We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it seems”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #287 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as bad as it seems”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I booked this hotel about 5 months prior to staying there and got a fantastic deal on the room for 5 nights. then the bad reviews started coming in and i lost count of the numerous times i went to cancel here and book somewhere else, but with the rates i received and the proximity to public transport the hotel kept winning out (that and i found that all hotels in this area seem to have the same complaints).
When we arrived we were greeted by staff who spoke fantastic English. She ended up going above and beyond her job in helping me find a restaurant that served a particular dish. Fantastic service!!!
It is right near the San antoni markets which is a great place to grab breakfast if you dont wish to get it in the hotel. We actually never got around to eating at the hotel and i see it gets great reviews on here. (We thought it would be super expensive but its actually really well priced!!) I can understand that the rooms with a balcony may get a little noisy since they face the street so ask for a quiet room out the back and you will sleep pretty well. Though you do hear people closing the doors of neighboring rooms or if someone walks in high heels across the wooden floor it is quite loud but we managed to sleep through most of it. And never found it too difficult to fall back asleep.
We felt the bed was very comfortable the air con was great and shower was massive and piping hot! Free wifi was GREAT too!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    367
    129
    46
    21
See reviews for
76
417
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The hotel is worth it's price which was (75-80 euros/ night)...but keep in mind, it is a solid 15 minutes walk away from the center of town (La Rambla). It's fine during the day, but once it gets late (around 9pm), the neighborhood gets very quiet and feels a bit unsafe.

The rooms are modern and clean, but definitely could use more lighting. It was very very dark with just two ceiling lights (almost impossible to write the postcards i had bought). The TV barely functioned...kept getting a message about the satellite being out of service.

The highlight of the stay was the restaurant, which I believe was called the Market Restaurant. Extensive menu (there is something for everyone) and the price was just unbeatable. If there is one thing i would go back for, it would be the food. Although, dont expect too much out of the service...as there are about 4 waitresses serving a full restaurant of people.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank causeway00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

A nice and hip place to stay, but don't expect the frills. The staff are nice, but aren't about to break their backs to help. The restaurant downstairs is really beautiful and the food is great. The rooms are a bit small, but nicely designed. Ideal if you're young and want to stay somewhere hip but don't want to break the bank.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jliiplam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Be realistic - this is a modest, 3-star European hotel in a converted building. It has resuling limitations. But if you're realistic in your expecations, it's a fine place. Courteous and helpful staff, well-maintained rooms, conveneint nearby subway stop (Urgell, not Sant Antoni, is much more convenient for most purposes), good individual air conditioning, The neighboord is kind of working class, but not scary as some have reported. The hotel restaurant offers great food at excellent prices - full of locals who obviously think the same thing. Limitations: It faces more an alley than a street, so no view at all and the alley can be an echo chamber for noise. Because it takes a change of elevators to get to most rooms, you will usually end up using lots of stairs, and you will probably get lost the first time. Biggest "problem" is that the hotel oversells itself on it web site. It is smaller, older, and more basic than it wants you to think. (Our room was very clean, but it had not seen basic maintenance for some time.) Still a good solid *** hotel, but false expectations are not good

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early June and loved it. The staff were friendly, rooms comfortable, great shower and it did not feel boxy. Had a fabulous lunch in the restuarant for a very reasonable 9 euros. Location was not too touristy which we liked and an easy walk to public transport. Nice touch with free water and apples. Overall very good vaue for money but not the place for someone after high end luxury.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anitadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed here from March 25th till 28th.The hotel is located in the centre and the Ramblas is on walking distance. Hotel is nicely furnished and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel seems a bit amateuristic quite a few times. Breakfast is ok but not steady. They forgot to clean our room and we never received a proper apology or compensation. The rooms are extremely noisy and the airconditioning does not work properly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I loved everything about this hotel until I was checking out. A couple came running into the lobby out of breath and visibly upset as they had just been robbed and held at knife point.

I read other reviews about this hotel being in an unsafe and sketchy area but decided to stay here regardless because of the look of the hotel and the price. I didn't feel that the area was sketchy during the day, however, my girlfriend and I didn't stay out late so we didn't really notice the area at night.

Everything about the room was amazing. I loved my large and spa like bathroom and the actual room was quite large. The design of the hotel is really nice, beautiful restaurant and I love the wooden floors....gorgeous! BUT, it is quite noisy and you do feel like you are staying in a bedroom of a large house. You can easily hear others coming to and from their rooms.

The price was right though!

My friend and I had a great weekend at the Market Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#61 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#132 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#74 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#71 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#208 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing