We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there!!! SOS”
Review of Hotel Fornos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fornos
Ranked #413 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay there!!! SOS”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is very centrical but the area and the square next to it are unsafe! Someone entrered in the hotel room and stole my staff (camera & computer)!!! Maybe they entered from the window or it was someone from inside the hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eirini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    44
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
16
40
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel Fornos biggest advantage is the l-o-c-a-t-i-o-n. Situtated 10 m. from the Rambla and 10 m. from the clasy and cool Plaza Real I wouldn't swith Fornos for another hotel. The interior of the room is a bit old, looks like from the 80's or so but who cares as long as you are in the middle of the action. The receptionists are cool, kind and fun. Breakfast a bit dull but still maximum points for Fornos from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khimki, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What are positive features?
1. Location in the very center of the city, you can easily reach port and Guell Palace by walking. There are many caffes around and small shops. Great flamenco show is given at the first floor in the same building (the entrance is from the side of the Roal Square)
2. Nice personnel.
3. Room cleaning is daily
What are negative features?
1. Poor sound isolation
2. Some parts of room are broken. For example, the door into bathroom didn't close, so we have to use chair to press it.
3. The price could be more low (compare with the prices for the hotels of the same type).

As for breakfast, it is very simple: croissants, coffee, butter, jogurt, omlet, etc.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for those who likes sleeping in the night. During my staying there in summer in front of my windows the stage was installed and loud music was played till 1 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The reception spoke almost no english, the breakfast was horrible. No fresh things, only 2 kinds of jelly and old sandwiches... Coffie you had to make yourself with a vending machine... The location was very loud and a lot of noice during the night.... it was till 5 AM till we could get some sleep.

Room Tip: Enkel als je heel cheap en basic wil verblijven.... Neem cappuchino als koffiekeuze, anders heb je b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtRoosbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

By any standards it's beyond me how this hotel got it's 2*. I've seen better hostels. My room was tiny - not more than 8 sq m. This room would served better for an emergency room resident on duty at the hospital. Bathroom - ugly, with somebody's hair all over the place. Noisy, even if the room wasn't overlooking the street. My room had one window (if you want to call it a window) - overlooking a plethora of AC units. Remarkable. Note: If you want a remote control for your room AC unit and TV set expect to pay a deposit of 10EUR.

Room Tip: Just find something better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Hotel Fornos is a little hotel in the centre of Barcelona.
Rooms are not very large but good and clean.
Breakfast is good but every day is the same. In the hotel is not a hairdryer.
The bathroom is very good and clean.
The staff is friendly and discreet.
This is a good hotel for trip but for relax is very noising.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgin_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Fornos for just a night after returning from a cruise of the Med (unbelievable). Very disappointed in hotel. Position in excellent right on the Ramblas. I had a single at the back and the room was old, needed renovation, the AC unit dripped then poured water over the floor, very dangerous as nearly slipped (yes I did have the windows closed). Bathroom old and shabby. I needed to print off my boarding pass but both Internet connections were broken and had to find an Internet cafe. The saving grace was that the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room for peace and quiet but expect terrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TootsieTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#199 of 513 in Barcelona
947 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#316 of 513 in Barcelona
359 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#220 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
2,354 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#379 of 513 in Barcelona
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fornos

Property: Hotel Fornos
Address: La Rambla 44, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fornos 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fornos Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Fornos Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing