We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Nearby Hotels
US$260
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$581
US$540
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Constanza Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$550
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$153
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$280
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Musik Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$366
US$323
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveller rating
747
782
165
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
782
165
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationgreat locationplaza espanabull ringolympic parkaerobus stopminute walklarge showermodern hotelbreakfast buffetbusy roaddouble bedspacious roompublic transporthop on hopthe air conditioningjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

1st time in Barcelona, booked hotel based on its proximity to the Olympic park where we had booked tickets for a concert. Easy transfer from the airport to the hotel via the 2A bus which charges €5.90 and takes approximately 15mins to drop you a mere 200 yards from the hotel, 1st stop. The hotel check in was smooth and quick, room was an inside room so very quiet, a decent size with large bathroom. Bed was again of decent size but was very firm, only slight dissapointment was the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room, only a minor issue but would've been nice to have the option. The hotel as stated is ideally located for the Placa d'Espanya and the main shops/bars of Ramblas being a good 20min walk away which wasn't an issue for me, but those who don't like a wander the metro is a mere 200 yards away and there are plenty of buses outside the hotel. Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of options including, bacon, sausages various types of eggs, pastries and cold meats and cheeses. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Gestor de Reputación Online at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much to dedicate a few minutes of your time to explain your stay on our hotel,
We're glad to see that you had in general a nice stay with us.
We hope that you enjoy the concert so much and also Barcelona.
We hope to see you again if you came back to Barcelona in the future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have been fortunate to stay here each year during the World Mobile Congress when up to 75,000 people decend on Barcelona for this big event. This year, I will be at Ayre Gran Via again. It is a must! The staff are so amazingly polite and helpful and the breakfasts are to die for! They even have my favourite Nespresso coffee machine in the restaurant - help yourself to the greatest coffee kick in the morning along with a wonderfully diverse buffet for breakfast. I have travelled the world as a journalist and stayed in many good hotels, but for me, Ayre Hotel Gran Via hits the number one spot for ease, assistance, understanding and service.

Room Tip: No tips really but you might get a long corridor walk to your room but it's worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KendrickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear KendrickLondon,

First of all thank you for choosing Ayre Hotel Gran via for your stay in Barcelona.
We’re glad to see that you had a nice stay with us. It's really nice to see that you enjoyed our services and our delicious breakfast.

We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,

Albert Tomillero
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is a remodeled modern hotel; located 1/2 block from the old bull fighting arena and a couple if blocks from the Art Museum.
It was clean; staff was pleasant. They loaned us another electrical adapter for our electrical necessities/they were helpful with directions and suggestions on what to do, see, or Eat.
The subway was across the street, the bus stops were 1/2 block away. Within a block in either direction there was a bar/grill/restaurants/a dollar type store/grocery store ( on bottom level of arena) and liquor store.
The hotel itself is very quiet. Breakfast was included in our stay and the number of choices was amazing; plus you can order any egg or omelet from the chef to prepare. Very good fruit and pastries and coffee.
The rooms themselves were quite small but the bathroom and shower very spacious. Upon suggestion at the front desk we did the hop on and off bus for two days and it was wonderful(discounted tickets if you buy them at the hotel and senior discount also)
Loved Barcelona and will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear thetravelers66,

Thank you for your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you so much for your opinion and your nice words about the staff and our facilities
We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,

Albert Tomillero
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here over New Year and loved it. Okay, it's not in the heart of Barcelona, but with the Metro a two minute walk away, that's not anything to get upset about. We bought the five day pass for 29 Euros, which we though was very reasonable for a European city.
The actual hotel is clean, modern and the friendly staff speak good English. Our room was a good size, with a comfortable bed and one of the biggest bathrooms I have had in a European hotel room. It was clean and in good repair. Thankfully, we got a restful sleep every night, despite our room facing the road. We also ate in the hotel one afternoon and enjoyed our food very much.
This hotel had the huge bonus of the New Year's celebrations being literally round the corner at Montjuic. The fountains were lit up and there were performances and fireworks. Then, once it was all over, all we had to do was go back round the corner, which was a major advantage, considering the huge queues for the Metro and buses.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here if we were to visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dubaipenguinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear dubaipenguinchick,

First of all thank you for choosing Ayre Hotel Gran via for your stay in Barcelona. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Certainly our location is one our strengths and you have many metro stops and bus stops around the hotel , doing it easily move around the city. We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Thank you so much for your opinion and your nice words about the staff and our facilities
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,

Albert Tomillero
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My first trip to Barcelona. Nervous and excited. With all the abuses having being hurled upon at me by the friends who are fans of the club belonging to this city I was sure that my trip would be cursed :P
Well no! This hotel though booked by colleague for the stay was there to just change everything. Right from the friendly and multi lingual staff they have at the desk , to the free wi fi.
It was all pretty awesome. The hotel was pretty close to my place of work so I had to absolutely not spend anything during the day. Taxis are easy to find and the airport is like 35 euros by cab. The airport shuttle can be found across the street at regular intervals. The market place Ramblas is quite nearby and can be accessed cheaply by even taxis. The hotel offers a great bar and restaurant with quite inexpensive options. The bar is well stocked and promises to take care of your needs.
I should not forget to mention Robert from the desk who is pretty helpful!! Thanks to him I had a great time taking a cycling tour of the city!  I shall not forget the same !!
The hotel provides good rates and the breakfast is totally worth it. Cheaper bookings are surely available online!!
An onsite laundry service is available and quite fast too!
Well I did travel to the stadium to pick up a few souvenirs for my little brother. The fastest and easiest way to travel there is the metro. The staff at the hotel shall be able to explain the same.
Barcelona is a beautiful place. The only advice to people from Asia is to carry enough clothes to be able to deal with the cold weather.
The fastest connections from India are on Swiss Air via Zurich but I personally love Air France!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street if possible and not the ones at the end of corners. The hotel is in demand all year considering it's proximity to the Fira Barcelona offices.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEETA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Mr Jeeta,

Wow, that is an amazing review of your stay on the hotel and about the city of Barcelona.
We're so glad to see that you had a nice stay with us and you enjour all our services and facilities.
It was your first trip to Barcelona but i think it won't be the last one :)
Thank you so much for that amazing review of the city and the hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Best Regards,

Carlos Burgos
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews