We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location,location,location”
Review of Hotel Condal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Condal
Ranked #258 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location,location,location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nghts on our first visit to Barcelona.
A wonderful city and this hotel provided the ideal location from which to explore it; being just a stone's throw from "La Rambla". Very convenient for the Metro too.
Room was spacious, clean and comfortable; but very hot. Breakfast was not included in the rate ( although was available for some). This meant that the accommodation was a little on the expensive side; especially as there was no fridge or kettle. Also, no plug available for the bath!
Reception staff were friendly and helpful; and all told this was a most enjoyable holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Condal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor.
All feedback is important as it is the key for us to keep improving our property and services.

We are pleased that you chose the Hotel Condal for your stay in Barcelona; and happy to read that our staff could take such good care of you, and that you were able to make good use of the great location of the hotel

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Best Regards

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    258
    122
    28
    14
See reviews for
65
222
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a great hotel for a traveler who spends a lot of time sightseeing. The room is basic, yet clean. The staff was helpful, friendly and considerate. I really liked being able to walk to many places easily such as Plaza Cataluna, the Port, La Rambla, the Gothic Quarter, Boqueria, etc. I had a courtyard room and it was quiet. All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyVanderlaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Condal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. It is a pleasure to know how much you enjoy your stay with us, including the service from the staff, the room and the great location of the hotel Condal

Thank you very much once again, and we look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
293 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is vary basic. Located off La Rambla near the Liceu (theater) train station. The is room basic and clean, suits the purpose for a visitor who is looking to spend most of their time outside of the hotel. However, I found it a bit inconvenient that there was no fridge in the room as we did want to buy water and alcohol to keep cool (but I guess it depends on your preferences). The location is good, although next time I would prefer to stay in the Gothic quarter which is a bit more local and authentic, as opposed to La Rambla which is overly touristy and there are not many descent places to dine. One thing to consider is the noise level of the partiers in the streets late at night.
We stayed at hotel Condal at the end of March and it was quite hot, however their "AC" was in winter mode, which means that at this time of year it blows only hot air...ugh!
Finally, the night prices really vary, out of four days there we paid a range from 100 to 44 euro per day, which is a bit annoying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Condal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion about your stay at Hotel Condal.
We hope we can welcome you in the not too distant future

Sincerely Yours,
Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A small hotel with average standard. It is located next to La Rambla and you have walking distance to allot of restaurants and easy to get a cab at La Ramlas.
The room was included breakfast, but next time if I will stay here I go out for breakfast in on of the small breakfast places around the hotel.
The hotel was clean, not so quite, thin wall and allot ot noise from the streets, not so much car traffic, more people coming home late on the nearby streets. The rooms are small, but it worked out well for the three nights I stayed.

Room Tip: Ask about room from the the street, and a little bit higher up to get a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Condal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding about your stay at Hotel Condal

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as well as the excellent location.

We hope we can welcome you back

Best Regards,

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here in November 2013. It is located right off Las Ramblas - in a great location for shops, restaurants, drinking, markets, sights, etc. Price was fine for a bed and place to clean up.
If you're looking for a great location for a reasonable price, it's a fine place. If you're looking for a great room with great amenities - stay else where. We spent little time in our room and it was fine for a stopping point.
Our room was 2 twin beds, a desk, a 12" TV (didn't matter, we weren't there to watch TV),closet, and bathroom. Small balcony overlooked a side street near Las Ramblas - lots of excitement at night, so if you are a light sleeper or bothered by noise this may be an issue.
You have to hand your key to the desk attendant before you go and retrieve it when you return - a bit annoying, but I didn't want to carry that big key with me anyways. Staff was helpful and nice.
No frills hotel, but all in all, room was fine for it's purpose of keeping our bags and letting us sleep/clean up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coreye30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Condal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion about your stay at Hotel Condal.
We hope we can welcome you in the future

Sincerely Yours,

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Very central with a couple of minutes from the metro, La Boqueria (the market) and next to La Rambla.
Cafeteria in the hotel and a number of breakfast places within 5min walk.
Beds are in the doubleroom 2x 90cm that can be pushed together. Pillows a bit big and hard for my likning, but good. Bathtub and a bide in the bathroom and complimentary soap, schampoo, showercap and toothbruch with toothpaste.
Walls are a bit thin, so I could hear the guy next door snoring.
A few english speaking channels on the TV, all news channels.
But in Barcelona, why stay at the hotel?

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 57hedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Condal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvaisor. It is a pleasure to know you enjoy your stay with us, including the service from the staff, the room and the location of the hotel.

Thank you very much once again, and we look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lydia ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#141 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#334 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#242 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#376 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#315 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condal

Property: Hotel Condal
Address: Boqueria, 23, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condal 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel in Barcelona Ramblas is one of the oldest hotels in Barcelona city serving its customers since 1850. The Hotel Barcelona has a privileged location since it is just a few meters from the Ramblas the most famous Paseo de Barcelona, ​​from this point you can easily access different places of interest such as the Port of Barcelona, ​​elsewhere impossible to visit and close to the Hotel Barcelona is the Market Boqueria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Condal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Condal Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing