We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #280 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
North Wales
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stated here over a long weekend with family. What a great little find, from the lovely friendly check in, through to the team in the bar and at breakfast. Situated close enough to the action but far enough away to be relaxing, the Market Hotel strikes a perfect balance. We will be staying again in the not too distant future, and we will be recommending it to,our friends. We walked most of the time, as it's location was ideal for that, with plenty of bars, coffee shops on the way to break up a thirsty journey in the city heat.
The bar is fab, a real decadent place to enjoy a gin ( from the large gin menu) or just a beer.
I throughly enjoyed my stay here. Well done to the team!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sion,
Thanks for your visit & review.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your visit to our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again on the next trip on Barcelona.
I also encourage you to visit any of our other hotels and restaurants of Andilana group
Best wishes,
Elena Nabau
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    367
    128
    46
    21
See reviews for
76
416
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Maybe it was the room I got, but I was disappointed in the hotel. Location is adequate, as the Old Antoni Market is closed now. The neighborhood is not touristy, so that's good, but in a way it is bad, because it is not near anything you want to do or see, including good Tapes bars. Barcelona is easy to get around, with plenty of buses and metro, and walking is always a choice. The staff was extremely helpful in offering suggestions on where and how to go someplace. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with the usual standard fair of juice, breads, meat, cheese, cereal, and they had a do it yourself espresso machine which made every morning special. No cut up fruit, which is something I like in the morning. The bar/lounge/terrace is very relaxing and pleasant, (Though right under my room's window, and even though I was on the 4th floor, I felt like I was in the bar...and considering how late people stay up in Spain, this was annoying. Thank goodness for my sound machine.) I ate dinner in the restaurant two nights, and was extremely dissapointed in both nights' meals. Considering the crowd they get, I expected something over the top. But alas, I was wrong. You are better off, leaving the neighborhood and seeking out a Tapes bar or restaurant elsewhere. Now to my room. I'm trying to think of something good to say, and all I can think is that the shower was nice. OK, here goes, noisy uncarpeted hallways, uncarpeted rooms, no peep hole, no security chain, not enough closet space or hangers, tiny dresser, no place to "put" things down on, one uncomfortable chair (which I ended up using to "put" things on), very badly lit, very noisy from bar scene below (no double glazing), tiny TV with poor reception and very limited stations and difficult to use remote, difficult to use AC remote, not the best housekeeping.

Room Tip: My friend's room was on the 6th floor facing the street with a small balcony. It was bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mery,
First of all thank you for taking the time to communicate the incident, we work very hard every day to improve in order to ensure that our customers have a great experience at our hotel.

We regret that your stay with us was not to your liking, we have plans to make improvements to the facilities in the coming months. So that events like this do not happen again in the future. Both the Market Hotel, like all Andilana Group we are committed to maintain high standards of quality in both service and facilities.
We hope for a second chance and see you soon with us in any of the restaurants & Hotels of Andilana Grup.
Yours sincerely,
Elena Nabau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked a stay on 20th June at this boutique hotel following our cruise. It was beautiful . Such friendly helpful staff and such a chic hotel in a great central location. Room was beautiful with huge big bathroom and outside decked area. Restaurant fantastic although never had breakfast had 3 course evening meal with wine bread and water for 20 Euro! Will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Seasonedtraveller072 ,
Thanks for your comments.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your vist in our hotel.
we recommend you to visit our other hotels and restaurants of Grup Andilana in Barcelona.
Best wishes,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights in May and had a very large Jr. suite room with king bed. Nice large bathroom with separate rain shower and large bathtub. Our room also included a very large private deck with chairs and table. The hotel has a nice restaurant with moderate pricing. The buffet breakfast was average so we ate right across the street at a delicious and inexpensive bakery. Good coffee and pastries. The hotel has a nice location off the main street so it's quiet at night. Only about 7-10 minute walk to the Ramblas. We would definitely stay here again. The only negative was that they didn't provide an iron and ironing board.

Room Tip: Purchase a Jr. suite as it is worth the money to have the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhunteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This Hotel is positioned well just a few blocks from Catyluna which is where all the hype is and right near La Rambla. Nice outdoor sitting area for drinks or dinner and the pricing on the menu is resonable. Hotel rooms have been renovated and are nice, but a touch on the small side. We loved our stay and would definatley stay again in ever in Barcelona again.
Only downfall was that you are only supplied with two pillows on the queen bed, solution was easy, we just asked and they delivered additional pillows on request.
Thanks for a great stay in wonderful Spain.

Room Tip: Eat In the food is great and well priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgray1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The parking to the hotel is opposite. The hotel is also a very busy restaurant and its easy to miss. Our room had a 4 poster bed and a terrace in our junior suite. The decor is unusual but it seems to work. The bath was a double, it was huge. Quite central about 10 minutes walk to the centre. We had a wonderful stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a double bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were very nice with a great bathroom. The restaurant and the bar were very stylish. Although slightly off the beaten track it was right in the middle between Plaza Catalonia and Plaza Espagna
A great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalahast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#61 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#131 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#72 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#211 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#107 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing