We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in a terrific local neighborhood in Barcelona.”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #282 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel in a terrific local neighborhood in Barcelona.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at Hotel Market and I have a hard time staying anywhere else. The rooms are well designed, staff is great, free bottled water and apples in the lobby are excellent touches. Wifi is free throughout, and the restaurant is excellent for lunch or dinner. (Didn't try the breakfast, as its far more economical to grab a coffee and pastry at Bellapan across the street for €1.40.)

The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is great and we spent a lot of time there. Mainly caters to locals, so being able to habla espanol, or better yet, Catalan, will help. Sant Antoni market is across the street abs is being totally renovated, but the shops are open in a temporary location. Many good restaurants, cafes and bars are nearby (including the fantastic Bar
Ramon). Yet, it is very quiet at night. Two metro stops are walking distance, the airport express bus stops just around the corner. Las Ramblas is a 15 minute walk away if you want to see if you can outsmart the pickpockets. Passeig de Gracia also a 15 min walk.

Fantastic place to stay. Perfect combination of price, location and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    377
    134
    47
    21
See reviews for
79
430
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south west
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

just back from barcelona the market hotel was a choice i made using tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed .as previous reviewers have said the front rooms can be noisy with traffic but if you are a good sleeper not too bad.we had breakfast one day at the hotel a bit pricy at 20 euros for two but we could not fault the choice or the amount on offer.we had dinner in the restaurant once and this was excellent and such good value. the staff were always willing to talk and help out,free water is a great idea! all in all a very good choice thanks to the people of tripadvisor

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper stay away from the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We liked the location of the hotel - about a 15 min walk from Las Ramblas in a quiet residential area that still had plenty of restaurants and cafes. There was some confusion with my reservation and the initial reservation agent was going to charge us a higher rate than necessary but we were fortunate to get a very nice reservation agent when our room was finally ready in the afternoon. My biggest complaint was that despite the quiet neighborhood, the terrible sound-proofing in the hotel meant that I had to sleep (badly) with ear plugs in. The room next door watching tv sounded like the tv was in our bedroom! Breakfast was a bit expensive but very generous and fresh buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoette0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here pre-cruise.
Location - About 20min walk to La Ramblas, but two metros within 5min walk. Bars/restauarnts in vicinty of hotel.

Room- Modern but inkeeping with style of hotel. Bathroom great and shower huge, all very clean. Major fault is the very thin walls! Could hear every bang/conversation in the hotel & outside. I am a light sleeper with earplugs. Request a room on a high floor as noise from street is less.

Hotel - Reception area is lovely and free water. Restaurant very boutique and quite luxurious, only had breakfast which is 10euro each. Small bar area next to restaurant very quaint and prices reasonable. If hot, area to sit outside is pleasant.

Overall, I would definintely reccomend the hotel as a base to explore the city, although take some earplugs! For the rate we got (50euro room) it was a bargain and great start to our holiday.

Room Tip: High Floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenster212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Barcelona staying on a room only basis at the Market Hotel. We booked a suite, as this was only 10 - 20 euros more per night and would recommend this if staying at the hotel. The hotel is in a good location, 3-4 minutes walk to the Sant Antoni metro stop and 10 minutes to walk into the Ramblas, the area itself is in a suberb, as opposed to being in the tourist area, so it was relaxed and quiet.
The hotel has the following positives;
The suite was large, well designed and had it's own private terrace.
It was clean and stylish. The rooms were cleaned daily.
The bar was good.
You get free water and apple everyday at reception.
The mini bar (soft drinks only stocked) is free of charge.

The negatives;
Some finishing touches were missing, such as an ipod docking station, the bathroom had a large double bath with a shower head over, but no taps to fill the bath.
It took around 5 minutes for the water to get warm for a shower.

Overall, this is a restaurant and bar with some rooms, so the attention / service is based in these areas and not necessarily on the hotel guests. The waiting staff at breakfast standby and gossip rather than serve, yet the service in the bar was excellent.

We did have a nice stay and would probably return as we thought the value for money on the suite was good, but we have stayed in nicer places.

Room Tip: Check out the deals for the suites, as these seemed to be better value than standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-Whitehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We've not stayed at the hotel but we've eaten at this place for the last three times we've been to Barcelona and it's been great every time. It's definitely one of "our places" in Barcelona and we would highly recommend it. We were able to get a table without reservation at 8 o'clock, the serving staff were really friendly and hard-working. Our party of four enjoyed delicious starters and tasty mains (Iberian sirloin was particularly great), there's a great selection on the menu, I highly recommend eating at this place if you're visiting Barcelona.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steeeeeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Budget prices but not so budget accommodation... this place feels more like a boutique hotel... in fact both it & the area reminded us of a place we stayed at in the Lower East Side of Manhattan... great room, really good size. Fabulous bathroom with the biggest shower cubicle ever! Desk staff super helpful & rooms kept really clean. Breakfast buffet was good value for money but wasn't overly impressed by the restaurant's evening menu, nice food but portion sizes were small & choices were limited!
There's free bottled water & apples at the desk for all guests... a lovely touch!
Only downside is the location, it's a bit of a walk or a couple of metro stops from most of the main Barcelona attractions... but if you don't mind that then this could be the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#131 of 512 in Barcelona
1,831 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#168 of 512 in Barcelona
1,266 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#67 of 512 in Barcelona
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,408 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 512 in Barcelona
748 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing