We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff ,Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ranked #117 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Staff ,Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location ,we stayed to be close to the magic fountain,it was 5 mins walk away,we were also near the red line tourist bus stop.The rooms were modern with big bathrooms,however the bath was slippery when getting out of the shower,so be careful,what really made this hotel were the staff they were so friendly and really seemed to care that your stay was enjoyable,which it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Alan V,
Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Ayre Hotel Gran Vía.
We appreciate your nice words about our staff and facilities.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    677
    148
    24
    17
See reviews for
215
654
88
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this "4-star" hotel which seemed like a bargain in order to spend an extra day in Barcelona after our cruise, sadly the whole experience left us a little disappointed.

When we got to check in (well after check in had opened) we were told our double room wasn't ready and we'd have to either take a twin room or "go away for an hour" and hope that they can sort one by then. The managed it in the end.

The room was attractive but basic. The "double bed" was two metal camp beds pushed together and BOY did they creek in the night.

We'd expect a 4-star hotel to have an iron & board in each room, but we had to request one from reception. When it turned up the cable was VERY short and dangerously frayed - never before had ironing been so scary and annoying - we also had to return it straight away was it was in demand.

We also expected at 4-star to have two bedside tables, but alas we only got one, so I had to put all my stuff on the floor next to the bed.

Then there's the lighting / electrical issue. There was ONE switch to control all the lights in the room, so when getting in from our evening out we could have ALL the lights on, or ALL the lights off - including the bedside lamp. When you turn the lights off (or go out taking your keycard with you) it also turns off all the sockets in the room - resulting in us both having completely flat mobile phones the next day.

Disappointing. They might get a 3-star rating in the UK, but nowhere near they 4-star they claim.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukpositivelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear ukpositivelad
First of all, Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We regret that you have had not good stay with us.
Concerning the ironing incident, in our hotel we have a laundry service during the day, for ironing and washing , anyway for the guests that needs urgently ironing their clothes and doesn't want the laundry service, we offer a iron and a ironing board .
About the electrical issue in your room, we will check with the maintenance department to assure that everything will work normally.
I'll share your comments and suggestions to evaluate it and offer a better service.
Please consider my apologies,

Albert Tomillero
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very modern and nice designed hotel with a good location in Barcelona. Close to hop on hop off buses (red line) and to min from Magic fountain witch is a spectacular sight. Walking distance to different sights. Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a nice wiew to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Geir_J0,
Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay in the Ayre Hotel Gran Vía.
We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again when you come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is located next to Fira de Barcelona and Plaça d'Espanya and it is perfect both for business and leisure trips. The stop of the aerobus from/to El Prat airport (excellent service both day and night) is 1 minute far from the hotel.
Room and bathroom are big and clean, wifi worked perfectly and I particularly appreciated free water in the minibar.
The staff is very helpful and I enjoyed my stay.
I had been in Barcelona many other times, but I had never stayed in this area because I was afraid of noise, traffic and distance from the inner city centre, but I definitely changed my mind after this stay!
I suggest this hotel to everyone and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Irene_85,
Thank you for your nice review about your stay, we really appreciate your nice words about our facilities.
Certainly our location is one of our strong points, making easy to move around the city by different ways.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azerbaijan, Baku
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I loved the staff of this hotel very much! Very polite and always helpful. Hotel is located near Magical Fountains and National Museum of Art (from where you can make fantastic pictures of the whole town). There is a metro station nearby so you can easily reach any touristic point you want. Rooms are clean, comfortable and big. WIFI works throughout the hotel. A big Shopping Center (the former building of Corrida) is located in 2 minutes walking distance. Breakfast is quite good.

Thank you very much Ayre Hotel Gran Via for your hospitality! With respect from Azerbaijan, Ilgar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Azerino,
Than you so much for your nice review about your stay with us.
Your nice words about our staff and our facilities encourage us to continue working on the same line, offering a better service to our guests.
We really hope to see you again when you come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a very good connection to many attractions such as magical fountain montjuic and the museum200m, the Olympic venue within walking, the barcelonetta beach, passeig garcia,las ramblas as well as ave.diagonal approx. 15mins walk. Alternatively, the metro is 100meter and the bus station 50m right from the hotel, where it gets us there in 5mins to many of above mention places.So in terms of location, just so comfortable to go anywhere, you can even find the connection to the mansaraet. Around the hotel 150meter the converted shopping mall las areans, where there are at least 7 fine dining rest., also café, there are also small cafes, fresh market, another 7min ride with the bus 46 going directly to the gran via shopping mall. Not to mention the aerobus bus from the airport which runs ever 10mins from and to the airport just 1min walk from the hotel. So how convenient is that?
The room was comfortable, it is spacious for European standard, the bathroom as well, the only thing would be the wifi connection sort of weak. I would love to see a strong or at least fair signal, for a business traveller like me, reliable connection is vital, though its free. There are several English channels, although love to see the equivalent channels from the French, german,austrian also swiss,but there were not available.
I don't think this hotel has a fitness or did I miss something, no pool either, not a big fun of these things. One vital thing I would like to address is, the accuracy of the standard of the hotel, as a business traveller I stayed in many different hotels and I can tell the basic info during and after the stay. Example, I was not explained about the length of my stay, the type of room & price, not either explained about the facilities, hours of the restaurant, etc, during checked out nothing verified if my stay were pleasant or anything consume in the minibar.
I wasn't even offered a map, until I asked for it. The other thing would be the cleanliness of the room, though it was cleaned everyday, the bin was not emptied, the tv, telephone and the desk were dusty, the black stains on the wall also not being looked into.
But overall, we were happy, as we were there just for sleeping during the night+++we were very independent traveller. Though their level of english very basic, the staff are mostly very smiley in nature. Ohhh...one other thing, the desk to check in so small that the other persons next to you will hear everything, I think it is vital to have a space in between of each client to avoid privacy intrusions and I didn't like that each time I go and out of the front door, a smell from the kitchen, so uncomfortable, please address this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jliscck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear jliscck,
First of all we appreciate that you have taken some minutes to review your stay with us.
Concerning the check-in and check out process, the lack of information we provided you with, surprised us. We give high importance to this aspects, we try to answer all customer questions before they even ask about them. Basic information such as: duration of the stay, type of room, included servicies, complementary things, restaurant timetables, Offering maps, amenities or any other tool that could be needed during the stay. All of this is part of our standard.

Regarding the cleanliness, we will check with our team to make sure it doesnt happen again.

Please accept our apologies,

Your comments and suggestions encourage us to improve day by day , working to offer a better service to our guests.
We hope to see you again when you come back to Barcelona.

Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

First time in an Ayre Hotel.
Booked here because of its convenient location next to the Fira Montjuic.
Rooms are clean, efficient, service friendly and accommodating. breakfast is very good.
also very good Wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear rkoopmans,
Thank you so much for your nice review about us, we really appreciate that you have taken a few minutes to give us your opinion about your stay.
We hope to see you again when you come back to Barcelona
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#214 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
#297 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Property: Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Address: Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built Ayre Hotel Gran Via enjoys a privileged location in the Plaza de Espana, close to the Montjuic Castle, where one can enjoy the popular tourist spots of Barcelona. The 188 rooms provide a modern and minimalist ambience with a mini-bar, TV, hairdryer, safe deposit box and WI-FI system. Guests will also find a cafeteria, restaurant, garage, and modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Hotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Barcelona
Ayre Hotel Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing