We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest value for money. True backpack experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Ranked #108 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The staff is awesome. Alvand and Ali are very helpful. As a solo backpacker I appreciated that the most during my stay. Great value for money. The place has a vibe that is unique.

A 100% recommendation from me for backpackers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohanBhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

This hostel has a very unique character. Staff is very welcoming and provides great information on the city with its sights, shops, restaurants, etc. They really make you feel at home, give you smiles and care about your experience in Barcelona. I can highly recommend this place and will surely return when I'm back in Barcelona. The location is perfect, couldn't be better. It's only two minutes from Plaza Catalunya, Metro, 24h supermarkets, bars, tourist attractions, all is in walking distance. Great friendly clean and safe place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

well, this is an interesting place, it's super tiny space mixed superb management and very helpful staff, so you can say it is small but complete.
great location let you move freely, except Park Guell and Mt Montjuic, I really don't think you need any vehicles besides your feet to visit any touristic interests in town.
the hostel issued their own city map which is super convenient, i should say it is far useful than the one you got from the tourism information center, the latter is too huge to use when you are lost.
well, the room is small as well, however they offer you personal locker in the communal space.
and, if you are sensitive of sleeping environment then you may need to think about more since this place located exactly in a busy avenue and the Spanish people are get used to bustling night life.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niya Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I come from Italy, it was my first travel alone and in the hostel, i read the opinions to choose and everything was perfect: very close to Placa Catalunia, clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Amazing, i recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My bf and I just got back from 4 nights in Barcelona. We stayed at ACYH, and it was our first time staying in a hostel. We had a great experience, and I will break it down into sections...

LOCATION:
The location of the hostel is great. It is about a block from Plaza Catalunya, and a short walk to La Rambla (where La Boqueria is). There are several bus stops very close (one basically right in front of the door), and it is in between 2 metro stations. We took the airport shuttle to Plaza Catalunya and it was a very short walk to the hostel. There are several bars and restaurants nearby, as well as a couple of small grocery stores. Some people indicated difficulty locating the place. Look at the photo of the front. The brown arched doorway is unlike the others on the block.

STAFF:
I believe we saw 6 different employees working the 24 hour front desk while staying here. While all of them were friendly, the 3 guys went above our expectations and made some great suggestions for restaurants and things to do.

COMMON AREAS:
There is a refrigerator and a kitchen with cookware and dishes available to use. There is also a vending machine, and you can buy a large bottle of water from reception for €1. There are 3 computers available to use for free, as well as free wi-fi. There is a TV in the common area, but while we were there it only showed photos of Barcelona. There is a white board with things to do over the next 4 days, in case you are looking for something. The common areas (not including bathrooms) close down at midnight. If you aren't being noisy, you can probably still hang out, use the kitchen, or use the internet. If it gets too noisy, they may ask you to take the fun elsewhere, but there is a pub across the street. Some people don't like this, but I would rather have to go to the bar across the street if I'm not ready to go to bed than have to deal with people being obnoxiously noisy in the middle of the night if I want to sleep. The lockers are in a common hallway next to the office with video surveillance. This is nice because people are not making a bunch of noise getting in and out of their lockers in the dark rooms while others are sleeping.

BATHROOMS:
There are 3 toilets and 3 showers in the bathroom, along with 6 sinks. The lighting isn't very good (as a girl trying to get ready to go out at night), but it's not that big of a deal. I thought that the 3 showers wouldn't be enough, but we never had to wait for a shower to open up. There are free toiletries available that past travelers have left behind in case you need something, and towels can be rented from the front desk.

BEDROOMS:
I believe there is 1 private room and there are 2 or 3 of the 8 bed dorms. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm. There is space under the bed for stuff that you need close by or that won't fit in your locker, and there is a cubby available for each person. There are outlets in the room, but no reading lamps. I thought there was plenty of space for the 4 bunk beds. I wouldn't say the room was extremely spacious, but we weren't all on top of each other either. All you do in there is sleep anyway :)

This is really a great place to stay, and we will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beeeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Pros: Quiet after 23:00, clean, helpful staff, kitchen, good social area, good humor (the sign above the toilet) fairly centrally located, near a metro stop.

Cons: A little hard to find at night, Quiet after 23:00 (you cant find people to hang out with), only 3 toilets so they get crowded in the morning, the showers are on a short timer (one of them lasted only 7.5 seconds per push).

All in all a good place to go for a good nights rest and a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanfromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I just love this place. Everything was perfect, from the staff to the rooms. Just enough space for 8 beds in one room. The location couldn't be better; right next to the subway and La Rambla. The staff is super-friendly and gives a lot of information on where to go during your stay. I would recommend this for anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laminatedinlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#78 of 735 in Barcelona
124 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Montjuic
Pars Teatro Hostel
Pars Teatro Hostel
#80 of 735 in Barcelona
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#70 of 735 in Barcelona
1,289 reviews
Eixample
DestinationBCN Apartment Suites
Eixample
Serennia Apartamentos Ramblas - Placa Catalunya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Creative Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Address: Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring One of the Green Bells on the Bottom Row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £17 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful heritage building in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city, the Alternative Creative Youth Hostel is the perfect base from which to enjoy the city and make the most of its incredible opportunities. The hostel was created to offer affordable accommodation especially to open-minded, adventurous, young people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Alternative Creative Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing