We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel; unhelpful staff”
Review of Hotel Everest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Everest
Ranked #414 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The whole hotel was very noisy and it was very difficult to sleep. We stayed there twice during the holiday (unfortunately we had already paid for both times we were staying there.) The first time, we coudn't sleep because the room was next to an air conditioning generator. We complained about this and they said that they would be sure to put us in a different room for the next time we were staying there. When we arrrived the second time, they directed us to the same room. When we said we had been assured that we would be in another room, they said this was the only one available. Then eventually they said there were two other rooms on a different floor but both of them also were close to air conditioning generators. We chose one of them as it seemed to be a bit quieter than the previous one... Only to find out that night that it was next to the machinary that operates the lift - which was louder than the generators and stopped us from sleeping... In addition to all of this, the new room was cheaper than the one that we had booked but they would not refund us the difference in price. One night, after midnight there was also even more noise - we phoned the reception to be told that it was the consierge that was doing something and he would be finished soon. In all, not a hotel to go to if you actually want to sleep while you are there. Also, the staff on reception only speak Spanish. My partner and I speak 7 different languages between us (Spanish not being one of them) and we found that it was very difficult to communicate with the receptionist. All in all unless you speak Spanish and don't intend to sleep at all while you are staying there, I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We never found a good room while we were staying there. Maybe tell them that you don't want a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great and affordable place to stay in Barcelona. Nice neighborhood, Av de Gaudi nearby with many restaurants, Sagrada Familia just a few blocks away. Friendly personnel. Rooms are very clean, simple, and contain everything you need. Ask for a room away from the reception, as this gets a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel has a good quality price ratio. Hotel is clean, beds are good. There is a large bathroom. People are friendly, but there English is very poor. The hotel is on walking distance from the Sagrada Familia. My tip is to go very early around eight oclock, to experience the church in all its beauty.
Nearest metro station at the hotel is St. Pau Dos de Maig.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We booked this at the last minute and was not disappointed, have no idea what the other reviewers were saying about this hotel as we had a wonderful time, clean, light airy, ok our room was smallish, but we wanted to see Barcelona not a hotel room, and we could have booked a bigger room if we had wished. and all airconned, TV, phone

Hotel just round corner from Sant Pau – Dos de Maig metro station (line 5) so great links to public transport, quiet, comfortable beds, 2 lifts (both worked).

Ok no breakfast, but cafes and bars litter the place no that was no problem and a great price. I would have no reluctance in staying there again and probably will.

Ok they didn’t speak English, but goodness sake we were in Barcelona not Manchester what do you expect

Room Tip: Probably ask for ask for room on floor above reception, and get to hotel by way of Sant Pau – Dos de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2108garybrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After reading mixed reviews about this hotel I was a bit weary to stay here, but the price persuaded us to go ahead and book anyway. The hotel was so easy to find and within walking distance to La Sagrada Familia (and also close to Sant Pau - Dos de Maig metro station).

When we arrived, the receptionist and I communicated in Spanish. I personally don't think the 'non English speaking' staff should put you off this hotel (like I have read in previous reviews). After all, you are in Spain so make a little effort to learn a few phrases beforehand.

The rooms were clean, spacious, modern and ours even had a balcony. We were really impressed and pleasantly surprised (as we thought the pictures online weren't that great!).

Bearing this in mind, the walls are thin and you can hear everything that your neighbours are getting up to.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Emjchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here a weekend with my breadrin for the Barca vs Seville game
Good location - 5 mins walk to nearest Metro and then just one line to the Camp Nou, taking no longer than 15-20 mins. Will definitely be back when I return to see Messi + co in action

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel sucks! When you arrive you have to carry your luggage upstairs. After that, you have to go to the 6th floor to the reception. This hotel doesn't have breakfast and the room stinks (I believe it's because of humidity). The clerk was not friendly at all and the price is too high considering the cost-benefit.

DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Climent
Hotel Climent
#477 of 519 in Barcelona
165 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#398 of 519 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
Hotel Medicis
Hotel Medicis
#296 of 519 in Barcelona
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#482 of 519 in Barcelona
576 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
H.TOP BCN City
H.TOP BCN City
#479 of 519 in Barcelona
258 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#389 of 519 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Everest

Address: Trav. de Gracia 441, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Horta - Guinardó
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £32 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Everest 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Everest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everest Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Everest Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing