We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BCN Hostal Central
Nearby Hotels
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$579
US$537
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$549
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Constanza Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$153
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Musik Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$280
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$414
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
9
46
13
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
46
13
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I liked the location but I had a drunk/drugged crazy person one night that made lots of noise outside my room and when I went out to investigate he tried to push himself into my room. I had to pull the door closed on his fingers but he wouldnt let go and kept shouting at me in Spanish! I was so scared I couldnt leave my room untill the morning (ie I couldn't even go to the toilet)- the staff did not eject him as they should have and offered no solution the next day except to give me free water! Also the rooms stink of cigarette smoke from the courtyard so you have to keep your window closed most of the time. The wifi in the rooms was intermitant- it often stopped and you have to ask at reception to reset the router. Basically it's a hostel, nothing more or less but I thought it would be safe at least- it's not.

Room Tip: Dont get one facing internally as you will get alot of noise and smoke.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orphan_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hostal Central's location is just great, just some minutes by feet from Plaza Catalunya and metro stations. It gives you a good opportunity to reach any place you plan to visit in Barcelona. It's easy to get from there to Casa Batlló, Las Ramblas, and by the way to/from airport too, because aerobus's stop is right on plaza Catalunya.
There is an elevator there, so you don't have to climb stairs with luggage. Reception works 24 hours. All people who work there, speak English very well. They are very nice, helpful and friendly. They can answer any your question about Barcelona, also there is a maps and info about city and about interesting places to visit.
From 8am to 10pm you can have a tea and coffee for free. There is a special place for this near the reception.
Internet is available and it's for free. WiFi is good, in rooms as well. Also there is a computer near the reception.
It's clean there.
I had a single room for two nights. it was nothing special, a basic one, but still good. There were: table, chair, bed, sink and mirror, some place to put clothes. It was small but enough space for one person. Bathroom was shared, clean.
Price is good. Because really it's hard to find a budget hostal of such kind, with such great location and with all what it has.
I liked Central.
Well, the only thing that can disturb, is a noise. It's really noisy there. I'm ok about noise, but some travellers would prefer more calm place. So pay attention.
And when you come to check-in, they ask you about a credit card, the one you used when you made a reservation. Be ready to show it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicki_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Central to all attractions- La Rambla&Plaza Catalunya. 5 mins and your at the hub off all activity and to buses & metro. The hostel itself is basic and worth the $60 euros a night but it's no luxury. We had the basic double room with shared bathroom and it was ok. If you come in summer there is no air con so it can get a little uncomfortable especially if it's humid. The toilets are clean but smell bad as well as the bathroom but we found that alot of the toilets in Barcelona had the same odour- maybe they have issues with sewerage in summer? Not sure. I would recommend this place if you are only using this as a place to sleep. The other annoying thing is that the rooms are close to the main areas eg reception, Internet point, tea room and can get a bit noisy. The door bell buzzes and can b heard from the room as well as the subway which vibrates the building as it passes. All in all an ok place!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

If you plan to spend your trip to Barcelona on all day walks and experiencing the city, Hostal Central in Ronda Universitat is definitely a great choice. Located in the very heart of Barcelona, few minutes from the main city square Plaça Catalunya and main metro, bus and train stations.

Rooms are clean and comfortable and hostel staff is friendly and helpful. Light sleepers could have problem with a fact that hostel is located in noisy city centre and you can hear (and feel) metro passing somewhere below the building.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sljaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

If you want a cheap double room in a great location for airport transfers (EUR 5 from Barcelona Airport) and the city (5 mins walk to Placa Catalyuna and Las Ramblas) then I'd highly recommend this place - however, my girlfiend struggled to sleep the first night as the room faced onto a very busy road with constant traffic all night. Solution was many cervezas the next night! Take a towel too as the one provided is not the largest. Nice little balcony and friendly staff, 24 hr reception very handy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigjohnwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews