We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #300 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel as it looked a bit different from the usual chain hotels which have all the amenities but no special feel. As we walked into reception we were definitely wowed by the view to the restaurant. Arriving at 11am we didn't expect to get into our room but reception staff were very accommodating and offered us a choice of rooms available at that moment. We were on the 3rd floor in a room with a balcony looking onto the street. Stylish room and bathroom, plenty of space, old style wardrobe almost like an antique with safe inside. No problems with steet noise. Very comfortable beds.
Location was another reason for choosing this hotel as I'd previously lived in this area. It's not right in the centre but has so much close to hand. For example, Sant Antonio metro stop 5 mins away is on the purple line which goes to Sagrada familia cathedral, the number 64 bus to Barceloneta stops on Calle Tamarit and takes you to the city beach. Walking to Placa Catalunya probably takes 15 mins depending on how side tracked you get by all the interesting little streets you walk through en route. Several supermarkets and local bars nearby. We also found the aerobus stops two streets up from the hotel on the way back to the airport (nearest stop when coming from airport is probably Placa Universitat).
I got a special offer price so found it very good value. Would definitely look to stay here again provided if was within my budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia667788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in a Junior suite which wasn't anything to write home about. it was a large rom with a small back terrace. The restaurant had decent food, but were timid to make changes when I asked. The bartenders are really nice and have great tips on places to go. I was pleased but not "wow-ed."

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgmigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We booked a city break to barcelona at christmas, and as always, the prices for decent hotels are pretty high in the city. This one however, was reasonably priced, a stylish boutique hotel, at a fair price; so we went for it. when we arrived it did not disappoint! we arrived on the early flight from malaga, so we were a little early for check in, however, they ensured we got to our room as soon as possible. The room didn't disappoint, we had read that they were very small, but there is plenty of room, and the bathroom was lovely. Very clean, shabby chic, boutique hotel. One of the days we arrived back to find the room had not been cleaned, it was 4pm, but as soon as we called reception they made sure someone came right away, and gave us a drink on the house.
A special thanks goes to the guy who worked in the bar Rosso, he was so lovely and helpful to us, really funny guy to chat to. Gutted we cant remember his name, but hes the tall guy with sort of dreadlock look.
If i was to pick a downfall, it is a pretty noisy hotel, not because of the sorts of guests, but because the walls are thin. But dont let this put you off. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor, means there will not be people walking back and forth past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howsonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a wonderful two nights we had in Barcelona at the Market Hotel.
Most divine Mojito too!
Centrally located with quaint coffee shops and tapas bars around.
Staff at reception really friendly. Martha. So amazingly kind. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Suite. Amazing shower and bath tub!!! Huge! And massive bed. So comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oomesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Perfect location to explore the city by bus and metro. Very warm welcome, nice hotel, friendly stuff. Our room was a little loud in the night and in the morning. The restaurant was allways crowded of spanish people mixed of all age. What is a good sign. We had dinner one evening - but haven´t had good luck. Food was oke - unfortunately not more... but in relation to the price more than fair enough. We might come back again ! Thank you market hotel for having us. PS: I was travelling with a wheelchair... it was all accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a great little find the Hotel Market was!

Spanish hotels are no longer the disappointing, grubby affairs that so many of us have come to expect. What really makes the Hotel Market stand out is the balance between decor, service and price - Here, you can have a pleasant hotel stay without breaking the bank.

As a lot of reviewers have already noted the hotel has a lovely boutique feel. The owners have clearly put a lot of effort into the room furnishings and the vibe of the entire hotel.

Best bits:
1. Fantastic rainfall showers and oversized wash basins.
2. Free WiFi throughout the hotel.
3. Comfy beds, good linen and decent pillows.
4. Despite previous reviews I noticed very little noise from other rooms.
5. Helpful, friendly reception staff.

Windows in external rooms only look out into the courtyard - luckily the windows are frosted. The TV's offer just a few channels and there is no radio. I personally liked the room lighting although some of my party found the rooms to be a little dark.

The hotel is set a few blocks away from La Rambla on the 'wrong side' of the Barri Gothic. Don't let this put you off. Despite being in a less exclusive neighbourhood the hotel is still very central and is just around the corner from Urgell metro station.

Planning on visiting La Sagrada Família?
The queues can be off putting to say the least. Visit the official TicketMaster website and buy your tickets in advance. It's the same price and offers timed slots at a separate entrance away from the crowds. If you are in Spain you can collect your tickets from selected ATM's of the "La Caixa" bank. You don't have to be a Spanish resident or a bank customer. A free service that is very cool! Get to La Sagrada early - the church soon fills up but if you get there for 9am you'll have the towers almost to yourself and the best photo opportunities throughout the basilica.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are bathed in sunlight from the lovely balcony doors - But if you are a light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wowzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we spend 5 nights at this hotel and enjoyed the center location easy access to metro and bus just a few steps away. The reception staff were very helpful. Small hotel with an individual touch, we appreciated specially the free drinking water bottled at the reception and the complementary apples as well. The room was good, bathroom nice, would have been nice to have a mini bar / fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
3,187 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#132 of 515 in Barcelona
1,963 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#181 of 515 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#172 of 515 in Barcelona
1,282 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#191 of 515 in Barcelona
486 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 515 in Barcelona
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £55 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing