We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel In a Quiet Part of Town”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #289 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed here for three days and I was very happy with the hotel. A modern, stylish hotel (with a great shower) and the service was good. Our room had a balcony on the main road, but it wasn't too loud. We did have to get to our room from the street, or else switch elevators, which wasn't too bad once we figured it out. The only noise thing that we couldn't figure out what a clock chime that seemed to go off on the hour and ever 15-30 minutes after. Once we found our way to the Ramblas from the hotel it wasn't far, maybe a 15-20 minute walk, and it was close to the Mount Juic area. Overall, nice value, although a bit out of the way from the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runnergirl209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed here with my spouse for a week before traveling to France for business. We initially read about it in NYT and it lived up to the review. Market Hotel is an excellent example of a moderately priced, yet fashionable, hotel in Barcelona (a RARITY). The rooms were stylishly furnished and clean, the marble bathroom was truly wonderful. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but we did eat/drink at the bar several times late-night and it was affordable and good-quality food. The only problems we had were that international calls could not be made on hotel phones and this was a problem as our credit card got locked due to our purchases overseas (we didn't call beforehand).

The hotel is near bus routes and subway routes but you should be prepared to walk or pay for a taxi to get to the touristy parts of Barcelona. We felt very safe at night and had no trouble with pickpockets or sex workers. We specifically requested a "quiet room" on our reservation form and we slept wonderfully. It is worth noting that the early AM market that usually sets up nearby was closed for renovation, so this may have contributed to the quietness. There are some restaurants/bars within a 10 minute walk, including a fantastic tapas place called Inopia--get there early.

We'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great mid-priced option in Barca, slightly off the main drag.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00_ArtySmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We came here for our honeymoon, and it exceeded our expectations. It was quiet, modern and chic. Our room was spacious with a private terrace. The design and decor of the hotel, restaurant and bar were magazine-worthy. The people were very friendly, and it was just a quick ride into the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. The restaurant was a great mix of tourists and locals and the dinner was superb. The location was equidistant from the gay bars and the beach and right by the Metro.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I booked this hotel about 5 months prior to staying there and got a fantastic deal on the room for 5 nights. then the bad reviews started coming in and i lost count of the numerous times i went to cancel here and book somewhere else, but with the rates i received and the proximity to public transport the hotel kept winning out (that and i found that all hotels in this area seem to have the same complaints).
When we arrived we were greeted by staff who spoke fantastic English. She ended up going above and beyond her job in helping me find a restaurant that served a particular dish. Fantastic service!!!
It is right near the San antoni markets which is a great place to grab breakfast if you dont wish to get it in the hotel. We actually never got around to eating at the hotel and i see it gets great reviews on here. (We thought it would be super expensive but its actually really well priced!!) I can understand that the rooms with a balcony may get a little noisy since they face the street so ask for a quiet room out the back and you will sleep pretty well. Though you do hear people closing the doors of neighboring rooms or if someone walks in high heels across the wooden floor it is quite loud but we managed to sleep through most of it. And never found it too difficult to fall back asleep.
We felt the bed was very comfortable the air con was great and shower was massive and piping hot! Free wifi was GREAT too!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The hotel is worth it's price which was (75-80 euros/ night)...but keep in mind, it is a solid 15 minutes walk away from the center of town (La Rambla). It's fine during the day, but once it gets late (around 9pm), the neighborhood gets very quiet and feels a bit unsafe.

The rooms are modern and clean, but definitely could use more lighting. It was very very dark with just two ceiling lights (almost impossible to write the postcards i had bought). The TV barely functioned...kept getting a message about the satellite being out of service.

The highlight of the stay was the restaurant, which I believe was called the Market Restaurant. Extensive menu (there is something for everyone) and the price was just unbeatable. If there is one thing i would go back for, it would be the food. Although, dont expect too much out of the service...as there are about 4 waitresses serving a full restaurant of people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank causeway00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

A nice and hip place to stay, but don't expect the frills. The staff are nice, but aren't about to break their backs to help. The restaurant downstairs is really beautiful and the food is great. The rooms are a bit small, but nicely designed. Ideal if you're young and want to stay somewhere hip but don't want to break the bank.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jliiplam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
3,183 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#133 of 515 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#182 of 515 in Barcelona
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#174 of 515 in Barcelona
1,282 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#170 of 515 in Barcelona
486 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £57 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing