We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ranked #111 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice hotel with nice and helpful staff. Just what we needed for a few days stay in Barcelona. The hotel is conveniently located, close to a lot of sights and hop-on hop-off bus. Good room, however, not very big, but for a few days we didn't need more space. Good bathroom too, but the shower door did not close properly, which was a bit awkward. On arrival the first day, although the kitchen wasn't open yet, they prepared something to eat for us which we appreciated. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear JoanneBrussels,
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it.
We glad to know that you have a nice stay with us.
I'll share your comments about the shower door with the maintenence department to assure that everything will work normally.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    661
    147
    24
    16
See reviews for
207
645
87
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
515 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

the best is the service - all the team is helpful and very nice. the rooms are basic but OK. there is a free water minibar, free wi-fi and the price, very accessible. the location isn't the best unless you want to be around the fair or plaza España.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabaOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear SabaOmer,
First of all, Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We glad to know that you have a nice stay with us.
We appreciate your comments and suggestions, help us to offer a better service day by day.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location ,we stayed to be close to the magic fountain,it was 5 mins walk away,we were also near the red line tourist bus stop.The rooms were modern with big bathrooms,however the bath was slippery when getting out of the shower,so be careful,what really made this hotel were the staff they were so friendly and really seemed to care that your stay was enjoyable,which it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Alan V,
Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Ayre Hotel Gran Vía.
We appreciate your nice words about our staff and facilities.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this "4-star" hotel which seemed like a bargain in order to spend an extra day in Barcelona after our cruise, sadly the whole experience left us a little disappointed.

When we got to check in (well after check in had opened) we were told our double room wasn't ready and we'd have to either take a twin room or "go away for an hour" and hope that they can sort one by then. The managed it in the end.

The room was attractive but basic. The "double bed" was two metal camp beds pushed together and BOY did they creek in the night.

We'd expect a 4-star hotel to have an iron & board in each room, but we had to request one from reception. When it turned up the cable was VERY short and dangerously frayed - never before had ironing been so scary and annoying - we also had to return it straight away was it was in demand.

We also expected at 4-star to have two bedside tables, but alas we only got one, so I had to put all my stuff on the floor next to the bed.

Then there's the lighting / electrical issue. There was ONE switch to control all the lights in the room, so when getting in from our evening out we could have ALL the lights on, or ALL the lights off - including the bedside lamp. When you turn the lights off (or go out taking your keycard with you) it also turns off all the sockets in the room - resulting in us both having completely flat mobile phones the next day.

Disappointing. They might get a 3-star rating in the UK, but nowhere near they 4-star they claim.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukpositivelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear ukpositivelad
First of all, Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We regret that you have had not good stay with us.
Concerning the ironing incident, in our hotel we have a laundry service during the day, for ironing and washing , anyway for the guests that needs urgently ironing their clothes and doesn't want the laundry service, we offer a iron and a ironing board .
About the electrical issue in your room, we will check with the maintenance department to assure that everything will work normally.
I'll share your comments and suggestions to evaluate it and offer a better service.
Please consider my apologies,

Albert Tomillero
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very modern and nice designed hotel with a good location in Barcelona. Close to hop on hop off buses (red line) and to min from Magic fountain witch is a spectacular sight. Walking distance to different sights. Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a nice wiew to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Geir_J0,
Thank you for taking some minutes to review your stay in the Ayre Hotel Gran Vía.
We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again when you come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is located next to Fira de Barcelona and Plaça d'Espanya and it is perfect both for business and leisure trips. The stop of the aerobus from/to El Prat airport (excellent service both day and night) is 1 minute far from the hotel.
Room and bathroom are big and clean, wifi worked perfectly and I particularly appreciated free water in the minibar.
The staff is very helpful and I enjoyed my stay.
I had been in Barcelona many other times, but I had never stayed in this area because I was afraid of noise, traffic and distance from the inner city centre, but I definitely changed my mind after this stay!
I suggest this hotel to everyone and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Irene_85,
Thank you for your nice review about your stay, we really appreciate your nice words about our facilities.
Certainly our location is one of our strong points, making easy to move around the city by different ways.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azerbaijan, Baku
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I loved the staff of this hotel very much! Very polite and always helpful. Hotel is located near Magical Fountains and National Museum of Art (from where you can make fantastic pictures of the whole town). There is a metro station nearby so you can easily reach any touristic point you want. Rooms are clean, comfortable and big. WIFI works throughout the hotel. A big Shopping Center (the former building of Corrida) is located in 2 minutes walking distance. Breakfast is quite good.

Thank you very much Ayre Hotel Gran Via for your hospitality! With respect from Azerbaijan, Ilgar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Azerino,
Than you so much for your nice review about your stay with us.
Your nice words about our staff and our facilities encourage us to continue working on the same line, offering a better service to our guests.
We really hope to see you again when you come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Albert Tomillero
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#66 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Hotel
BCN Montjuic Hotel
#312 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#155 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Property: Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Address: Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built Ayre Hotel Gran Via enjoys a privileged location in the Plaza de Espana, close to the Montjuic Castle, where one can enjoy the popular tourist spots of Barcelona. The 188 rooms provide a modern and minimalist ambience with a mini-bar, TV, hairdryer, safe deposit box and WI-FI system. Guests will also find a cafeteria, restaurant, garage, and modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ayre Hotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Barcelona
Ayre Hotel Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing