We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffin like rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Constanza
Ranked #74 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coffin like rooms”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The rooms look nothing like the pictures on the website. My room was dark with a tiny window and felt more like a prison cell than a four star hotel. My concerns were met with a very unhelpful 'pay an extra £25 ' and we will move you. The advertised features of tea/coffee maker, pens, daily cleaning and replenishing of the rooms toiletries were absent and the unadvertised feature of a five piece band that underneath my window that played in to the early hours of the morning was unwelcome and rather irritating. My advice don't stay at the constanza.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    822
    144
    38
    23
See reviews for
261
623
66
752
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We used this hotel on a short break to the city, it's slightly out of town and more designed for business guests than tourists , but its only a short walk to the metro and then a 5 minute journey to the centre plus there is a big shopping centre opposite. We didn't have breakfast as it seemed expensive and there was a great cafe next door that did coffee,toast and yoghurt for about £3. The rooms are large and well appointed and prices at the bar very reasonable. The pool is tiny but as the weather was cool we didn't use it. We got a very good price on the Internet and if you can too I would highly recommend this hotel unless you really want to be in walking distance of the centre

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kholidays1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one week in early September 12. Overall we were very happy with it. It was good value for money and we would definitely return.

Rooms:
A good size, if a little on the dark side. Bathroom was a spacious and nicely designed. Good power in the shower. Toiletries replaced daily and they left a toothbrush kit, razor, sponge also, which was a nice touch. Mini bar was available. We bought large bottles of water in the nearby supermarket, filled smaller bottles and left them in our fridge, as at €3.60 for a small bottle of water in the mini bar, it worked out much cheaper! There is a safe available for use in the room.

Facilities:
We only ate once in the hotel bar and the food was fine. A little on the expensive side for both food and drink, compared to what you can get locally. We didn't use the spa area so can't comment on that. There is a rooftop pool which is very small and there is only 6 sunbeds available for use, along with a table and four chairs. So sometimes it can be hard to get a bed to lie out. Beware, the water in the pool is freezing!!

Location:
Away from the typical touristy area of Las Ramblas but that's what we were looking for. When you go out the back entrance of the hotel, there are several restaurants/cafes to your right, which range from coffee and cakes, sushi, hotdogs and tapas. Lovely area to sit out for a long lunch with a glass of wine! Again out the back entrance and straight ahead is a large shopping centre. Downstairs has many different restaurants and a large supermarket. We did not have the B&B package in the hotel, so did use the supermarket a few times to get fresh fruit etc for breakfast. When you go out onto the main road from there, if you turn to your left and walk for approx 5 minutes, there is a lovely tapas restaurant (on the left, just after the Hilton Hotel) which I'd really recommend.
The hop on/hop off red bus tour has a stop on this main road (only 2 minutes from back entrance of hotel). We bought the two day pass, which at €31pp, was expensive but was great to do on the first day to get your bearings etc. We used this for travel to Las Ramblas etc for the two days.
Taxis to Las Ramblas are approximately €9 per trip, so we felt that for the money we saved staying in this hotel was more than worth a few extra taxi trips.

General:
We were really happy with this hotel. We found the staff helpful and were pleased with the general location. They provided us with daily wifi codes, which did work in the room for us (despite me seeing other reviews saying it was only available in the lobby). I'm not sure if this was due to our room location on the 2nd floor or whether they now offer it as standard - we didn't question it.
One thing I'd recommend doing is the cable car from near the World Trade Centre building. It was a great experience and was very reasonable at €10 one way / €15 return per person.
The other thing I'd recommend is visiting a restaurant called PLA. It's in the Gothic quarter and is in the Top Ten restaurants in Barcelona on Trip Advisor. We went on our last night and while it's a bit more expensive, it was well worth it - the food was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XshellyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Well first of all its location is just AWESOME because the camp nou(fc barcelona stadium)
Is nearby and there are pretty nice restaurants, pizzerias etc. The rooms are really clean, the food there is allright and it near a shopping center so you will be able to buy some stuff around there i havent been to the pool so i dont think ill be able to mention it. I recommend the telepizza(like the spanish pizza hut) place nearby to eat pizza. But if you dont like those kinda places there are millions(ok i might be overreacting a bit there) of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgehead4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel is known to be located in the business district but that should not put you off, 1 mins walk away is the shopping mall L'illa where you can shop and eat for every budget type.

The hotel seems to be tailored for the business type, with it's sleek designed bed and bath room also with the visible conference room at the back of the hotel; but that doesn't matter if you are going to be exploring the city.

The hotel is only 25 mins taxi ride away from the airport, there is a tram (20 mins from Camp Nou) which stop's at L'illa and you catch the tram to Maria Christina metro station which will take you directly to La Boqueria, La Rambla and Catalunya Square.

The only 2 negatives I have about the hotel is (A) the lack of in-room tea facility i.e. a kettle, if you like/love a cup of tea you definitely need a kettle as Barcelona doesn't do tea. (B) My (standard) room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor so street noise can be easily heard; my room was also literally opposite to the lifts and conference room so a lot of noise can be heard especially in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and on the east side of the hotel should be quieter, the rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REUS
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is well designed and it is located in a non tourist area, but it has good connections with downtown, and its area is very nice.

The rooms are very nice, with a good size, but they do not offer enough amenities.

The personnel at the hotel is not enough, and you have to waste time for check in and check out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEKEROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

nice hotel in a quite area of the city but within easy reach of the centre, rooms nice and clean and lovely big beds!

room top one lane pool was fresh to say the least, did not try out restaurant, as just outside there is a row of small bars

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmiddle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,516 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,783 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,924 reviews
Hotel Upper Diagonal
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Constanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Constanza

Property: NH Collection Constanza
Address: C/ Deu i Mata, 69-99 | Les Corts, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Constanza 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona's business district, Les Corts, and next to the lovely shopping mall L'Illa Diagonal, NH Collection Constanza features a lean, brightly-lit atmosphere with an outstanding commitment to customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Constanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Constanza Barcelona
Nh Constanza Hotel Barcelona
NH Collection Constanza Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing