We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Ranked #139 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Loved our stay at this hostel, really clean, great atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and the location is excellent! Very close to most of the major attractions .. The entrance if kind of hidden so just a bit of heads up you might have difficulty find it at first.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahador_Alast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We really liked my stay. The staff were super friendly. Very good location. The hostel was very clean and we met lots of nice people. The guy at the reception gave us a map with lots of good recommendation for what to see in Barcelona and also a map with recommendation for food and live music which really changed our experience. This place was simply great.

Room Tip: We liked our room, room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alberto p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The staff is awesome. Alvand and Ali are very helpful. As a solo backpacker I appreciated that the most during my stay. Great value for money. The place has a vibe that is unique.

A 100% recommendation from me for backpackers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanBhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This hostel has a very unique character. Staff is very welcoming and provides great information on the city with its sights, shops, restaurants, etc. They really make you feel at home, give you smiles and care about your experience in Barcelona. I can highly recommend this place and will surely return when I'm back in Barcelona. The location is perfect, couldn't be better. It's only two minutes from Plaza Catalunya, Metro, 24h supermarkets, bars, tourist attractions, all is in walking distance. Great friendly clean and safe place!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

well, this is an interesting place, it's super tiny space mixed superb management and very helpful staff, so you can say it is small but complete.
great location let you move freely, except Park Guell and Mt Montjuic, I really don't think you need any vehicles besides your feet to visit any touristic interests in town.
the hostel issued their own city map which is super convenient, i should say it is far useful than the one you got from the tourism information center, the latter is too huge to use when you are lost.
well, the room is small as well, however they offer you personal locker in the communal space.
and, if you are sensitive of sleeping environment then you may need to think about more since this place located exactly in a busy avenue and the Spanish people are get used to bustling night life.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niya Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I come from Italy, it was my first travel alone and in the hostel, i read the opinions to choose and everything was perfect: very close to Placa Catalunia, clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Amazing, i recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My bf and I just got back from 4 nights in Barcelona. We stayed at ACYH, and it was our first time staying in a hostel. We had a great experience, and I will break it down into sections...

LOCATION:
The location of the hostel is great. It is about a block from Plaza Catalunya, and a short walk to La Rambla (where La Boqueria is). There are several bus stops very close (one basically right in front of the door), and it is in between 2 metro stations. We took the airport shuttle to Plaza Catalunya and it was a very short walk to the hostel. There are several bars and restaurants nearby, as well as a couple of small grocery stores. Some people indicated difficulty locating the place. Look at the photo of the front. The brown arched doorway is unlike the others on the block.

STAFF:
I believe we saw 6 different employees working the 24 hour front desk while staying here. While all of them were friendly, the 3 guys went above our expectations and made some great suggestions for restaurants and things to do.

COMMON AREAS:
There is a refrigerator and a kitchen with cookware and dishes available to use. There is also a vending machine, and you can buy a large bottle of water from reception for €1. There are 3 computers available to use for free, as well as free wi-fi. There is a TV in the common area, but while we were there it only showed photos of Barcelona. There is a white board with things to do over the next 4 days, in case you are looking for something. The common areas (not including bathrooms) close down at midnight. If you aren't being noisy, you can probably still hang out, use the kitchen, or use the internet. If it gets too noisy, they may ask you to take the fun elsewhere, but there is a pub across the street. Some people don't like this, but I would rather have to go to the bar across the street if I'm not ready to go to bed than have to deal with people being obnoxiously noisy in the middle of the night if I want to sleep. The lockers are in a common hallway next to the office with video surveillance. This is nice because people are not making a bunch of noise getting in and out of their lockers in the dark rooms while others are sleeping.

BATHROOMS:
There are 3 toilets and 3 showers in the bathroom, along with 6 sinks. The lighting isn't very good (as a girl trying to get ready to go out at night), but it's not that big of a deal. I thought that the 3 showers wouldn't be enough, but we never had to wait for a shower to open up. There are free toiletries available that past travelers have left behind in case you need something, and towels can be rented from the front desk.

BEDROOMS:
I believe there is 1 private room and there are 2 or 3 of the 8 bed dorms. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm. There is space under the bed for stuff that you need close by or that won't fit in your locker, and there is a cubby available for each person. There are outlets in the room, but no reading lamps. I thought there was plenty of space for the 4 bunk beds. I wouldn't say the room was extremely spacious, but we weren't all on top of each other either. All you do in there is sleep anyway :)

This is really a great place to stay, and we will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beeeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pelayo
Hotel Pelayo
#346 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Eixample
H10 Universitat Hotel
H10 Universitat Hotel
#139 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#152 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#83 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Eixample
Backpacker's House Bcn
Backpacker's House Bcn
#444 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Creative Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Property: Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Address: Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring One of the Green Bells on the Bottom Row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful heritage building in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city, the Alternative Creative Youth Hostel is the perfect base from which to enjoy the city and make the most of its incredible opportunities. The hostel was created to offer affordable accommodation especially to open-minded, adventurous, young people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alternative Creative Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing