of restaurant in the area.
The room is pretty with a very comfortable bed and wardrobe to place the luggage and clothes.
We had a great stay, only in the last night it was very warm and we let the window opened, but the traffic was really intense and so much noisy. But with the window closed you don't hear anything.
The housekeeper is very friendly and did a lovely job making our room pretty again to relax after a long day.
The receptionist staff are very kind, specially Emilia, that indicated us Tossa de Mar, a beautiful village at Costa Brava to spent a day, and trust her, it's amazing and worth to get one day off Barcelona and relax there. She also helped my husband to make a surprise for me, it was my birthday, and I got a delicious cake from Bubó.

It was a perfect stay and we high recommended this hotel to stay in Barcelona, you won't be disappointed!
Thank you so much for the brilliant service! We loved!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamiris_Gaberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during May half term and were very impressed with the location and service. The man at the reception desk made us feel very welcome and went to a lot of effort explaining where different tourist attractions could be found. There was a shared balcony available for guests to use and a couple of vending machines for beer/coffee. Our room was clean, with shower gels, shampoo and hairdryer available. It was cleaned every day during our stay and we were given fresh towels. The location was perfect for us, within walking distances of cafés for breakfast and lunch. The metro stop was 5 mins walk for longer journeys. Unlike other reviews I have read, out hotel was not in a noisy location and we did not feel vulnerable walking around at night. Overall, a very happy customer!

Room Tip: Our room was just opposite the balcony which was great, it was a triple room so we had plenty of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent three nights in Hostal Colkida and I would highly recommend it for a Barcelona city break. I spent ages looking at hotels and Barcelona can be quite expensive. Found Colkida and it was much better value than any other I saw (273) for three nights for 2 people. Happy with that!

Two great selling points about this are the location and staff. Location is super. About a 6 min walk to La Rambla. So easy to get to from the airport. We walked most places from the hotel because you could get around so easily.

Staff were so super friendly. Gave me some really nice recommendations of places to eat near the hotel (was really good tapas!!!) and some good bars. Really were super helpful. Even wanted to google some other bars for me. They also booked our tickets to Sagrada Familia so that we could skip the three hour long queue and this was super. If you are going to Sagrada Familia (and do because it it so so impressive?) make sure and buy your tickets online. That way you can avoid the insane queues.

The hotel was also very clean and modern, as it has only recently been renovated. And really powerful showers which are great to wake you up in the morning after having slightly too many Cavas the night before!!

The place is exactly what you need for a city break and I will definitely stay again when I go back to BCN. It's such an awesome city!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wexfordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hostal Colkida is conveniently located, just a 5 minute walk from a major metro station (with direct trains to the airport) and an enjoyable 15 min walk into the centre and to La Sagrada Familia.

The hotel room itself was simple but very clean and comfortable (just what you need!), our one was a decent size and had a modern bathroom. The staff (especially Roberto) were excellent with some great tips.

Only criticism would be that there was a bit of noise at night with toilets flushing, people walking up the stairs etc, but nothing too bad unless you are a particularly light sleeper!

Overall an excellent hotel that was good value, perfect for a city break. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I spent 3 nights in Hostal Colkida and I highly recommend this place! The location is just great! Hostal Colkida is in a very nice neighborhood with many good restaurants around and it's walking distance from many tourist attractions. The hostal is basic but the bedrooms are big and clean with very comfortable beds! Staff are also very helpful and friendly.

The only down thing I'd have to say is that there is no WiFi connection in the bedrooms (just in common areas) but this is definitely not an issue!

This is definitely a cheap and yet convenient and clean/comfortable place to stay in Barcelona. I will definitely stay in Hostal Colkida again!

Room Tip: Rooms number 1, 2 and 3 might be a bit noisy as they are close to the reception but if you are not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sury F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fabulous! So easy to reach from airport. Take R2 to passeig de Gracia 4 stops. Exit and walk towards bell tower one block and yr on the street. Head down hill 2 blocks and hostal is on yr right. Just spot the logo - it's in a great location for exploring. Staff were very welcoming (thanks Roberto!) and so helpful with advice at hand from things to see and do and where to eat. Check out Il Llusa restaurant just down the road. We had a two bedded room which we shared with our 21 yr old son. It was at front of hotel, yes there was traffic noise but hey it's a city! So tired from all the exploring we slept well anyway. Very clean and modern and plenty of hot water. The patio area is perfect for a takeaway breakfast or for soaking up that last bit of sun at the end of the day. Great free wifi. Yes no English language tele but the local Cataylan radio station played excellent British music, who needs news when on your hols. Stay here for a simple relaxing break. We loved Barcelona, hope you do too!

Room Tip: Obviously the back rooms would be quiter but everything else was so convenient I would still recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MogsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#33 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#48 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#24 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#16 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Aslyp 114
Hostal Aslyp 114
#12 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colkida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colkida

Property: Hostal Colkida
Address: Calle Roger de Lluria 47, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Colkida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Barcelona,350 metres from Paseo de Gracia metro and train station, features a warm sunny terrace. It offers rooms with air conditioning and heating. All rooms are equipped with a flat-screen TV and wardrobe. Each has a private bathroom with a shower and hairdryer. Towels and bed linen are also provided. Free Wi-Fi is available in common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Colkida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Colkida Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing