We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for what it is!”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #278 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for what it is!”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The hotel is worth it's price which was (75-80 euros/ night)...but keep in mind, it is a solid 15 minutes walk away from the center of town (La Rambla). It's fine during the day, but once it gets late (around 9pm), the neighborhood gets very quiet and feels a bit unsafe.

The rooms are modern and clean, but definitely could use more lighting. It was very very dark with just two ceiling lights (almost impossible to write the postcards i had bought). The TV barely functioned...kept getting a message about the satellite being out of service.

The highlight of the stay was the restaurant, which I believe was called the Market Restaurant. Extensive menu (there is something for everyone) and the price was just unbeatable. If there is one thing i would go back for, it would be the food. Although, dont expect too much out of the service...as there are about 4 waitresses serving a full restaurant of people.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank causeway00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    376
    134
    47
    21
See reviews for
79
430
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

A nice and hip place to stay, but don't expect the frills. The staff are nice, but aren't about to break their backs to help. The restaurant downstairs is really beautiful and the food is great. The rooms are a bit small, but nicely designed. Ideal if you're young and want to stay somewhere hip but don't want to break the bank.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jliiplam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR, USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Be realistic - this is a modest, 3-star European hotel in a converted building. It has resuling limitations. But if you're realistic in your expecations, it's a fine place. Courteous and helpful staff, well-maintained rooms, conveneint nearby subway stop (Urgell, not Sant Antoni, is much more convenient for most purposes), good individual air conditioning, The neighboord is kind of working class, but not scary as some have reported. The hotel restaurant offers great food at excellent prices - full of locals who obviously think the same thing. Limitations: It faces more an alley than a street, so no view at all and the alley can be an echo chamber for noise. Because it takes a change of elevators to get to most rooms, you will usually end up using lots of stairs, and you will probably get lost the first time. Biggest "problem" is that the hotel oversells itself on it web site. It is smaller, older, and more basic than it wants you to think. (Our room was very clean, but it had not seen basic maintenance for some time.) Still a good solid *** hotel, but false expectations are not good

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early June and loved it. The staff were friendly, rooms comfortable, great shower and it did not feel boxy. Had a fabulous lunch in the restuarant for a very reasonable 9 euros. Location was not too touristy which we liked and an easy walk to public transport. Nice touch with free water and apples. Overall very good vaue for money but not the place for someone after high end luxury.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anitadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed here from March 25th till 28th.The hotel is located in the centre and the Ramblas is on walking distance. Hotel is nicely furnished and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel seems a bit amateuristic quite a few times. Breakfast is ok but not steady. They forgot to clean our room and we never received a proper apology or compensation. The rooms are extremely noisy and the airconditioning does not work properly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I loved everything about this hotel until I was checking out. A couple came running into the lobby out of breath and visibly upset as they had just been robbed and held at knife point.

I read other reviews about this hotel being in an unsafe and sketchy area but decided to stay here regardless because of the look of the hotel and the price. I didn't feel that the area was sketchy during the day, however, my girlfriend and I didn't stay out late so we didn't really notice the area at night.

Everything about the room was amazing. I loved my large and spa like bathroom and the actual room was quite large. The design of the hotel is really nice, beautiful restaurant and I love the wooden floors....gorgeous! BUT, it is quite noisy and you do feel like you are staying in a bedroom of a large house. You can easily hear others coming to and from their rooms.

The price was right though!

My friend and I had a great weekend at the Market Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I really wanted to like this hotel...I really, really, did. It has so many things going for it; it's small enough to feel like you've stumbled upon a gem, a Vicki-Christina-Barcelona kind of gem. The rooms are hip yet warm, with exposed wooden beams, fantastic geyser-like shower stalls, and cute little details everywhere. Service is spotty, but the staff is so friendly that you can't help but forgive any missteps on their part. The bar on the first floor is something out of Amelie. Add to that complimentary bottled water, a few requisite boutique-hotel-bowls-of-green-apples, and rates around $80, and how can you go wrong?

And then you try to sleep.

I'm not a particularly heavy sleeper, but if after a bottle and a half of cava I'm still woken up by something as small as a passing motorbike, then there are problems. All night I was constantly rustled awake by trucks, cars, bikes...you name it, and it woke me up. I had a room overlooking the alley on the side of the building with the entrance; my friend was on the opposite side of the hotel (not sure what her view was), but we both would emerge each morning bleary eyed and in dire need of a cup of coffee.

The bottom line: the noise is the only reason I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. If you do decide to try it (and I hope some people do!), then bring some earplugs. Alternately, I hope the hotel decides to install some soundproofing!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#133 of 512 in Barcelona
1,825 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#166 of 512 in Barcelona
1,265 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#102 of 512 in Barcelona
748 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#68 of 512 in Barcelona
2,004 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#184 of 512 in Barcelona
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing