We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Market Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Els Angels(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ana Maria Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Evenia Rocafort(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Soho Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
254
414
155
60
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
414
155
60
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssant antonihuge baththin wallspoble seclovely hoteltwo nightsgreat showerjunior suitenoise from the streetlarge terracepowerful showerair conditionerquiet roomwater pressurela ramblapublic transportlight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice this year, the last occasion was for a week at the beginning of August. Both rooms we occupied were quite similar. The positives we found were the helpful reception staff (particularly the older lady apologies for ageism!!!), the great location (near two metro stations and a market), the comfy beds and the separate storage area. The negatives on both occasions was the thriftiness in the provision of shower gels and shampoos and on the second occasion, noise from neighbouring rooms, particularly at the weekend. The walls must be paper thin, because we heard every word of an argument a couple were having next door at 2 am! However the city noise was not an issue for us. I cant comment on the food because we did not eat there. There are excellent restaurants in the vicinity. i would recommend this for its good location.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My boyfriend stayed at the Market hotel for 4 nights. We chose the hotel as the decor looked great and it was really reasonable. Our first impressions were good, the interiors were really nice. Our room was small and slightly dark, however the bathroom was large and it had a huge shower which was nice. Beds were comfy and the place was very clean. We had drinks in the bar on the first night and ate in the restaurant, the bar was really nice and relaxed and the bartender was very friendly.
The food was pretty average, I expected more from the opulent decor, but again we had a nice time!
The location is great for those who don't mind walking, we literally walked all over Barcelona from the hotel, everywhere seemed to be within easy reach. We also found some really nice coffee shops and bars near by which was nice.
Although the decor of the hotel is great, it is pretty rough around the edges and it seems as though not very much money has been spent on it's upkeep. This didn't put us off at all but it could definitely do with a lick of paint here or there. Also, menus in the bar/restaurant and information cards in our room had become tatty, which takes away from the overall feel for the hotel. It wouldn't take much to update these little things!
Another drag back were the noise levels, we could hear noise coming for the other rooms, one of the ajoinning rooms even had a party which kept us awake!
The staff on reception left a lot to be desired, when we called to let them know about the party they were pretty rude and didn't apologise at all. Also, when we left they didn't ask us if we enjoyed our stay, which I found pretty odd.
Overall however, good hotel for the price, you get what you pay for I guess so can't really complain!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Catphil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We must of searched the internet for weeks before finding this little gem! The hotel is a great mix of traditional Catalan architecture and modern design. Perfectly located just a 20 minute walk from La Ramblas. We stayed for 5 nights and were lucky enough to get a high room facing the front with a superb balcony for that late afternoon sun bathing. We ate in the restaurant on the last of the 5 nights and it finished off the holiday in perfect style! The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. We have a rule never to stay at the same hotel twice but with another trip to Barcelona coming up soon its going to be hard to find somewhere better than The Market!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TomTomNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Large room and bathroom. Very clean, pretty.
Location was not near sites, shopping, or restaurants. Also not very close to public transportation.
Loud area at night but not really sure why since no visible nightlife in area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great stylish hotel! Very good location: 15 minutes walk to La Rambla, Pl. Espanya, Pl. Catalunia or Magic Fountains (we really liked to end our day by watching the show and walking home by foot). Neighbourhood is full of cosy coffees favourite of locals, fruit & food shops, even ecological ones. You can find everything in this district - it is very convenient. Hotel is near Sant Antonio Market, so you can buy fresh food, fruits, juice or even have a cheap breakfast here (try "Casa Blanca", you'll get croissant, coffee, sandwich for only 3,5 EUR). And don't forget to visit the book market on Sunday morning! There are three metro stations located near, so you can reach any city district you wish. WIFI is really good in the rooms of the first floor.

We had room in the first floor with small lodge. We had no window which can be opened, so there was really a lot of city noise at night through the opened doors of lodge. And the walls is really really thin between rooms. We could even understand what are talking our neighbors. And it is very hard to sleep, while others coming late and slaming their doors (doors are rough & heavy, so you must slam them to close).

However, this hotel is really good value for money. Book it early, to get the good price!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the higher floors, to avoid street noise. Book it early, to get the good price!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MindaugasLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews