We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Friendly Hotel, Barcelona”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #301 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a wonderful two nights we had in Barcelona at the Market Hotel.
Most divine Mojito too!
Centrally located with quaint coffee shops and tapas bars around.
Staff at reception really friendly. Martha. So amazingly kind. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Suite. Amazing shower and bath tub!!! Huge! And massive bed. So comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oomesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Perfect location to explore the city by bus and metro. Very warm welcome, nice hotel, friendly stuff. Our room was a little loud in the night and in the morning. The restaurant was allways crowded of spanish people mixed of all age. What is a good sign. We had dinner one evening - but haven´t had good luck. Food was oke - unfortunately not more... but in relation to the price more than fair enough. We might come back again ! Thank you market hotel for having us. PS: I was travelling with a wheelchair... it was all accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a great little find the Hotel Market was!

Spanish hotels are no longer the disappointing, grubby affairs that so many of us have come to expect. What really makes the Hotel Market stand out is the balance between decor, service and price - Here, you can have a pleasant hotel stay without breaking the bank.

As a lot of reviewers have already noted the hotel has a lovely boutique feel. The owners have clearly put a lot of effort into the room furnishings and the vibe of the entire hotel.

Best bits:
1. Fantastic rainfall showers and oversized wash basins.
2. Free WiFi throughout the hotel.
3. Comfy beds, good linen and decent pillows.
4. Despite previous reviews I noticed very little noise from other rooms.
5. Helpful, friendly reception staff.

Windows in external rooms only look out into the courtyard - luckily the windows are frosted. The TV's offer just a few channels and there is no radio. I personally liked the room lighting although some of my party found the rooms to be a little dark.

The hotel is set a few blocks away from La Rambla on the 'wrong side' of the Barri Gothic. Don't let this put you off. Despite being in a less exclusive neighbourhood the hotel is still very central and is just around the corner from Urgell metro station.

Planning on visiting La Sagrada Família?
The queues can be off putting to say the least. Visit the official TicketMaster website and buy your tickets in advance. It's the same price and offers timed slots at a separate entrance away from the crowds. If you are in Spain you can collect your tickets from selected ATM's of the "La Caixa" bank. You don't have to be a Spanish resident or a bank customer. A free service that is very cool! Get to La Sagrada early - the church soon fills up but if you get there for 9am you'll have the towers almost to yourself and the best photo opportunities throughout the basilica.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are bathed in sunlight from the lovely balcony doors - But if you are a light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wowzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we spend 5 nights at this hotel and enjoyed the center location easy access to metro and bus just a few steps away. The reception staff were very helpful. Small hotel with an individual touch, we appreciated specially the free drinking water bottled at the reception and the complementary apples as well. The room was good, bathroom nice, would have been nice to have a mini bar / fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We only stayed one night and it was not enough, really enjoyed the hotel and staff. We stayed on the concierge level....they always had water, coke, coffee, fruit, afternoon sandwiches and desserts, evening wine/beer and hors d' oeuvres, and breakfast in the am. We loved the rooftop pool and we given a $25 voucher at check in, which we used for lunch and drinks at the pool. The rooms beautiful and beds comfortable. We adore Charleston and will stay here again, top notch place.

Room Tip: Go for the concierge level, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I am a non budget chick, and loved this place. What did I like? The location was excellent to the Fira Barcelona where my meeting was. (About 15 minute walk). Also about same distance to ramblas. I felt very safe, and the walking routes were very safe. Just walk down the Gran Via if you are worried. Staff was very nice. Very helpful. The restaurant was good. I loved my room which was a junior suite with a very large terrace. Excellent.

The room was not fancy, and if you are looking for 5 star service, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for somewhere clean and comfortable with nice staff and good location. This is for you. No one to carry bags to your room, but that's fine, I travel light. No one to bother you with turn down service or checking the mini bar. There is none of that.

Reviews about noise worried me, but I was not bothered by noise.

I don't recommend the brunch though. It's a lot of fried food which is not my thing, but otherwise the restaurant is good.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite. Lots of room and a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Market hotel is a very nicely done, well-located and decently priced hotel in centre Barcelona. The staff is very friendly, and was extremely helpful (and flexible) when we checked in very early. The room are great, with nice design features and many come with lovely balconies. The hotel offers bottles of water and fresh fruit 24/7, which comes in very handy when going on long walks through town. The place is close by Barcelona's key attractions - all within short walking distance - but still quiet enough to feel relaxed. There is also a good restaurant where the breakfast is served and which seems popular for lunch and dinner; and a great bar with a special gin&tonic menu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnight_in_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#227 of 519 in Barcelona
500 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#87 of 519 in Barcelona
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#79 of 519 in Barcelona
2,324 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#276 of 519 in Barcelona
1,394 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#61 of 519 in Barcelona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Carrer del Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £43 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing