We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Ranked #109 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was easily the nicest staff we came across in all the hostels we stayed in during our time in Europe. They were extremely helpful and knowledgable and had great suggestions. They also went out of their way to ship me my iPod I left. The bathrooms, bedrooms, and common room were also very clean and accessible. Great price too! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesDM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Its located in the center of barcelona, right next to la Rambla and many other restaurants, Tapas bars and cafes, so with only a few steps you can jump into the life of this beautiful city. But that doesn't means that this Hostel is place for party! It waa all the time realy quiet and stuffs ensures that it stays like that.
The Stuff People are realy friendly and as I arrived they showes me everthing on a map, drawed some specific routs, time, Metro/ Bus infos on it. What a wonderful piece of art, I still have it. Byside that they regularly ask I
somebody would like to come on a visit to different point of interessting, means they realy want to show you there beatiful city. On top of all, you can get some new really good friends.

Off course all the rooms are realy clean, means once a day staff take care about bath, showers, floors,etc.
WiFi is available and there are also enought sockets for all devices like smartphones, notebooks, etc.
There is also a small kitchen which you can use, of course you cant cook for a football team, but for 2-3 people its enough. Could be bigger, but for that price you can't say anything.
I would take it again if I should ever come again to Barcelona

Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have to say that when I come back to Barcelona, I will definitely be staying here again! Everyone was so welcoming and gave suggestions on where to go and what to do. Even things to watch out for. The place was clean, lockers and internet available. The metro was a close walk if you had to go somewhere further but most attractions were in walking distance which was really nice. I highly recommend a stay here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigI2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was my second stay at the Alternative Creative Youth Home and it was even better than the first time :)
As a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable and safe there. The staff is very caring, the place is cleaned daily and the atmosphere is very relaxed. They play good music and above all the hostel is right in the center of Barcelona so you can walk to most tourist attractions. Las Ramblas are just two minutes away. Thumps up for this great youth hostel. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A friend recommend me this place and It was not just good was a great place, quiet, safe, clean, free internet, great location besides plaza catalunya. Friendly people and good prices. We are already planning this summer to visit Barcelona again thanks to this great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed at Alternative Creative Youth Home Hostel and had a great time, staff were very friendly and helpful, all the facilities you could ask for (fast wifi etc), very clean, fun but still quiet for sleeping. Great central location, can't rate this place too highly!
A special mention for Al and Michele! Just great. Love Barcelona!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

After six nights staying in this lovely place and finding many friends( travelers and hostels staffs) there, I can definitely say this is the must see place in Barcelona just like Church of the Sacred Family, because of its great guys like Al, Michele, Ali, Eryca. in first moment when we arrived there Michele talked briefly about the city attractions, events and gave us two maps of Barcelona:-), I just had the same feeling with other travelers that Alternative Creative Hostel is just like Home. Thanks guys you made our trip too good to be true. I can't believe how many nice friends I found in six days.

Room Tip: we stayed in room number one with six other travelers which was great, have no idea about the sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aminalizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#79 of 735 in Barcelona
124 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Montjuic
Pars Teatro Hostel
Pars Teatro Hostel
#82 of 735 in Barcelona
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#69 of 735 in Barcelona
1,289 reviews
Eixample
DestinationBCN Apartment Suites
Eixample
Serennia Apartamentos Ramblas - Placa Catalunya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Creative Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Address: Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring One of the Green Bells on the Bottom Row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £17 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful heritage building in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city, the Alternative Creative Youth Hostel is the perfect base from which to enjoy the city and make the most of its incredible opportunities. The hostel was created to offer affordable accommodation especially to open-minded, adventurous, young people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alternative Creative Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing